The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


bypmcnamara, April 17, 2012
There is so much potential available to this extension, but it just doesn't get it done and when you combine that with the outrageously high price they charge, it is just highway robbery.

As others have stated, the template designs are really poor. That being said, they are better then most - because the others are horrendous. That is probably why the RSJoomla team hasn't improved them, which is sad.

No ability to create tags to sort events, they allow multiple categories, but won't let you sort of them once you do. They calendar won't display the color codes correctly if you use multiple categories.

No ability to use smarty code to fix the horrible php coding they use.

No integration with sh404SEF or any other SEF. End up with terrible URL's

The potential here is tantalizing, but at the end of the day, I wouldn't recommend it.
Owner's reply

The review talks about RSEvents!, not about RSEvents!Pro, but unfortunately we cannot remove it due to JED regulations.

bypmcnamara, May 24, 2011
If it used the jos_content tables, instead of separate table.

I liked the easyblog component, it works very well, but it doesn't use the standard Joomla Section/Category jos_content tables, which makes it very clunky.

You can't easily link between articles and blog posts, the image manager function doesn't work the same way..

Its almost like a completely separate website.. if you do everything through easyblog, you'll be find, but if you are trying to mix the two, its a nightmare.
Owner's reply


Thank you for your feedbacks and I greatly appreciate your concerns. I have to agree that we don't actually use Joomla tables for storage but it could eventually pose a larger problem having it stored in Joomla's article / category or section tables since there is really no way of manipulating the links in Joomla.

We do actually have a built in article linking between EasyBlog blogs and also Joomla articles. It allows you to search and link articles in EasyBlog easily.

Again, I really appreciate your feedbacks and we will definitely look into a separate storage option.

bypmcnamara, February 7, 2011
This has all the power of Virtuemart, the ease of RokCart.

Installs easy, documentation is good, we had the shop up and running in under 15 minutes...

Loaded and configuring with 100 items in under a day.
bypmcnamara, February 4, 2011
June Scratch Card
This is a very cool little module that offers up a ton of potential to the store looking to that little bit extra to create impulse buys.

This module worked right out of the box, everything installed like it should, all the documentation on the developers website was spot on.

We did run into a problem with a conflict between our template and the jquery this module uses which resulted in the scratch off square off square not being placed directly over the image. It was off by about 10 to 15 pixels.. Haven't been able to fix it, so we just positioned the coupon code so that it is still hidden and rolled with it.

Might work fine in your template.
bypmcnamara, January 13, 2011
Highlighter GK4
I rated this extension as just average because it doesn't support K2. Now, that wouldn't be an issue, except that they include it in their K2 native templates. Why would you include a news display module in a template designed for K2 that didn't work with K2 ? If you have a non-K2 template, I think you'll like this extension.
bypmcnamara, January 9, 2011
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
This is a horrible product, completely un-intuitive, I can't even figure out how to make it show a product or a category of products. I am successfully using JomSocial, Mighty Extensions, PhocaGallery and Chronoforms. I manage Joomla websites for 50 URL's, I'm pretty good at Joomla and I have no idea how to make this extension work. I've read and re-read the documentation, searched the forum to no avail. I can't recommend this extension.
Owner's reply


Displaying a product on the front end is as easy as publishing a joomla menu:
It's too bad you didn't ask us on our forum, we would have answered your questions.

bypmcnamara, December 23, 2010
Store for K2
How does a person/company release an "non-commercial" extension, which you can't actually use unless you purchase something ?

If you are thinking about downloading this extension, consider this your fair warning. Although they claim that this is an FREE, Non-Commercial e-commerce extension, its actually just a bait-and-switch/trick-a-roo to get you to invest a lot of time into setting it up only to discover that you can't actually use it unless you purchase a payment plug-in. They do not mention this in the script description nor on their website, making it look like it really is GPL open source.

Its really quite sad, because the extension works very well (at least up and until you try and actually purchase something) when you discover you need the playment plug-in.

I don't know if it actually works, hence I can not rate it any higher then a 2.
Owner's reply

Thank you for the review.

1. It is a free extension. We need to have a some form of revenue to keep its development going on. So we have to sell the Payment Plugins.

Besides, many users do not want a payment integration. Plus we are not collecting huge amount. Just USD 10 for the plugin.

2. GPL does not mean that everything is free. Please have a look at the GPL licence at its website.

3. You do not need a lot of time to set up. You can get this add on up and running in just a few minutes.

4. It is clearly mentioned in the website that you can buy a payment plugin. It is not mandatory, however. All Plugins are GPL licenced.

Power Mail
I have written good reviews and I have written bad reviews.. but I was completely torn as to whether or not to write this review, because I'd like to keep this Extension my little secret !!

If you are a content management site and post a lot of news or get news from a lot of sources, this is the best extension I have ever seen.

This has made my life as a publisher so much better, I can't hardly even put in words.

Great Job Stan.. Great Job.
bypmcnamara, November 8, 2007
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
This forum looks like it has some real potential.

A fully integrated forum for Joomla.. no bridges, no wraps, just install and run.

It needs to be dressed up and made pretty.. but it seems to work fantastic.
bypmcnamara, November 13, 2006
1 of 3 people found this review helpful
The set up is easy, the roll out is easy. There is no method to edit the layout, my template needs a way to set the module suffix code and the module doesn't even offer this parameter variable.