The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


bytrogladyte, September 26, 2014
ManyContacts Bar
It's a serious contender for best toolbar for Joomla, but only because there really isn't any competition. The concept is excellent, but the delivery is poor.

Confusing documentation (2 different ways to install - one breaks your template, the other doesn't work as expected)

KISS principle not followed making this confusing for potential visitors to use = no use = waste of time having it there.

It's free to use, yes, but not unlimited tool bars (couldn't find how many is NOT unlimited). $99 a year price tag to, basically, remove their logo and have unlimited toolbars is lala-land stuff.

Uninstalled quickly.
bytrogladyte, June 30, 2014
Previously I had version 2.50 which must have been free at that time. Since then it's been made paid - fair enough, the dev needs to recoup time spent. However, the free version is a waste of download time. It does little useful and the only reason I looked at it was that I needed to use Joomla 2.5 for another component. If I'd been able to use J3 I'd have never looked.
bytrogladyte, December 5, 2013
HS is powerful, with free and paid options. I have used "Essential" twice (probably upgrading one of those to "Business"). I'm a very limited programmer, with a bit of CSS knowledge and next to zero PHP knowledge.

I gave it a good as opposed to excellent as it's so complex that customization for non-programmers is difficult. All files that you need to customize can be accessed via the dashboard where changes are saved elsewhere so retained on updated/upgrades - this is very important! Don't edit via FTP or locally - only through the dashboard. However, any given page is made up of multiple files so figuring out which file holds the code you want to edit isn't always easy and there's no road map to follow.

The interface is sometimes confusing with editing of php files in one place and css elsewhere, for example. Getting my head around variants and options was tough and I'm still not 100% on it.

Support is pretty fast and reasonably good, though I felt, at times, not being a programmer hindered me from understanding what they said.

Bottom line is that this is a powerful shopping system with add ons like Hika Market (for front end access - I also used this), but a caution for non-programmers that this is a big mouthful to bite off if straight out of the box is not what you want.
bytrogladyte, September 2, 2013
JCH Optimize
I have used other "speed-up-your-page" utilities and they've all had some positive impacts. JCH however had a gigantic impact.

Page speed - 80 --> 92
YSlow - 65 --> 86

Results speak for themselves.
bytrogladyte, July 24, 2013
Waste of 10 minutes. No customization possible to style and doesn't work in vertical.

Developer's site is sorely lacking too. Try clicking on Contact us - I find that he/she is the "Owner of the fruit shop" - very helpful, but NO contact info.
bytrogladyte, October 9, 2012
Thank goodness, a login module that's customizable! Want to have registration enabled, but not show "Create an account"? You can with this module.

The service is even better though. I had a problem/request. Within a few hours Bob had added code and sent a revised version. Thanks Bob - someone who understands decent business practices!!
bytrogladyte, August 20, 2012
It took me hours to get this thing working on the development site. It was average at best in its layout, but I'd already invested so much time in making it work...

Uploaded the site to the live server and everything is broken. Wasted 1/2 hour more trying to make it work. I think much of the problem is the author's penchant for absolute paths throughout the component. A recipe for chaos after moving a site.

Would never recommend or try again. Had to delete it off the live site and install an alternative. A time waster.
Owner's reply

I'm sorry you had problems. A lot of effort has gone into ensuring that a new installation of Remository will work immediately - and this seems to have paid off in the opinion of a number of reviewers.

Absolute paths are not used on a whim - they are used because they do not restrict the user to placing the file repository within the document root - it can be placed absolutely anywhere that can be specified by a legal path. Also, if you stick with the default of storing files in the database, migration requires only the transfer of the DB tables.

There is a brief Remository FAQ that describes exactly how to handle site migration, which should only take a few minutes to implement.

bytrogladyte, August 18, 2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
J2XML Importer
I read about jupgrade and sp upgrade and thought, hmmmm, that sounds like a drama. All I really wanted was the articles/categories and the users, so this extension sounded like it would do the trick.

It sure did! What an easy to use extension! Thank you so much for 100's of hours saved! You rock.
bytrogladyte, August 7, 2012
Very Simple Image Rotator
I wanted a no-fuss rotator to do just that - rotate images. This is perfect.

No it's not a super powerful, whizz-bang extension, but it is EXACTLY what the author claims - a very simple image rotator.

A pity that other reviewers didn't read the preamble that said it works only with same sized images and then gave it 1 star because it didn't do resizing or keep ratios the same...

Well done Jesus! Great lightweight entrant!
bytrogladyte, May 2, 2012
Simple MP3 Player
Just perfect for what I needed!

Downloaded, installed and got it going in under 10 minutes. Would have been sooner except for operator error - it helps if you enter the correct info into playlist.txt!

Very configurable and simple to follow.
bytrogladyte, February 21, 2012
RSform Pro
The description sounded great and it was cheaper than the other I was looking at. It would have been useful to know that even basic things requires writing code - though it does make basic forms really well. Pity I wanted more than basic forms.

I'm not sure who everyone else was speaking to, but the "support" I got was very, very sad. I've had support tens times as good on free extensions. Telling a customer, who asks how a picture can be inserted in the background, that "This is rather standard HTML and CSS usage, not something that is specific to RSform!Pro" Thanks......
Owner's reply

RSForm! Pro does far more than basic forms, as proven by the built-in features (multipage forms, conditional fields, dynamic field validations, 3rd party integrations, embedding PHP code etc).

Even though we do not provide HTML, CSS or any kind of code-oriented training (as specified in our Support Policy) we do try to do our best in helping out customers, even going the extra mile. I'm sorry that you felt this way and chose to leave this review without even trying to look at the articles and examples we've provided you with.

bytrogladyte, January 13, 2012
Having just changed blog components, I was faced with over 1000 broken links. The thought of doing this manually was daunting (especially since I don't know enough to fiddle with .htaccess too much). This component did it in one hit - bingo, all links redirect perfectly to the new blog!
bytrogladyte, December 30, 2011
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Jtag Calendar
I initially had some problems with this tool (I was an early user of it). The support was good and changes and fixes were made.

It's a good calendar tool, though it has some display issues where the available room for it is small (it does not display well in a 600px space - there are overlaps). I had a 1000px wide site with 2 200px sidebars and it couldn't handle it. However, I selected not to display the right side bar and it displays well at 800px.

Support is generally good, though I have experienced a few unanswered emails. But a big kudos to them, when I complained about it Jtag really got onto it and made it right.

For it's purpose, this could become #1 with the addition of a couple of items - the most pressing, IMHO, is emailing a user when they register to confirm details and sending a copy to the admin.
bytrogladyte, November 17, 2011
Change Administrator
I have always been worried by the forced use of /administrator for the back end, plus the numerous "J! flags" in a Joomla site which scream "Hack me, I'm Joomla!". Yes I understand that it's not quite that easy, but a little more cloak and dagger in the core product would go a long way to helping make J! even more secure.

This was an easy install, worked perfectly first time, and I had no issues.

Would love to have seen more of this is J! 1.7, but this little mod helps a lot!
bytrogladyte, September 9, 2011
Ignite Gallery
Having tried many others that have front end edit-ability (Phoca was, despite the massive amount of reviews, hard and cumbersome to deal with and I never managed to upload from the front end), I bit the bullet and paid for Ignite. Why hadn't I done so sooner???? A breeze to install, learn and use.

It's a powerful extension, but easy to learn and understand. Phoca was a nightmare trying to get into the dev's head and figure out what he was thinking. Ignite was logical and well thought out. The online dox were a little thin given the amount of options, but they were all pretty self-explanatory. If anything, for me, tool tips in the back end would be all I would change.

First gallery took longer to upload than Ignite did to set up. Brilliant!
bytrogladyte, July 16, 2011
Easy out-of-the-box installation and use. Total no-brainer! Loved having the links at the top and bottom.

Would just like to know how to get the 2 lines above and below the links as shown in the demo. Other than that it's still a 5*!
Owner's reply

You can get the lines with simple css styling. The navigation links are placed within a table with the css class "pagenav". Just add the following lines to your Joomla template's css file:

table.pagenav {
border-bottom: 1px solid #CCCCCC;
border-top: 1px solid #CCCCCC;
margin: 1em 0;
width: 100%;

You can do even more styling for the next and prev link texts by modifying the css classes "pagenav_prev" and "pagenav_next".

bytrogladyte, January 19, 2011
Anything Tabs
I had a specific use for this extension. I was redoing a site on abuse for a client and they wanted a "Panic button" that would take the user to a different site if the abuser walked in. Anything Tabs did the job perfectly.

But we had a problem where the tab was appearing in the "Add an image" dialog box. I added some code as specified by Dan, the dev. It didn't work, so he logged into the site and spent considerable time fixing it. Turned out to be a problem with the Artisteer template. Thanks Dan, you're the man! Couldn't ask for better help and support. Wish all devs were like this.
bytrogladyte, November 1, 2010
Very easy to implement and does the job for what I needed. Had a small issue with the size of a text area, and my support email was answered quickly, and with a great answer.

Awesome extension!!!
bytrogladyte, October 25, 2010
Admin Tools
I've been using Akeeba since it was called Joompack. Why didn't I install this before now!!?? Super easy Joomla update, file/directory permission changes, extra security, and more. This is as must-have as Akeeba itself!

bytrogladyte, September 22, 2010
Article Lister
I wanted a module to show "More articles" in the sidebar rather than at the bottom of the main article. I took a while to wade through many modules that let me list sections and categories, but then I found this one. It fitted the need perfectly!

Display articles in a particular Section/Category as a bulleted list. Excellent! And straight out of the box.
Page 1 of 2