The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

web.dude

Reviews(34)
 
RealEstateManager Basic
I really wanted an app like JEA but wanted it for J1.7. Thought I found it but the component has too many entries for MapAPI ID. One in the backend, one in the module so GoogleAppMap whines when you're either in the front-end or back-end. I thought I could trick the app by using the back-end ID when I was creating the entries but no. It wants to use the back-end module for it's primary listing map and the front-end map module use it's own API ID for that module. I guess my choices are limited -- pay a subscription or force my site to be J1.5 and enjoy JEA a little longer...
Owner's reply

Sorry, if you see some error or if you wish help to us create more better component, please write to ours forum.
Why you more often write nod good review, in yours live all so bad ?

Thanks,
OrdaSoft team

byweb.dude, November 6, 2011
Minitek FAQ Book
After installing it and creating an FAQ and several categories, I was about ready to s-can this app because nothing was showing up. How weird that the "first" category, or better said the name of your FAQ book, has to have no topics (e.g. empty). That is not intuitive, nor is not having Captcha on a user submission page.

I like the look of the Category page and left side navigation. It's about the only way to have this app but I would really, really like to see Captcha for the submission.

Gave a 4 star for great effort. Better documentation and backend documentation...and Captcha would have earned a solid 5.
byweb.dude, November 5, 2011
Answer Tips
In my 1.5 site, I had a manual glossary database. Now all I have to do is install a module and it's set. The only thing I don't like is having the icons on every page but there's a work around! Install it into an undefined template module position (like my-own-div) and you get all of the functionality without the visual icon abuse. Truly a great app and I am thankful to the maker!
byweb.dude, November 3, 2011
Google Maps by Reumer
There are only a handful of apps that I implement over and over as Joomla has evolved, and this is one of them. Love a simple interface for my visitors and love the ease of administration the programmer has created!
Modules Anywhere
Very easy to use and nice that you can embed other modules. Thank you developer!
J2XML
I'm sorry to say that there is not much use for this app if the companion importer app doesn't work well. I have wasted hours trying to get the two to work and had to resort to my own SQL dump and SQL massage INSERT INTO to migrate the data. I accept that migration is no a sure science but real reviews would have helped me to consider the viability of this app.
byweb.dude, May 24, 2011
J2XML Importer
Dear app writer, I loved your J2XML but the importer didn't want to work for the weblinks, which I have more of than articles. While your program did work with the articles, I am forced to go brute force and dump my SQL table and massage it into my new system. Sure, I wanted to contact you but not at the expense of registering on your site. Good job so far but I looked every where on your site for info on importing links and couldn't find it.

Thanks for your efforts.
Owner's reply

Thank you for your review. J2XML Importer use only one import button to import all data exported by J2XML.
If you have any problem feel free to contact me any time (without registration)

GTranslate
It took me a little longer because I probably wanted the app to take me by the hand to read my mind but once I read the tooltips, I was set and ready to go! Awesome for FREE!
byweb.dude, October 18, 2009
JEA
I have used some others and really like the JEA system. I had to do some playing to figure out what did what but now that I have it, just a huge thank you to the contributor(s)!!!
byweb.dude, July 27, 2009
ALFContact
It took a little tweaking and playing with it but I'm quite happy with this component! I love the HTML you can add as header and/or footer!

I would love an example of integrating GoogleMaps.

Thanks!
Rquotes
This tool has allowed me to list custom random inspiration quotes AND client testimonials...just one request -- find a way to LIST 1-10 or ALL testimonials on one page as content.

Thanks! Great job nonetheless!
byweb.dude, December 20, 2008
Akeeba Backup
Too many times I feel it important to have a copy of the entire system in my possession but this tool allows me to backup files and tables to the server all in one ZIP. Later I can download just one file! Very nice and all FREE!

This tool is best used with another automated backup but serves as peace of mind for the full site!

Thanks!
BIGSHOT Google Analytics
I was switching out templates and realized that I would have to copy and paste code again until I found this plugin. Thank you!!!
byweb.dude, May 16, 2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
SEOSimple
I will gladly let the module author's have credit off our site for delivering a product that enhances the core! Phenomenal addition to our not-for-profit site!
Page 2 of 2