The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

whit

Reviews(2)
 
bywhit, February 23, 2010
Joom Donation
Now that I've finished my first Joomla site, I'm going back and reviewing all the extensions I've used.

This was the only extension that I paid for on my first site. Unfortunately, I didn't end up using it because of some basic features that were lacking. It doesn't support multiple currencies which is essential for our international charity.

It also couldn't handle things like passing a basic phone number to Paypal. For an extension that you pay for, I didn't feel like the included features were worth the money. And I ended up just making my own donation form with a form creator.

The creator of this extension is very quick to answer questions and does a good job with support, but I just didn't feel that the product ready for prime time yet.
Owner's reply

Hi
I am very upset with this review. For things that you suggest:

It doesn't support multiple currencies which is essential for our international charity

=> Most of our customers don't need it, so I don't implement it. If you need it, why don't you contact me so that I can do this customization for you ?

It also couldn't handle things like passing a basic phone number to Paypal

=> I thought about it before. However, the problem is that Paypal require us to pass detail information about phone number (It require 3 textboxes for a phone number which I think It will confuse people), so I won't implement it. Again, If you want this, why don't you contact me? I am always available for customizing things like this for customer for free.

The creator of this extension is very quick to answer questions and does a good job with support, but I just didn't feel that the product ready for prime time yet.

=> We have so many customers until now and they were all success and happy with my products and support. I don't know why you wrote this review for me :( .

I am still working hard to add more and more features to the extension from time to time and really upset with this review for my very good product and support. To other customers, please look at other reviews, look at other reviews, go to demo site to see how it works, go to my forum to see my good support. I hope all of you will continuing support for my development.

Thanks ,
Ossolution Team

bywhit, February 23, 2010
VirtueMart
Now that I've finished my first Joomla site, I'm going back and reviewing all the extensions I've used.

I give VirtueMart 4 out of 5 stars because you can create a free, functional store pretty quickly. Just know that you will have to edit some of the code yourself if you're doing more than the most basic store.

If you're willing to go hunting on the internet to find fixes for the problems with this component and aren't afraid of coding, I'd say the all of the nice features that it includes are worth the trouble.