The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

yahhr857

Reviews(9)
 
byyahhr857, July 13, 2013
Global Flash Galleries
Exactly what I was looking for to satisfy the needs of a photographer. Nice interface and fairly easy to use after a slight learning curve.
byyahhr857, July 13, 2013
ADXML Gallery
I have been looking for some time for a good Flash capable gallery for a photographer's site I am building. This mod was very easy to install and get running. My only wish would be that there is no way for people viewing the site to right-click print the photos. My whole purpose of using flash is to make it hard for folks to download or print images, yet there in the right-click options is the print option. While hacking the code would fix this, it would be great to have it as a default. I do not see this as a configurable choice in either free or commercial options for this mod. A nice module and almost what I am looking for!
byyahhr857, August 7, 2012
Appointment Book Manager
For what I wanted to do, this looked like the right app to purchase so I did. I have to admit, this is a very slick setup and is great for what I needed; to be able to set up appointments in 10 minute increments.
Much to my chagrin, though, to set up 10 minute appointments for one event on one Saturday is possible, but to block out other Saturdays, the admin would have to go through all those 10 minute appoints (45 of them in a day in my case) on all the other Saturdays to keep people from signing up for times you are not available. And there is not a way to wholesale block them out by an admin.
Also that there is not a way to change the bookings to check boxes for multiple people in a group, which is another function I would need.
The perfect scenario would be if this was adjustable by DATE not by day of the week. I give it 4 stars because it is almost there and I am very impressed, just disappointed I cannot use it as I had hoped.
byyahhr857, August 14, 2011
JoomShopping
I installed this on one of my client's sites and it works beautifully. It took a little work to find everything to get it to work the way I wanted, and there are still some configuration and style issues I am trying to sort out, but this was relatively easy to set up.

Unfortunately, I am now trying to load it on one of my newer Joomla 1.7 pages and keep getting a language error that refuses to allow it to load the databases tables on my site. I have looked over the forums extensively for an answer and have yet to find how to patch this problem (the one answer I found was for a backup before upgrade. Since this is a clean install, I am baffled from the problems getting the database tables to load)

Anyway, this is a good and easy to use program. Use it if you do not want to code endlessly and have your shop up fairly quickly.
byyahhr857, June 8, 2011
ChronoForms
I have been using ChronoForms for several years now on several sites with very good results. I like the flexibility of being able to dig into the code or use the wizard to build forms. In fact, in many cases I use the form wizard then go in and inject my own coding. With help from the forums and other coders, this extension has become extremely flexible.
Coupled with ChronoConnectivity for viewing and editing data on the public side, the two are a great product for a novice or pro. The newest update to ChronoForms has simplified the process even more, I just wish they had ChronoConnectivity for Joomla 1.6 ready to go now too!
Highly recommended from a long-time user!
byyahhr857, May 24, 2011
Ozio Gallery
I really like how quickly this extension loaded and was functioning right away. A few complaints I may have would be from not reading all the instructions, but it is a bit difficult to find how to customize and get some links to show, for instance, there is a toggle for "Original size" but no indication when loading the template (I am using Media Gallery) where the "Original Size" link resides. Since I have not delved into the FAQ and other reading seriously, I will not expect a reply on that issue here.
Otherwise, I am and my client is very happy with the look and feel of the pages. One thing I would love though is to make it impossible to download or print images from the flash pages for the sake of copyright infringement avoidance. I cannot save the images, but it is possible to print it off, and a savvy user could find a work-around to print the images. Add a custom watermark feature and we will love it more!

Thanks for a classy and easy to use extension!
byyahhr857, September 21, 2010
VirtueMart
This is a good cart for someone who wants to just grab and go, or an advanced user who wants to customize. There is a bit of a learning curve to install, but following the instructions for installation gets the cart up and running quickly.

I plan to use this mostly for downloads and digital usage. So far, the test runs have managed to produce a nice setup. Only problem I am having is getting images to show as I want them, and I maintain that is learning curve, not the software.

Nice job development team. Keep it up!
byyahhr857, April 30, 2009
GTranslate
For me, right now, to get instant access to a language I do not know, this is an excellent choice that is not time consuming or difficult to install. While I imagine there are more accurate translation tools out there, I do not have time to sit and translate constantly, so this was a good solution for me right now. Thanks!
byyahhr857, March 29, 2009
Akeeba Backup
For a fairly new Joomla user, I had next to no problems getting this up, running and my site backed up within 30 minutes. While I am not in control of my version of PHP that I use, the extension worked fine with PHP4 after some configuration. I am definitely impressed!