The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JiFile ComponentPlugin

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
Joomla Index File

With JiFile you can search within your documents in PDF, DOC, Excel, ODT, JPEG, MP3 and many others directly from the search of Joomla!

This component will not only search in the title or meta tags of the files but ALSO in the content!

JiFile was designed to obtain an integrated tool in Joomla that allows the indexing of textual content of a document (DOC, PDF, Excel ...) and research into them.

JiFile presents a simple administrative interface that allows great ease of use.

Video tutorial (ENG-ITA) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PpbUZwZqIpg

JiFile - Quick Tutorial http://www.isapp.it/en/jifile-quick-tutorial.html

For a detailed documentation http://www.isapp.it/en/jifile-documentation.html

For Joomla 1.5 http://www.isapp.it/it/download-jifile/download-jifile-1-0-7-j1-5.html

JiFile incorporates the framework iFile which supports the recovery of content and indexing a wide variety of formats:

- Rich Text Format (.rtf)
- Moving Picture Expert Group-1/2 Audio Layer 3 (.mp3)
- Joint Photographic Experts Group (.jpg - .jpeg)
- Microsoft Word 97-2000 (.doc)
- Microsoft Word 2003-2007 (.docx)
- Microsoft Excel 97-2000 (.xls)
- Microsoft Excel 2003-2007 (.xlsx)
- Microsoft PowerPoint 2003-2007 (.pptx)
- OpenOffice.org Writer (.odt)
- OpenOffice.org Calc (.ods)
- Adobe Portable Document Format (.pdf)
- File di testo (.txt)
- Web page (.htm - .html)
- eXtensible Markup Language (.xml)
- Tagged Image File Format (.tiff)

-24/03/2014 v. 2.3
Fixed the strict error in the Lucene controller.
Fixed the problem for the stored of the "created date" in the PDF and Images Files.
Fixed the problem of the Highlight and SubString in the view of JiFile
Fixed the error "Root-application does not exist"
Integrate ordering for field "name" if selected "Alphabetica" in the search view

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2013-05-16
Reviews: 2
I was looking for an extension that I could use for indexing & searching content in pdf files and this extension is works great. I did have some issues with the extension not working properly on a specific server configuration but the isApp team was great in addressing the issues and got everything working in short order.

There are a lot of bits that need to be glued together to make this work and this extension takes care of all that.

Very pleased with the response.
2013-03-29
Reviews: 1
It's a component which gives a great value added to a Joomla website!
It's easy to use and the processes are fast.
But above all, I was amazed by the support it was prompt, helpful, and resolute.
2013-03-26
Reviews: 1
Easy and quick setting up, and last but not least very quick and useful responding support!
2013-03-09
Reviews: 14
So usefull, so advanced !
Very neat, really, just need a plugin for finder and it would be perfect.
We using Edocman for storing documents, and developed a free finder plugin for Edocman + a patch into Edocman to use the indexing of Jifile, and it's just perfect for us now !

But Jifile is the only solution that I know that provide such a good code and versatility.
2013-02-04
Reviews: 1
Running a site with scientific content I needed an extension that rendered our huge database of literature (mostly pdf) searchable. JiFile is exactly what I was looking for.
It requires some advanced skills to set it up and optimize search results but - this is almost the best part of JiFile - support was always fast, polite, helpful, and of course very skilled.
So, although I had to invest some time to have it fully functional, now that it works I can say it was worth every effort.
Highly and frankly recommended!
2013-02-01
Reviews: 8
A technical extension that has many prerequisites - BUT there are not many competitors and it is free! Support was instant but then went to sleep. However my basic skills were part of the problem - I think this is worth being a commercial product and once it is working I will contribute to its development.
2013-01-12
Reviews: 4
Really great stuff! Have been using this for about a week, and our clients love it. Easy to use.

The video tutorial is really great.

Do exactly what is described. Definitely 5 stars!

Thanks a lot!
2012-05-17
Reviews: 2
I have installed in Joomla 2.5 and it works great with the search function, but it would be better if it also worked with the new Smart Search Plug-in introduced in Joomla 2.5.
2012-05-01
Reviews: 65
I needed an extension to index PDF files and stumbled upon JiFile. Even though there were only a few reviews, I gave it a try and I'm very impressed. Aside from PDFs, it will also index Office files, meta data in JPG and MP3 files and more.
2012-03-19
Reviews: 10
Good extension, indexing work nicely, search results is ok, need to be upgrade to work perfectly with Docman or documentation third party.
2012-01-23
Reviews: 1
Basically i was facing 2 days worht of work to create articles and attach pdf's just to make the titles searchable from the joomla search function.

Found this extension at the last minute and in 20min it had indexed not just the title but the content of 109 pdf's allowing them to be searchable quickly from the joomla search function.

When i seen there were no reviews for this extension i had to create an account so i could submit one - dont be put off by the deisgners foreign language website - just down load - install and everything is in english.
Page 2 of 2