The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

Cookie Monster Plugin

★ As you may already know, the EU Cookie Law came into effect on the 26th May 2012 , while there are many interpretations of the new Cookie law as so far as implementation and enforcement goes , the law clearly states that you can use Implied Consent, or Explicit consent. Cookie Monster for Joomla is a Responsive System Plugin that makes implementing these Cookie Notifications a breeze and offers a less intrusive and Mobile Friendly solution for you and some Cool features that stand out from other such extensions. Cookie Monster is used by and many other sites successfully. It meets the Requirements of the EU Cookie Law and very importantly, it will not irritate your Visitors, or make you site less Functional. Even the Developer of a Non Commercial extension makes some unqualified claims because of a poor understanding of the basics of the Cookies law and working on assumptions, don't breaks your sites functions.
★ If you want to use Google's or Woopra or both tracking services and have the required Tracker ID number you can set this to either "Implied Consent" - this means that the Analytics will run until the Visitor declines, "Explicit Consent" meaning the Google/Woopra Analytics will run only when the Visitor Accepts Cookies and optional anonymize IP or set to "Normal with no Analytics" is you site does not use Google Analytics.
If you have any Question or Queries, please ask in the Support Centre . Install and use on unlimited Joomla Installations. Lets take a look at what the Cookie Monster for Joomla offers. Main Features:

★Cookies Notification - Display a Horizontal toolbar at the Top of the Site, bottom of the site OR as an overlay on the Page , with a message about the Cookies Use and Policy and an Accept or decline Button. No need to install any other extenion to show your notifications!
★Google Analytics - You can choose to use the plugin to notify Visitor that you are using Google Analytics Tracking and request them to Accept or Decline. You can additionally use the plugin to load Google Analytics on your site, just add your Tracking ID in the Plugins parameters.
★Block Site Elements - You can also block any #div that is output on your site with a notification and Prompt to accept. A good example is if your commenting system uses cookies, you just need to add the comments div name, eg: #comments in the Plugins Parameters. You can block multiple divs in this way until the Visitor accepts or declines cookies.
★Loading Scripts - You can choose to load the Cookie Notification script in the Sites head or before the closing body tags and in the Docs you can see a code snippet to use if you have any other javascript generating scripts to #block.
★ To function correctly, the Plugin makes use of jQuery 1.7.2 (tested with jQuery 1.4.2+ ) and this must be loaded first on a webpage as mandatory. You can always ask for a look over of your site before you subscribe, so you can be informed of potential issues . If you use J

Report Extension




Reviews: 3
This is a great plugin to satisfy the EU Cookie Policy. I tried a few ones before deciding to buy this one. It did all the things I wanted ... Accept, Deny buttons plus links to your cookie policy. It also puts a small discrete button on the site allowing users to reset the cookie policy.

I had a small problem at the start with a Jquery issue. This was solved promptly via the support forum. Great support!
Owner's reply

Thanks for taking the time out to make a review, I really appreciate it and all the best with your Projects .

Reviews: 1
I had problems initially after installing the plugin, but the support I've got from the developers was really great. They even fixed it for me remotely and it is working perfectly fine! Really worth it compared with other cookie laws I've found, it is very simple to configure once you know which kind of law you are applying to.
Owner's reply

Thank you for taking the time to make a review and share your experiences.

Reviews: 3
The component works perfect just out of the box. It does what it needs to do, it's worth every euro.
Owner's reply

Thanks for taking the time to make a Review, it is really appreciated.

Reviews: 1
This plugin is great. Does everything you need from it and more. Initially had some trouble getting the plugin to work (to do with settings on my joomla install). However this was quickly resolved by the developer (over the weekend can you believe)!

Thank you so much for this plug in and will definitely recommend.
Owner's reply

I really appreciate the fact that you took time to make a review, Thanks :) I should also mention what a pleasure it was working with you on this and for your prompt responses.

Reviews: 4
After looking at numerous cookielaw extensions, i chose to buy this one. With a cost of a little over € 10,00, it was worth a try. Refunds are available so no risk.
After paying the registration fee i received an automatic e-mail and could download the extension.
Unzip and install.
Activate and adjust some settings.

Up and running. It's that simple!

Kudos, +1's and likes for the developer. Thanks!

btw the GA anonymize option is great.
Owner's reply

Thanks for taking the time to make a Review, it is appreciated. All the best with your Projects. Just a point of clarity, refunds are discretionary, not automatic :)

Reviews: 3
Really good, straight-forward to implement but versatile - which is really important in balancing the need to comply with EU regulations but also to have a non-invasive notification/consent system that doesn't make the website ugly!

Have used it successfully on J1.5 and J2.5.

Most importantly the technical support in response to a problem I had was quick and comprehensive.

You can buy this extension with confidence.
Owner's reply

Thanks for taking the time to make this review, it is appreciated and it was a real pleasure working with you on this.

Reviews: 6
I've been tested most of the modules available to meet the EU cookie law and Cookie Monster is by far the most complete and flexible. It worked first time on my J1.5 website with the exception of a conflict with a third party module.

The problem reported at 2am was fixed within a matter of hours. And Mustaq took the great care to report a discrepancy in the module code.

Great module with a fantastic support !!
Owner's reply

Thanks for taking the time to make a review and it was a pleasure to identify the issue in the other module and to offer advice so that it follows Joomla! standards.

Reviews: 1
An excellent easy to install and configure plugin. The only minor issue I would have with it is that you need to ensure that there aren't any other instances of jQuery being loaded but when I had some problems with this the support was superb. The support request was answered within 30 minutes and after providing access to the site, the dev investigated the problem and fixed it even though the fix had to be applied to template files rather than some of the plugin files. It's not often you find someone willing to go the extra mile like that!
Owner's reply

I really appreciate you taking the time to make a review and more importantly, for being concise with the support request.

Reviews: 13
Had a small jquery issue but the developer fixed it within a few hours for me!

Great plugin and support that is 2nd to none!

Thank you!
Owner's reply

Thanks for taking the time to make a review. This is really appreciated and it was a pleasure working on this for you.

Reviews: 3
I had some conflicts with jQuery on several sites.
In Joomla it's rather complicated to find out which software is loading which jQuery.

Mustaq has the patience to answer each mail and to help as long as everything is working!
Great and thanks!
Owner's reply

Thanks for taking the time to make a review, it was a pleasure working with you.

Reviews: 7
This plugin exceeded where others failed. The javascript is loaded in so it does not conflict with other extensions and the extension had enough features, that I only use a quarter of them!

Good work to herdboy for another great Herdboy extension, and for his very effective support around it.

Highly recommend if you are looking for a professional clean quick out of the box solution!
Owner's reply

Thanks for taking the time to make a Review, your appreciation is noted and it was a pleasure working with you.

Reviews: 3
I realize the extension is working smoothly for most users out there... but sadly there were too many conflicts with Jquery on my site and sadly I had to give up on this.

However the support is always there to help and they did the best they could! That's why I'm reviewing this extension as average, it might not have worked for me but nonetheless the support service was very helpful! I reckon I was just unlucky but this plugin is working with most sites :)!
Owner's reply

Thanks for taking the time to Review. I am also sorry you gave up :) All you had to do was disabling loading of an older jQuery in your template. I could have done that for you, but you never gave me the chance.

Reviews: 13
Had some conflicts with JA_Elastica template from (with its old JQuery 1.6.4 version & its commpression built-in feature).
Developer provided a patch guide to have 'Cookie Monter' working correctly.
Thanks 'Mustaq' for your patience & close support.
Owner's reply

Thanks for taking the time to make a review, it is appreciated and it was a pleasure helping you get rid of that other jQuery lib.

Reviews: 2
Great (the best) plug-in for handling the new implemented European cookie law, had some problems whit my Artisteer template loading an older jQuery version then recommended, but received outstanding support from Mustaq Sheikh. After some tips i got it working in five minutes, five stars is the maximum else i would give a 10 star rating. Very pleased whit this plug-in.

Thank again Mustaq ;)
Owner's reply

Thanks for taking the time to make a review, this is appreciated and it was a pleasure assisting you overcome obstacles and optimise at the same time.

Reviews: 3
5 stars for the complete package incl. installation, use, options, support request & a feature request and it's implementation within hours. Absolut recommendation, particularly for german users because of the anonimize ip feature in GA.
Owner's reply

Thanks for taking the time to make the Review and for highlighting the requirements for Google Analytics in Germany.

Reviews: 5
Cookie Monster offers a simple and straight forward way to comply with the new EU (Nanny State) Cookie & Tracking Law. Its implementation is simple and you can select either a banner at the top of the page or to grey out the entire page.

I ran up against an issue while deploying Cookie Monster on a development site. We use a Slideshow script which was badly written in the days of JQuery 1.2.6 and conflicted with the newer jQuery used in cookie monster.

I contacted Mustaq Sheikh via their support forums and he has gone out of his way to help. They even ftp'd in and altered the sideshow script to make them work happily together.

These guys are an excellent example of how to do support right.

Owner's reply

Thanks for making your Qualified review, it is appreciated, thanks again.

Reviews: 26
So easy to install and set up. Worked first time. Easy for my visitors. First class and I am quickly compliant.
Owner's reply

I really appreciate you taking the time to make this review, Thanks.

Reviews: 5
Well, the name sounds a bit ... ;)
But the plugin does exactly what it should do: inform (warn) visitors of your page of cookies usage.
As our sites are running in and for Europe, we have to agree EU law and put a visible information for our visitors for accepting or declining cookies.
We have tried some other solutions earlier but nothing worked like we thought it had to be.
Except this one: Cookie Monster.
OK, you have to pay for, but you will get a fast and professional support in case of any issues.
We had some during the configuration which were easily to fix and after minutes the plugin was up and running.
The 5 star rating includes price, installation and support.
The documentation at developers site can be a little bit more informational in the jQuery issues.
But overall we can recommend Cookie Monster for European webmaster and business.
- XLive
Owner's reply

Thanks for taking the time to make a review , it is appreciated. Glad to have been of assistance to you .

Reviews: 2
This has to be one of the most easiest, fastest and effective plugins I have come across in all of my 16 years as a Joomla website developer/designer. Even a blind dog could install this.

Excellent value for money and shows that you care about protecting your customers whilst complying with the latest legislation.

Well done Mustaq Sheikh for getting this to market in the nick of time.
Owner's reply

Thanks for taking the time to make a qualified review , it is appreciated. Glad to have been of assistance to you .

Reviews: 4
From the outset, the extension offered the solution of solving the EU cookie issue on my website.
I was planning to use it on a large Joomla 2.5.4 news and information site that has a large membership base. Installing the plugin was very simple. I am reasonable familiar with Joomla. However after purchasing and installing the system plugin, I ran into difficulties. The accept/decline box would not appear on the site even though I had cleared all cookies and approached the loading of the site from the perspective of a first time visitor. I used the software authors support service to find a solution to my problem. To their credit they did offer me support & help in trying to resolve my problem. They made a claim that the fault was a JQuery conflict from another installed module and advised me what to do. Their solution was too complex for me personally to put into practice. They did visit my site and personally verified that it did work. SO full marks for the level of support. For a short period of time, I indeed verified on various systems that it worked but for some unexplained reason the plugin ceased to work and I emphasise that no changes to my site or any configurations caused this to occur. It simply stopped working!! Frustrating...!! So I asked a software technical colleague to look over the plugin and he reported back that he cannot understand himself how or why it works. So my honest constructive opinion here is that you should exercise caution before purchasing, downloading and installing this plugin. I suggest that you browse the authors website and try to determine if the plugin will actually work on your site. They do offer some advice regarding this. Several people have reported on the authors site that they have had some difficulties with the plugin and I am simply adding my bit to this. I have disabled and removed the plugin. I can only give this plugin an average rating mostly refelcting the quality of their support versus the ease of the plugins functionality. It might work on your site, but then again, depending on other plugins/modules etc., that make up your Joomla website - it might not!
Owner's reply

Thanks for taking the time to share your opinion.

Page 1 of 2