The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


EU e-Privacy Directive ModulePlugin

Comply with the EU e-Privacy law (AKA the EU Cookie Law)! Block all cookies until the user has accepted them - Session, Language, even 3rd party cookies and cookies set by JavaScript!

Those are some big claims, so I must explain that there are some caveats. 3rd party cookie blocking requires PHP 5.3 and the PHP Reflection Classes. Blocking cookies set by JavaScript requires IE8 or greater, FireFox, Chrome or Opera (probably other modern browsers as well). This plugin can prevent 3rd party cookies, but cannot remove them once they're set (due to the Javascript same-origin restriction).

This plugin and module combination aims to be the final solution to the EU cookie requirements. This plugin overrides and prevents any cookies sent by Joomla, and any JavaScript cookies from being set until the user accepts them. Many of the other extensions here in the JED don't block cookies at all - or they allow the cookies to be set and then immediately unset them with JavaScript (which is cheating and will fail when JS is disabled).

New in version 2.0 - Most of these additions are the result of user requests:
- 5 methods for display: Message, JS Confirm, Module, Modal or Ribbon.
- 1 method to just remove and prevent cookies.
- Option to decline - which shows a minimal message allowing users to reconsider.
- Option to remove cookies after they've been accepted.
- Option to display only to users visiting from EU countries.
- Option to log users who have accepted cookies (persuant to laws in certain EU countries)
- Option to block 3rd party cookies (requires PHP 5.3)
- Option to customize or omit the CSS style for certain output methods.
- 87% more awesome, bringing the total amount of awesome to 187%.

Update 1.8 - Joomla 1.5 long-term cookie test revised.
Update 2.6 - resolved bug in module when geoplugin enabled.
Update 2.7 - resolves issue with non-html pages
Update 2.8 - resolves an issue that prevented the javascript from loading in certain circumstances.
Update 2.9 - removed code that disabled geoplugin which was added for local testing
Update 2.10 - repaired bug on cookie checker code
Update 2.11 - fixes javascript load order issue
Update 2.13 - Add Joomla 3.x compatibility and jQuery/Mootools framework option.
Update 2.14 - logging bugfix - if you use logging - definitely upgrade!

Joomla 1.5 users - please be patient. I am still backporting the J2.5 version! Joomla 1.5 is so inflexible compared to 2.5, I may not be able to replicate all of the functionality...

All of my extensions are free and none of my extensions display advertisements or links to my sites or services. If you feel that I have blessed you, then you can bless me by making a contribution to fund future development. Visit the "Website" link to make a contribution.

Report Extension

 

 

2012-06-18
Reviews: 6
Installed and activated the plugin. Worked straight away.

At last I now comply with this (stupid) law !!!
2012-06-15
Reviews: 2
This plugin is interesting, but has a problem: when the "System - Cache" plugin is enabled, the message is not always shown to new visitors.
Owner's reply

Version 2 will solve that problem. Expect to see it by Wednesday next week.

2012-06-14
Reviews: 2
This Module does exactly what it says on the tin, it perfectly sorts out this cookie law making your website abidable. Defiantly recommend you download this its free and easy to use too!
2012-06-14
Reviews: 1
Plugin works great(now).

At first there was a little problem with it, so I mailed Michael, and within the shortest period of time, he replied with an updated version of the plugin attached to the e-mail, which works perfectly.

Keep up the excellent work and support !
Owner's reply

This plugin is under ACTIVE development. In addition to bug-reports, I take feedback and suggestions.

2012-06-12
Reviews: 17
A great plugin for free. It does work as it claims. Please install the recommended plugin to show the message properly.

Please keep it up.
2012-06-11
Reviews: 2
In the Netherlands there is a new law about cookies, that is why I needed a plugin. This one absolutely fits the job. I always read the reviews before even contemplating installing an extension. This plugin is everything is says and does. I had some issues regarding long-term cookies and also if cookies were actually placed on the computer, I received quick and great support resolving the few issues I came across.
2012-06-11
Reviews: 8
Hi,
this plugin (in combination with Modal System Messages) works miracles in complying to the EU e-Privacy cookie law.
A must have!
Just had one issue: when using a cronjob that uses an url to kickoff a script (eg j!mailalerts) this doesn't work anymore because of the popup hitting the wget command. I found out that you need to append "&eprivacy=1" to the url to make it work again, just a tip for anybody running into this.
Keep up the good work!
Regards, Ruud.
2012-06-10
Reviews: 1
Absolutely gold so simple to install and use top marks for a great plugin :)
2012-06-09
Reviews: 1
The plugin does what it says. Easy to install and configure.

I had a minor issue which the dev fixed within hours (on a weekend).

Highly recommended on all counts.
2012-06-08
Reviews: 2
Michael Richey did an excellent job with developing this plugin. I did a lot of testing on Explorer, Firefox, Safari and Chrome. Did not come across any problems. Support, assistance is superb. Thanks!
Owner's reply

The public will never see 90% of my work, as I generally work on internal tools for my customers. When I can, I turn those tools into free extensions.

My reputation is built with free extensions for Joomla, so it's very important to me that I protect that reputation. I think I'm doing a good job.

2012-06-07
Reviews: 7
A great plugin that is easy to instal.
A pitty that I have to change language files to change the message.
And it would be realy great when the visitor is acccepting cookies to set a cookie for this. The status is now not remebered for ever.
Owner's reply

Starting with version 1.6, a cookie is set to prevent display after cookies have been accepted. It is a 30 day self-renewing cookie.

As far as the language files go, I'm offering this as a multi-lingual extension. I can't very well have an editable text field for every language - so I went with the language files. I wish I could please everyone...

Using the language manager and overriding the English strings is really the way to go. It's easy and reliable! Best of all - it survives upgrades!

2012-06-06
Reviews: 1
Does exactly what it says it will do. Currently the only non-commercial cookie warning available on the JED.

Had a slight issue with installation, due to the particular configuration of my site but a quick e-mail to the author and he resolved it the same afternoon. It doesn't get better than that!
2012-06-05
Reviews: 4
This is a great plugin! The most popular plugin didn't work on none of my sites, this one works perfect. There was a small problem with the language cookie and Michael fixed that in a few hours. Also the fact that it works with language files for the text makes it very easy to use it for a multi-language site. And last but not least: this is the only non-commercial cookie plugin at this moment.
Owner's reply

Bug reports work! This is a prime example of a user who had a configuration that I hadn't tested. Once the report was made, I set out to fix it straight away. Thanks for the great review!

2012-06-05
Reviews: 13
This is a very useful plugin. I had to contact the designer because I had a problem with my template which meant the plugin didn't show up and he got back to me very quickly and explained what I needed to do to fix my template and get the plugin to work.

After that it was all plain sailing and easy to use.
2012-06-04
Reviews: 17
Thanks for delivering another really useful addition to the J community. I have tried some of the other extensions and they all seem to have their downsides.

e-Privacy seems to be the most effective solution I have tried. It's also the easiest to install.

I have a couple of suggestions which I think would help improve the plug in.

It would be nice to have the ability to set the text in the frontend notification from the extension manager parameters, rather than editing the language file directly.

It would also be nice to have an option to assign a url or an article id for the sites cookie policy, which would then render a link in the frontend notification.

The ability to show or hide the link to the EU directive would also be a handy option to have.

Nice work and thanks for sharing.
Owner's reply

I LIKE IT!!

Language, no. I am sticking with language files because you can use the language manager to override the English text, and other language files to enable other languages

Cookie policy link and option to disable the law link is great. Look for that in the near future.

2012-06-02
Reviews: 1
This plugin is very easy to use and does exactly what it says. Great implementation and usage of the notification area. just what I needed.
Page 4 of 4