The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

sh404SEF Popular ComponentPlugin

We created sh404SEF® for Joomla with SEO in mind. sh404sef helps you improve your search engine rankings and get more traffic to your website. Satisfy many of the Google recommendations for search engine optimization with just a few clicks.
sh404sef also includes many security features.

sh404SEF® id the most popular and longest developed Joomla seo extension. We are dedicated, full-time Joomla professionals who work each and every day to bring you the very best extensions and prompt support. Our staff have over 20 years of combined experience with Joomla (and Mambo) and we maintain some of the longest, continually developed Joomla add-ons available.

* sh404SEF rewrites Joomla URL to user-friendly format (SEF URL or URL rewriting):

* NEW: Google Authorship support
* NEW: Twitter Cards support
* NEW: Google Analytics Universal support
* NEW: Google Tags manager support
* NEW: all output through JLayout, easily override in template
* full support for Google rel="prev" and rel="next" header tags, to improve SEO of paginated content
* built in caching database layer, speeds up sh404SEF. Backed by memcache, APC, etc
* Create and insert Open Graph data
quickly and easily add social media buttons to your entire site to allow sharing on Twitter, Facebook, Google+, Linkedin and Pinterest.
* Integrated Google Analytics including support for social sharing
* Automatically generate tiny URLs (shURLs) for your content
* Full urls and bulk meta data management
Multi-lingual support
* Easily redirect 404s to suggested SEF URLS
* Instantly add global support for canonical URLs (add rel="canonical" HTTP headers)
* Remove duplicate URLs, a common problem with Joomla websites
* Create human ear and search engine friendly (SEF) URLs
* Control URL re-write mode on a per-application basis
* Support for Google News URL format
* Easily customize the page title and page description with bulk updater
* Create customized error pages (i.e. 404) with relevant links and other info
* Harden against cross-site scripting attacks (XSS)
* Harden against malicious page requests
* Limit flooding attacks
* Protect input forms such as the contact page from spam (using Project Honey Pot)
* Control site access from suspicious domains (using IP address whitelisting and blacklisting)

We Support many third-party SEF plugins via the standard Joomla installer.
Components we support natively include: VirtueMart, K2, FlexiContent, Kunena, Jomsocial, Community Builder, mosetsTree and more.

Report Extension




Reviews: 2
When you use an extension, you better know who is behind it. That said, the guys behind it ROCK, so does sh404SEF!
Reviews: 2
Great extension and excellent support. Thank you!
Reviews: 15
Great extension, not only lot's of SEO features but also security features!
REALLY worth it's money and a MUSTHAVE for any Joomla site that needs SEO.

This is the least I can do to thank Jimmy for his excellent support!
Reviews: 1
this is really excellent extension! but i want to know when version for joomla 1.6 will released?
Reviews: 2
I've used SH404SEF on many sites over many years. It has worked first time nearly every time — install and GO! — and when it (rarely) has not, perhaps owing to a little bug or a specific third-party template, the developer has bent over backwards to be helpful.

The developer has just solved a problem arising with a specific third-party template on my site, nothing to do with him at all. The template guys didn't seem interested, but Jimie at SH404SEF took the issue personally and over several days guided me (a non-programmer) until the problem was fixed.

Guys, this is the kind of support that makes the world of Joomla! look great. I think SH404 will work for you first time, and if it doesn't, their support is as good as it gets.
Reviews: 2
Excellent component.

It does just what I expected, nice readable links, easy to use, fast response on the forum.

Using it together with Jomres and all works fine.

I´m just looking forward to see joomla 1.6 compatibility.

Iuri Rosa
Reviews: 5
This is a must have on every Joomla site. It gives you plenty of options to customize the look of your SEF-URL in an easy tu use way.
Support is excellent. Quick and professional replies to any issues you could face.
Even though I was shocked in the beginning with the many options you have within this extension, it's worth the efforts.
And it provides you with a cool way to display Google Analytics. Security measures are a great bonus too.
It goes in every single Joomla site I manage. Highly recommended!
Reviews: 1
I have been using this for quite some time. As a fresh install there will be no issues. After some time, a specific table added to your MySQL will make your page slow or unaccesible.

If I had a friend asking me for a SEF module I will recommend to try something else. Seriously.
Owner's reply


sh404SEF, just like other SEF url extensions, stores the SEF/non-sef url pairs in the database, and this will generate some overhead, compared to using Joomla non-sef url. It will also add overhead to Joomla own SEF urls. From our experience and testing, overhead is usually between 20 to 30%. This way of doing things however brings up some SEO benefits, which normally exceed the small time penalty incurred.
Using a disk-based cache file also reduces greatly the strain onto the DB server. On a default Joomla installation, for instance, there is virtually no database access at all on most pages, including the home page. You may want to check disk cache file is activated in your sh404sef configuration.

Having sh404SEF running on several hundreds thousands web sites has proven the performance to be a non-issue. In any case, this question is one of numbers, not just general comment such as "slow" or "fast" and you definitely want to adjust your server configuration to your requirements.
As a reference, you won't have any issue running a significant Joomla site with 1 or 2 000 visitors per day on a good $6-7/month hosting.


Reviews: 4
1. No support for 1.6
2. You don't inform your community about extension and plans
3. No matter how hard I try, it creates duplicate URL's... I mean, it creates two different URLs for one same page.
Owner's reply

1 and 2 are not really a review, so I should not normally respond, but let me simply tell you that the 1.6 version is nearing completion and should be there shortly.

As for creating duplicate urls, you are mistaking the solution for the problem. sh404SEF NEVER creates duplicate urls for the same content. On the contrary it makes sure the multiple urls created by Joomla for the same content are hidden, and that only ONE sef url is exposed to the world and to search engines. Joomla! creates duplicate urls on several occasions, typically by using varying Itemid to access the same content, or by adding/not adding category id for instance.
With sh404sef, you are protected from this behavior by always using the same SEF url.


Reviews: 1
I have been using this project since it's birth when nothing worked. I have seen it go a long way and now it is a machine. If you were lucky enough to get it for free back in the day (like me) whoo hoo. But it is worth every penny. I changed a few $vars from the first one to get it to work on the new joomla but I can't wait to get the cash to see what the new one does. Great job guys. Im donating or buyin the new one.
Reviews: 1
I bought this extension a few days ago, and was very impressed with the documentation.
It's really easy to set up, and then when I moved from a localhost to a server and had a problem I had no idea how to fix, I wrote a post on the forums and then Jimie took care of it within minutes.
Excellent extension & support!
Reviews: 2
I was looking for a solution to my SEF needs and I discovered this component. It was easy to setup and it works great. I was very pleased with the support, fast, precise and helpful
Reviews: 1
Since i bought this extension i'm on my ass. This extension rocks. it's very versatile allowing beginners as experts to do quickly what they want.

Support is always fast, precise and helpful.
Reviews: 16
I have used this component many times over the past 4 years and it always ends up the same: uninstall. With my latest usage I used the latest paid version and I kept getting endless loops when I created new content. I would be forced to purge all my URL's and be forced to recreate custom URL's, only to have to do it again the next time I added content. I also continued to find incompatibility issues with addons like jcomments and plugins such as Facebook Like. Once I disabled the component everything worked fine.

Very, very disappointing because this is clearly the most powerful SEF URL software available. Now I'm back to core Joomla SEF with article ID's in my URL's and not happy about it.
Owner's reply


Sorry about such a continued bad experience. Redirect loops when editing is not something we have reports of, that would be a rather no-go issue. Usually a missing $live_site in Joomla! configuration.php file value can be the source of this issue.
It is also important to point that because you have a problem when an extension such as sh404sef is running, and the problem goes away does NOT mean in any way that sh404sef is having a bug. It just means the problem is revealed when you run sh404sef and that's quite different.
Lastly, you don't need to recreate custom urls when you purge, they are stored separately and are not deleted, so I'm not sure why you would that. I can only encourage you to provide us with more detailed report of your issues so that they can be troubelshooted.

Reviews: 3
Absolutely perfect component.
It does the job, and it does the job extremely good. Every url is modified to fit your own standard, so you can be found in google etc..

Very easy to use component and great support.
Everything is customisable and can be set to your own settings.
The analytics feature is great too, very fast and works fine.

This product should belong to every Joomla site.
Reviews: 4
sh404sef doesn't support multiple domain pointing to your website. It will give you messed up double URL if you do with that component installed.

The support team argues that this won't be supported because it is bad for SEO without any other considerations.

The support team is known to be rude and to divert issue, pointing at other issue rather addressing the problems, like the example above:

Multiple domain support vs SEO ethics.

It took them 4 post and 2 forum "hero member" to finally admit that "It is not supported and will not be supported."

I wouldn't advise to expect much from the support team even if you don't need multiple domain support pointing to your site IMHO.

I've seen many threads on their support forum that speaks for themselves... just do a search for the word "rude" on the forum and you will understand what I mean.
Owner's reply

Hi quebecguitare,
I'm sorry if you feel we've been rude to you, that was certainly not our intention.
However, it does seen we failed to convince you, so I will say it again here for the record, and for other users:
Don't do this. This is one of the biggest mistake you can do from a seo standpoint, and I can only confirm that sh404sef will continue to not allow this.
Being able to access your site through several domains is just a significant loss of ranking. I am sure everybody now knows and understands that you must not access your site using both and, but for some reason many people don't accept that accessing it through, and is exactly the same problem, only bigger.
Please simply don't do it. Choose one "main" domain and setup 301 redirects from all other domains to the main one.

Reviews: 6
I've been using this component for over a year now so thought it was about time I left a review!

Quite simply, I wouldn't build a Joomla website without it. Search engine friendly URLs, meta tags, 301 redirects and so on are all crucial and so easy with this extension.

A learning curve for a novice, but you'll get there. I did.

*thumbs up*
Reviews: 1
This component is worth every cent. I have followed this project for several years and I have had an absolutely outstanding support for issues related to my Joomla environment that I would never be able to resolve without the developers support.

I should also add the success of SEO with sh404SEF along with multi-lang. components is outstanding. This is an absolute "must-have" component for your Joomla installation.
Reviews: 1
So far so great! Thank you!

Only problem - "add to cart" stopped working (gavick your shop template with K2mart installed) and from forums it seemed to be a common issue. Turned off Ajax option but didn't help.

Has been resolved after overwriting the files

Reviews: 1
Sh404 is cool if you wish to see your urls in a human readable format, I have been using it on my site since last 2 years. Yes my rankings have increased.
Its easy to use and configure. But the major problem any customer will face is that each time you make a minor change in any url, the complete cache is refreshed so if you have a big site that means you have to create a sitemap of those 1000 pages again. Which I think is impractical. Using the core sef in joomla would be a better option.
Owner's reply


Thanks for you review. I'd like to point out that there is no need to purge the cache and have urls recreated when you make a change to a single URL. Just delete that particular ONE url and it will be recreated automatically next time it is needed.

As a separate item, I'd also like to mention that from a SEO standpoint, you should NOT change urls at any time. If you absolutely must do so, you should also put a 301 redirect from the old one to the new one. You can use sh404SEF alias feature for that

Page 10 of 13