The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


sh404SEF Popular ComponentPlugin

We created sh404SEF® for Joomla with SEO in mind. sh404sef helps you improve your search engine rankings and get more traffic to your website. Satisfy many of the Google recommendations for search engine optimization with just a few clicks.
sh404sef also includes many security features.

sh404SEF® id the most popular and longest developed Joomla seo extension. We are dedicated, full-time Joomla professionals who work each and every day to bring you the very best extensions and prompt support. Our staff have over 20 years of combined experience with Joomla (and Mambo) and we maintain some of the longest, continually developed Joomla add-ons available.


Features
* sh404SEF rewrites Joomla URL to user-friendly format (SEF URL or URL rewriting): mysite.com/index.php?option=com_content&Itemid=69&id=34
becomes
mysite.com/en/sh404SEF-and-url-rewriting/list-of-available-plugins.html

* NEW: Google Authorship support
* NEW: Twitter Cards support
* NEW: Google Analytics Universal support
* NEW: Google Tags manager support
* NEW: all output through JLayout, easily override in template
* full support for Google rel="prev" and rel="next" header tags, to improve SEO of paginated content
* built in caching database layer, speeds up sh404SEF. Backed by memcache, APC, etc
* Create and insert Open Graph data
quickly and easily add social media buttons to your entire site to allow sharing on Twitter, Facebook, Google+, Linkedin and Pinterest.
* Integrated Google Analytics including support for social sharing
* Automatically generate tiny URLs (shURLs) for your content
* Full urls and bulk meta data management
Multi-lingual support
* Easily redirect 404s to suggested SEF URLS
* Instantly add global support for canonical URLs (add rel="canonical" HTTP headers)
* Remove duplicate URLs, a common problem with Joomla websites
* Create human ear and search engine friendly (SEF) URLs
* Control URL re-write mode on a per-application basis
* Support for Google News URL format
* Easily customize the page title and page description with bulk updater
* Create customized error pages (i.e. 404) with relevant links and other info
* Harden against cross-site scripting attacks (XSS)
* Harden against malicious page requests
* Limit flooding attacks
* Protect input forms such as the contact page from spam (using Project Honey Pot)
* Control site access from suspicious domains (using IP address whitelisting and blacklisting)

We Support many third-party SEF plugins via the standard Joomla installer.
Components we support natively include: VirtueMart, K2, FlexiContent, Kunena, Jomsocial, Community Builder, mosetsTree and more.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2010-10-15
Reviews: 3
I had a problem upgrading to 2.1.6 and it turned out to be a security restriction in my admin directory php.ini file - "parse_ini_file" function. This was quickly resolved by support. Excellent work!
2010-10-15
Reviews: 3
I'm working since 3 Years with sh404sef and i find it an excellent extension. The supportforum works very fine.

I recently upgraded to the 2.x.x. version and i appreciate very much the new analytics feature.

I find it a very complete extension and it's also well compatible with most important other extensions.

Every cent spent for it was spent good.

thank you and continue like

regards

Kubwit
2010-10-14
Reviews: 1
I recently had the need to address an issue with Joomla SEF URLs that would change on an irregular basis depending on where the content was accessed from after a cache reset.

I also wanted to use a Joomla component that would allow more control over the SEF URL configuration.

With the above in mind, I brought and installed sh404SEF. It's been extremely easy to work with, and is a well polished product (still learning some basics, though the documentation has been great thus far).

What issues I've run into have been promptly addressed (and almost all resolved) by the community behind sh404SEF.
2010-09-30
Reviews: 9
I've been using this extension for a few years now on some sites and have been very happy paying the very reasonable annual license fee (unlimited domains) because there is now very active support and development since the move to Anything Digital.

Today I had a couple of problems (turned out not with sh404SEF), which they helped resolve very quickly - thanks to jimie and shushima.

The extension also includes some worthwhile security features and for some extensions e.g. Virtuemart, is essential because Joomla!s SEF doesn't handle them well.

I've had a brief look at the new Google Analytics functionality, which could be very useful but I won't be using it until they have a secure solution for storing and reading the GA authentication. They do say that you should just create a new GA account for each domain if you don't want your username/password compromised but this is a work-around that requires a change to our business processes.

Very good extension.
Owner's reply

hi

thanks for your kind review. A note on the Analytics password. I'm sorry if our wording makes you think there is any security flaw there. There is not, and a change in storage method is not researched nor needed. Your credentials are stored in a file on your server, just like Joomla stores your mysql password or your smtp email password. This is very secure and does not cause any issue.
Our advice was more a no-nonsense kind of remark, whereby we advice to not use the same password on each and every email account or website credentials you use, so as to avoid having all your accounts compromised if only one of them is uncovered

Best regards

2010-09-29
Reviews: 1
I've tested this extension on one test site of mine, the default configuration worked at least on what i've seen witouht anything abnormal.
Great documentation to read on the first time use.
Realy a must have for joomla beginers (like me)developers and designers.
Has lot's of options (wich i have to explore)
Keep up the good work!
2010-09-29
Reviews: 3
Must say the new SH404sef has lot's of (new) features, more complex to handle also, today they fixed it very quickly almost like live support. Excellent job Jimie!
Willem-Hein
2010-09-23
Reviews: 4
sh404SEF is a must have for any website. I have created over 20 Joomla websites and use sh404 on every single one.

The product itself is paid, but it has excellent support helping me solve issues within an hour. It is continuously developed and supported by a great time. Developed releases don't just include bug fixes but contain new features such as the Google Analytics feature.

Thank you Anything Digital for a great product.
2010-09-22
Reviews: 5
In the past this product did virtually everything I needed it to do, but the move to anything-digital has been a big plus. They continue to innovate, the current version not only has new features, but is more stable and is easier to configure and use. Highly recommended!
2010-09-19
Reviews: 13
I have 3 things to say for sh404sef,
1. I have been using this for years now for all of my clients and I personally use it for my company website as well. Works great!
2. The new version 2 has got some terrific additions, like Analytics.
3. The Forum Support is excellent and works24x7.

Overall, a very very happy customer!
2010-09-07
Reviews: 6
Normally I dont write a lot of review, but I must say, "Awesome!" After trying many of the SEF type exentsions I'm very happy with this one.

Very easy to use (if you read the documentations) does what is says.
2010-07-17
Reviews: 3
If you want to build a good search engine friendly website using Joomla, then sh404sef is a must. The new version of sh404sef is awesome and its very user friendly unlike older versions. The new version has a great feature called page id.

Great work Yannick.
Thanks a lot.
2010-07-10
Reviews: 9
I am new to .htacess and SEF I was very afraid of using SEF as I tried another extension in the past and it was not good.

IT worked right away with very few settings. I did how ever run into some very strange problems about a day later. Everything on the front end worked great but the admin panel login was stuck in a loop. Mostly due to the SSL settings. I changed on setting and it worked again. I also installed it when with my dedicated IP and I think that also caused a problem becuase I had to change from the IP to the domain url. I fought with it for about 2 days with different settings and I discovered that I had another set of files from the old ip and one for my current url. I deleted the old and all seems to work as I was having issues with SSL in the front end not directing properly and "invalid token" issues. Most of my day was spent trying to ID the problem in forums to no avail. Then I discovered the extra files. Now it is all good....So far.

Pros: very easy for someone who really didn't know anything about SEF. Besides the config problems of the right settings it went pretty good.

Cons: Support was prompt in the forums for my issues, but I actually found my answers by trial and error or from another forum minuets before getting a support reply. I am used to more one on one support. So not really a con, just not what I am used to. But they did respond timely.

Bottom Line: I'm not sorry I bought it. I would get it again.
2010-06-30
Reviews: 12
Sh404SEF is sooo great, if you seriously want to compete on Google with your website you must have SH404SEF. It would be good if you could have more settings for SEF tweaking in the Joomla core -but this is not the case. So, this leave you to have some SEF extension to build your SEF-URLs the way you like it, SH404SEF will help you with this.

SH404SEF is available to a reasonable price and you got great support from their forum.

Pro:
Support for many third-party extensions, including Jomsocial, Virtuemart etc
Many settings

Cons:
Can be hard to get started, there are many settings, it takes lots of trying and several sites to build the perfect SEF-URLs for your website.
2010-06-28
Reviews: 2
This extension took a while for me to figure and out and use effectively, but i decided ultimately not to use it because of its incompatibility with a number of components i was using, Lyftens Blog and Sim Gallery. I also had a hard time adapting it to my needs in Community Builder. The most disappointing was that i couldn't use this extension selectively with the native Joomla SEF which worked the best for most of my URL naming across all components (except Community Builder). The search continues....
Owner's reply

hi csfitz
Sorry to hear you're still searching :) However, while looking at sh404sef it seems you missed the "By components" settings page ? that's where you select whether to build urls using sh404sef built inplugins, joomla native router.php files, a simple default url encoding or even to leave them non-sef. And you do that on a component by component basis - plus you also select whether to translate urls if using joomfish, and more...
Rgds

2010-06-20
Reviews: 8
The sh404 Extension works good, but the Native Myblog and Jomsocial Plugin (Version: 1.5.10.446) works not to 100% correct. Please check if all Jomsocial links are correctly translated. The Native Jomsocial Plugin produce also SEF Urls for Private Messages. ;-( That makes absolutely no sense! The MyBlog Plugin is not up-to-date and should be checked again for proper function.
Owner's reply

Hi testcouch
From your post on our forum, I realize you have been testing a 3 month old sh404sef version. Our plugin for MyBlog is currently absolutely up to date.
More generally, you should consider the following :
1 - from your forum post, I understand that "works not to 100% correct" means "all urls are not made SEF". That's not what we are trying to do, but only turn SEf those urls that requires it - see item #2 also
2 - it does makes sense to have some of the messaging urls to be sef. Urls are not made SEF only for search engines and SEO results, but also for users. Though I usually try to have as few SEF urls as possible, there are exceptions and private messaging can be one of them
Thank you for your positive review anyway and all the best

2010-06-17
Reviews: 7
This is a cool component. Like other commenters have said it does slow things down a little, but like the developers said it's not really an appreciable difference. The ability to customize your 404 page and suggest other, similar pages to viewers is invaluable! A component that allows this to happen is worth a few seconds extra loading time.

Two things that made me briefly nuts that I'd cue new users into. If you're making changes regarding links (like a linked photo gallery) clear the sh404sef cache or it will serve you up the old, cached pages without the changes. Secondly, if you get the following error:

Warning: file_get_contents(*your site path*/components/com_sh404sef/cache/shCacheContent.shlock) [function.file-get-contents]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in *your site path*/components/com_sh404sef/shCache.php on line 138

it will be fixed by changing the permissions on the /components/com_sh404sef/cache folder to 775. I didn't see anything about either of the "problems" I had in the literature and extensive searching brought me only one relevant link on the latter problem so I thought I'd share them here (in addition to the anything digital forum) to help out so that people can use and enjoy this great extension.
2010-06-16
Reviews: 3
This tool is amazing, was very simple for me to setup and so far has been running smoothly. I dont have any clashs with any other installed components and I love the extra security features that it provides. I would recommend.
2010-05-09
Reviews: 1
With option "New Meta" I've resolved all my problems. Now I have practically full control over sef urls in my site. Great work, thank you.
2010-04-29
Reviews: 1
My experience with this component was far from pleasing. It seems to operate fine with a basic joomla install, but it's interaction with components and plugins is fair at best. I had nothing but trouble with virtuemart. They have a forum dedicated to virtuemart troubles. Why is there not a forum for any other components? Why is the virtuemart forum full of posts requesting help and suggesting things don't work? Save your money if you plan to use this with virtuemart.
Owner's reply

Hi
We have a sub-forum dedicated to Virtuemart just because sh404sef is used by very many Virtuemart users, and has a long record of performing very well with it, to the point where I even made a dedicated meta data plugin for it. We also handle quite well some of the peculirities of Virtuemart. That you run into difficulties when using Vituemart and sh404sef I won't deny, however setting up a full shop is not an easy task, and may involve many different things. For your information, we do not have a single bug report filed related to Virtuemart and it has been so for several weeks.

Rgds

2010-04-28
Reviews: 4
Perhaps one of the most non user friendly and completely frustrating mods available today across the entire cms board, so bad its painful. My argument is this, a good seo mod should of course be flexible but at the same time it should be easy to make the simple changes you desire, this mod makes changing a simple article, category and section meta data a nightmare, I could go on but of course there is not much point, you get the message avoid this junk at all costs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Owner's reply

Hi,
I am sorry you could not get to grips with sh404sef, but I also feel quite extreme to call "junk' an extension just because a small piece of it (meta data entry) does not suit you. Also, as a reminder, changing meta data for an article (or any page of your site, whether Joomla content, Virtuemar product, or anything else) is:
1 - lookup the SEF url of the page from the SEF url list
2 - click on "New Meta" from the toolbar
3 - enter page title, description, keywords, robots, language as you see fit on this page, then press Save

I have a hard time thinking about those 3 steps as a "nightmare", but your mileage obviously vary

Rgds

Page 12 of 13