The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™



sh404SEF Popular ComponentPlugin

We created sh404SEF® for Joomla with SEO in mind. sh404sef helps you improve your search engine rankings and get more traffic to your website. Satisfy many of the Google recommendations for search engine optimization with just a few clicks.
sh404sef also includes many security features.

sh404SEF® id the most popular and longest developed Joomla seo extension. We are dedicated, full-time Joomla professionals who work each and every day to bring you the very best extensions and prompt support. Our staff have over 20 years of combined experience with Joomla (and Mambo) and we maintain some of the longest, continually developed Joomla add-ons available.


Features
* sh404SEF rewrites Joomla URL to user-friendly format (SEF URL or URL rewriting): mysite.com/index.php?option=com_content&Itemid=69&id=34
becomes
mysite.com/en/sh404SEF-and-url-rewriting/list-of-available-plugins.html

* NEW: Google Authorship support
* NEW: Twitter Cards support
* NEW: Google Analytics Universal support
* NEW: Google Tags manager support
* NEW: all output through JLayout, easily override in template
* full support for Google rel="prev" and rel="next" header tags, to improve SEO of paginated content
* built in caching database layer, speeds up sh404SEF. Backed by memcache, APC, etc
* Create and insert Open Graph data
quickly and easily add social media buttons to your entire site to allow sharing on Twitter, Facebook, Google+, Linkedin and Pinterest.
* Integrated Google Analytics including support for social sharing
* Automatically generate tiny URLs (shURLs) for your content
* Full urls and bulk meta data management
Multi-lingual support
* Easily redirect 404s to suggested SEF URLS
* Instantly add global support for canonical URLs (add rel="canonical" HTTP headers)
* Remove duplicate URLs, a common problem with Joomla websites
* Create human ear and search engine friendly (SEF) URLs
* Control URL re-write mode on a per-application basis
* Support for Google News URL format
* Easily customize the page title and page description with bulk updater
* Create customized error pages (i.e. 404) with relevant links and other info
* Harden against cross-site scripting attacks (XSS)
* Harden against malicious page requests
* Limit flooding attacks
* Protect input forms such as the contact page from spam (using Project Honey Pot)
* Control site access from suspicious domains (using IP address whitelisting and blacklisting)

We Support many third-party SEF plugins via the standard Joomla installer.
Components we support natively include: VirtueMart, K2, FlexiContent, Kunena, Jomsocial, Community Builder, mosetsTree and more.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2010-09-22
Reviews: 4
In the past this product did virtually everything I needed it to do, but the move to anything-digital has been a big plus. They continue to innovate, the current version not only has new features, but is more stable and is easier to configure and use. Highly recommended!
2010-09-19
Reviews: 13
I have 3 things to say for sh404sef,
1. I have been using this for years now for all of my clients and I personally use it for my company website as well. Works great!
2. The new version 2 has got some terrific additions, like Analytics.
3. The Forum Support is excellent and works24x7.

Overall, a very very happy customer!
2010-09-07
Reviews: 5
Normally I dont write a lot of review, but I must say, "Awesome!" After trying many of the SEF type exentsions I'm very happy with this one.

Very easy to use (if you read the documentations) does what is says.
2010-07-17
Reviews: 3
If you want to build a good search engine friendly website using Joomla, then sh404sef is a must. The new version of sh404sef is awesome and its very user friendly unlike older versions. The new version has a great feature called page id.

Great work Yannick.
Thanks a lot.
2010-07-10
Reviews: 8
I am new to .htacess and SEF I was very afraid of using SEF as I tried another extension in the past and it was not good.

IT worked right away with very few settings. I did how ever run into some very strange problems about a day later. Everything on the front end worked great but the admin panel login was stuck in a loop. Mostly due to the SSL settings. I changed on setting and it worked again. I also installed it when with my dedicated IP and I think that also caused a problem becuase I had to change from the IP to the domain url. I fought with it for about 2 days with different settings and I discovered that I had another set of files from the old ip and one for my current url. I deleted the old and all seems to work as I was having issues with SSL in the front end not directing properly and "invalid token" issues. Most of my day was spent trying to ID the problem in forums to no avail. Then I discovered the extra files. Now it is all good....So far.

Pros: very easy for someone who really didn't know anything about SEF. Besides the config problems of the right settings it went pretty good.

Cons: Support was prompt in the forums for my issues, but I actually found my answers by trial and error or from another forum minuets before getting a support reply. I am used to more one on one support. So not really a con, just not what I am used to. But they did respond timely.

Bottom Line: I'm not sorry I bought it. I would get it again.
2010-06-30
Reviews: 13
Sh404SEF is sooo great, if you seriously want to compete on Google with your website you must have SH404SEF. It would be good if you could have more settings for SEF tweaking in the Joomla core -but this is not the case. So, this leave you to have some SEF extension to build your SEF-URLs the way you like it, SH404SEF will help you with this.

SH404SEF is available to a reasonable price and you got great support from their forum.

Pro:
Support for many third-party extensions, including Jomsocial, Virtuemart etc
Many settings

Cons:
Can be hard to get started, there are many settings, it takes lots of trying and several sites to build the perfect SEF-URLs for your website.
2010-06-28
Reviews: 2
This extension took a while for me to figure and out and use effectively, but i decided ultimately not to use it because of its incompatibility with a number of components i was using, Lyftens Blog and Sim Gallery. I also had a hard time adapting it to my needs in Community Builder. The most disappointing was that i couldn't use this extension selectively with the native Joomla SEF which worked the best for most of my URL naming across all components (except Community Builder). The search continues....
Owner's reply

hi csfitz
Sorry to hear you're still searching :) However, while looking at sh404sef it seems you missed the "By components" settings page ? that's where you select whether to build urls using sh404sef built inplugins, joomla native router.php files, a simple default url encoding or even to leave them non-sef. And you do that on a component by component basis - plus you also select whether to translate urls if using joomfish, and more...
Rgds

2010-06-20
Reviews: 7
The sh404 Extension works good, but the Native Myblog and Jomsocial Plugin (Version: 1.5.10.446) works not to 100% correct. Please check if all Jomsocial links are correctly translated. The Native Jomsocial Plugin produce also SEF Urls for Private Messages. ;-( That makes absolutely no sense! The MyBlog Plugin is not up-to-date and should be checked again for proper function.
Owner's reply

Hi testcouch
From your post on our forum, I realize you have been testing a 3 month old sh404sef version. Our plugin for MyBlog is currently absolutely up to date.
More generally, you should consider the following :
1 - from your forum post, I understand that "works not to 100% correct" means "all urls are not made SEF". That's not what we are trying to do, but only turn SEf those urls that requires it - see item #2 also
2 - it does makes sense to have some of the messaging urls to be sef. Urls are not made SEF only for search engines and SEO results, but also for users. Though I usually try to have as few SEF urls as possible, there are exceptions and private messaging can be one of them
Thank you for your positive review anyway and all the best

2010-06-17
Reviews: 7
This is a cool component. Like other commenters have said it does slow things down a little, but like the developers said it's not really an appreciable difference. The ability to customize your 404 page and suggest other, similar pages to viewers is invaluable! A component that allows this to happen is worth a few seconds extra loading time.

Two things that made me briefly nuts that I'd cue new users into. If you're making changes regarding links (like a linked photo gallery) clear the sh404sef cache or it will serve you up the old, cached pages without the changes. Secondly, if you get the following error:

Warning: file_get_contents(*your site path*/components/com_sh404sef/cache/shCacheContent.shlock) [function.file-get-contents]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in *your site path*/components/com_sh404sef/shCache.php on line 138

it will be fixed by changing the permissions on the /components/com_sh404sef/cache folder to 775. I didn't see anything about either of the "problems" I had in the literature and extensive searching brought me only one relevant link on the latter problem so I thought I'd share them here (in addition to the anything digital forum) to help out so that people can use and enjoy this great extension.
2010-06-16
Reviews: 3
This tool is amazing, was very simple for me to setup and so far has been running smoothly. I dont have any clashs with any other installed components and I love the extra security features that it provides. I would recommend.
2010-05-09
Reviews: 1
With option "New Meta" I've resolved all my problems. Now I have practically full control over sef urls in my site. Great work, thank you.
2010-04-29
Reviews: 1
My experience with this component was far from pleasing. It seems to operate fine with a basic joomla install, but it's interaction with components and plugins is fair at best. I had nothing but trouble with virtuemart. They have a forum dedicated to virtuemart troubles. Why is there not a forum for any other components? Why is the virtuemart forum full of posts requesting help and suggesting things don't work? Save your money if you plan to use this with virtuemart.
Owner's reply

Hi
We have a sub-forum dedicated to Virtuemart just because sh404sef is used by very many Virtuemart users, and has a long record of performing very well with it, to the point where I even made a dedicated meta data plugin for it. We also handle quite well some of the peculirities of Virtuemart. That you run into difficulties when using Vituemart and sh404sef I won't deny, however setting up a full shop is not an easy task, and may involve many different things. For your information, we do not have a single bug report filed related to Virtuemart and it has been so for several weeks.

Rgds

2010-04-28
Reviews: 5
Perhaps one of the most non user friendly and completely frustrating mods available today across the entire cms board, so bad its painful. My argument is this, a good seo mod should of course be flexible but at the same time it should be easy to make the simple changes you desire, this mod makes changing a simple article, category and section meta data a nightmare, I could go on but of course there is not much point, you get the message avoid this junk at all costs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Owner's reply

Hi,
I am sorry you could not get to grips with sh404sef, but I also feel quite extreme to call "junk' an extension just because a small piece of it (meta data entry) does not suit you. Also, as a reminder, changing meta data for an article (or any page of your site, whether Joomla content, Virtuemar product, or anything else) is:
1 - lookup the SEF url of the page from the SEF url list
2 - click on "New Meta" from the toolbar
3 - enter page title, description, keywords, robots, language as you see fit on this page, then press Save

I have a hard time thinking about those 3 steps as a "nightmare", but your mileage obviously vary

Rgds

2010-04-16
Reviews: 1
The component works as promised, but it literally took me months to find out it was to blame for the ridiculous slowness of my site. My site gets more or less 6000 visitors a day, and has a kunena forum on it. Enabling sh404sef on all pages on the site caused page loads of over 10 seconds, sometimes even more than 20 seconds. I've lost quite a few visitors and even regular posters on the forum over the slowness of my site. Disabling sh404sef for the forum seems to have sped up the whole site. I'm now looking if disabling it for the whole site speeds the site further up. If necessary, I'll do it as I don't believe the SEO advantage of it as much as a lot of people.

I'm writing this, as it might "speed up" somebody else finding the cause of the slowness of his/her site.
Owner's reply

Hi
Sorry about all the time you lost on this. Dues to this very nature (storing url pairs in the database), sh404sef and all other sef extensions that use the same process do add some overhead to a web site, just like Joomla sef add some overhead to sites compared to having no sef at all. Forums are actually the worst extensions to work with because users creates posts all the time. With database-backed sef extensions, it is the creation of a url that takes time. When it is created, it is easy and fast to retrieve from the DB.
All that said, I'd like to point out :
- support for Kunena has only been added to sh404sef a couple of weeks ago, meaning you have been using either a 3rd-party Kunena plugin or even Joomla router.php files. This is really a worst case scenario for speed
- to put things in perspective, my own tests on Kunena shows that sh404sef add about 20% to 25% overhead over Joomla SEF. That is usually something that can be handled by hosting, but may require indeed additional resources in case such as yours, with failry heavy load.
Rgds

2010-04-05
Reviews: 2
I didn't have any problems installing this and I'm far from a Joomla expert. The .htaccess change was very simple and basic on my Hostgator hosting.

It does what it says, and I'm happy with my purchase. Its a bit weird that they sell it by subscription though. I would rather just purchase it outright, and not have to worry about the payment auto-renewing.
2010-03-26
Reviews: 2
This component was promising but since its been taken over by anything-digital.com it fails to work with secure SSL pages.

Any https page is automatically redirect to a http page rendering vituemart shops useless.

Support provides no answers:
Owner's reply

Hi

Sorry you had problem with this particular question. However, there is no repoted issue within sh404sef regarding https. Setting up the joomla, virtuemart and the web server to operate may however be quite complex, especially on shared host, and thi smay be the reason of your issues. There are many Virtuemart shops running https for the checkout parts as we speak.

I can only encourage you to go back to our forum to try get this setup properly
Thanks and regards

2010-03-06
Reviews: 1
SH404 is still the best SEF tool. Has many extra functions for customizing urls. Excellent.
2010-03-01
Reviews: 3
Very good product for static websites that don't change frequently.

On my website articles and pages are added and deleted frequently and in combination with more then 2000 visitors a day it sometimes give white pages when you click on a link.
You have to purge all SEF urls to fix the problem.

Next to that sh404SEF does not work that good with Virtuemart and give depending on which server specs you use error.

But for the normal website its worth the 25 euro
Owner's reply

Hi geertje
Thanks for your review. You're indeed in a situation where you need to be careful about what urls are stored in the database. I am however very concerned about your comment regarding Virtuemart. In depth Virtuemart support has been a very strong feature for sh404sef from the start,and still is today. We are not aware of any outstanding issue with Virtuemart, so please contact me at shumisha at gmail dot com for details.

Rgds

2010-02-09
Reviews: 7
nice component, but it seems the version has updated within one week of me purchasing it and now i can't get to the website to download latest version.
Owner's reply

Hi

Yes, we try have updates very often. And you can get them for one year after subscribing, so something is not normal here. Please make contact with us so that can be fixed!

Rgds

2010-02-08
Reviews: 19
One of the most important things for SEO in Joomla is getting rid of the long strings that are built for URLs, and have shorter, more English sounding URLs for the search engines. This extension does just that, and does it well.

I can see why a novice may have trouble with it since you have to make and modify the .htaccess file, but if you have a good ftp program, you can figure it out. Or go to a forum and ask for assistance.

I had the hardest time initially getting the Joomla provided SEF URLs to work correctly, but once I had that figured out, I was determined to make this sh404SEF work -- after all, it always made it in the top 10 list of extensions!

It is well worth the small fee to purchase the license and follow the instructions you will see on the successful installation page. Clue: print that page!

I love the smaller URLs, much better for search engine optimization, and the ease of use. And now this extension is in my top 10 list too!
Page 12 of 13