The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

sh404SEF Popular ComponentPlugin

We created sh404SEF® for Joomla with SEO in mind. sh404sef helps you improve your search engine rankings and get more traffic to your website. Satisfy many of the Google recommendations for search engine optimization with just a few clicks.
sh404sef also includes many security features.

sh404SEF® id the most popular and longest developed Joomla seo extension. We are dedicated, full-time Joomla professionals who work each and every day to bring you the very best extensions and prompt support. Our staff have over 20 years of combined experience with Joomla (and Mambo) and we maintain some of the longest, continually developed Joomla add-ons available.

* sh404SEF rewrites Joomla URL to user-friendly format (SEF URL or URL rewriting):

* NEW: Google Authorship support
* NEW: Twitter Cards support
* NEW: Google Analytics Universal support
* NEW: Google Tags manager support
* NEW: all output through JLayout, easily override in template
* full support for Google rel="prev" and rel="next" header tags, to improve SEO of paginated content
* built in caching database layer, speeds up sh404SEF. Backed by memcache, APC, etc
* Create and insert Open Graph data
quickly and easily add social media buttons to your entire site to allow sharing on Twitter, Facebook, Google+, Linkedin and Pinterest.
* Integrated Google Analytics including support for social sharing
* Automatically generate tiny URLs (shURLs) for your content
* Full urls and bulk meta data management
Multi-lingual support
* Easily redirect 404s to suggested SEF URLS
* Instantly add global support for canonical URLs (add rel="canonical" HTTP headers)
* Remove duplicate URLs, a common problem with Joomla websites
* Create human ear and search engine friendly (SEF) URLs
* Control URL re-write mode on a per-application basis
* Support for Google News URL format
* Easily customize the page title and page description with bulk updater
* Create customized error pages (i.e. 404) with relevant links and other info
* Harden against cross-site scripting attacks (XSS)
* Harden against malicious page requests
* Limit flooding attacks
* Protect input forms such as the contact page from spam (using Project Honey Pot)
* Control site access from suspicious domains (using IP address whitelisting and blacklisting)

We Support many third-party SEF plugins via the standard Joomla installer.
Components we support natively include: VirtueMart, K2, FlexiContent, Kunena, Jomsocial, Community Builder, mosetsTree and more.

Report Extension




Reviews: 2
Is many time that I use this wonderful component. For a recent problem now I know that have a very quickly and good support. I suggest it.
Reviews: 4
Really Very Good Extension for seo, but it will finish your website, your ranking and everything, it will slow down your website in a second.

I have used almost more then 1000 extensions of joomla. bt this is the worst of worst extension.
Owner's reply


No, sh404SEF will not destroy your site, your ranking and all the rest, including slowing down your site.

Extreme slowness is usually linked to misconfiguration, and we'd be very happy to fix that if you were to contact support.


Reviews: 13
sh404sef is an extension with a long history, and I've used it for a long time. It's not extremely easy to get up to speed with it, but when you do it becomes an essential tool for you site. Simply great!
Reviews: 3
Hi guys. Try this great extension. Ive used it for J2.5 and its works fine. I had for my site a specific problem and they handled it out really fast. Thx to Jimie for technical support and Ron for solve the rest.

Nothing to loose. Install it fastly- ready !
Reviews: 2
Had big time problems with live client mukti lingual site after installing sh404sef component the menu's disappeared in some of the languages and menu links were not clickable anymore... support was very quick in solving the issue!
Reviews: 3
I was not a regular user of this extension until one of my clients made me know it. and I must admit that I was pleasantly surprised by the ability of sh404, I had some concerns of beginners, and support intervened in the day.
I couldn't ask for better.
I recommand it.
Reviews: 1
Roughly a month ago I activated sh404SEF with .htaccess. It's an excellent component and does exactly what it has to do.
Activating SEF does of course rewrite all the urls and this can create problems.
Thanks to jimie's great help, who made a visit on my site, these problems could be solved.

Perhaps a suggestion which might allow sh404SEF to be event better as it already:

To take care also of the various components, plugins which are not SEF compatible.
Of course sh404SEF will not be able to rewrite these urls...but lets say offering options being able using these non sef urls perhamps in META etc.
Just a suggestion which might help to enhance the offer.
Reviews: 2
I can recommend to use this component. It does exactly what its supposed to do.

Please note that you have to spend some time to read the manual and FAQ. If you have something special like a multilingual site you have to spend even more time in learning how you can configure it.

For me the most important thing for a commercial component is the support. The support here is very very customer-oriented and helpful. Additionally you get very fast answers.
Reviews: 1
I've used sh404SEF since 2009/2010 and have come to rely heavily on it.
Recently, when launching a new site (had to start from scratch) I had a couple of issues with things not working the way they had in the older version of Joomla - all resolved quickly via their support forum!
Very happy and would recommend this to anyone.
Reviews: 3
It does exactly what its supposed to do. Only problem is page load time go from 1 second to 8 seconds. Which is unacceptable for my sites.
Owner's reply


As with a previous reviewer, it is unfortunate that you didn't try to contact us for support.
An extension that multiply page load time by 8 is not acceptable and would have disappeared from the Joomla! world a long time ago.
In the case of that recent reviewer, he was not using the appropriate setting for his forum sef urls. After he posted his review we had a quick discussion on our support forum, to clear the issue.
I'd only like again to invite you to do the same and I'm sure we can figure out what's happening on your site.


Reviews: 6
I have come to use this on all the websites that I create. Great for SEO and security. Gives a lot of control with the URLs. A Must have.
Reviews: 1
Setup was fast and easy. I asked a question in the forum and it was answered same day. I like having clean urls now without the category ids that joomla puts in. Well worth the money.
Reviews: 1
I was really pleased when using sh404.this is a great tool and support too, he Jimie very enthusiastic.He helped me solve a lot of problems for my website

Reviews: 1
It is a good and useful component for an website. We recommend it with pleasure, especially since it has a good support from the author. Shef404 fully deserves its money.
Reviews: 3
sh404sef does a great job in making URLs more search engine friendly. But instead of repeating what others have said regarding how good sh404sef is etc. I will cut to the chase.

sh404sef slows down your website. You can find proof all over the sh404sef forum and other places where people complained about their site becoming slower and slower due to an increase of SEF URLs in the database.

After uninstalling sh404sef, page load decreases from 7-8 seconds to 1-2 seconds are not uncommon.

The support is obviously overwhelmed by this since their typical response is to upgrade your host, turn cache on (as if people weren't turning cache on from the beginning) or other excuses. However they also offer you to get a refund if you want.

The difference between sh404sef and Loomlas own core SEF is that sh404sef builds URLs on first page visit and stores them in the database. Joomlas Core SEF doesn't store any SEF URLs in the database, but creates them on-the-fly, eliminating performance issues.

There is another SEF extension for Joomla that also creates SEF URLs on-the-fly. I have tried it and pages load as fast as with Joomla's Core SEF.

If Anything Digital, the company behind sh404sef wants to stay in business with their product, I highly recommend them to completly rewrite how sh404sef works. sh404sef could be much better with on-the-fly SEF URL creation. The best way to convince them or Yannick, the coder behind sh404sef, is to go to their forum and tell them.
Owner's reply


Thanks for your message and for your concern for SEF extensions technology.

If you had a concern about speed and your server, you could have tried. But instead you wrote this text in our pre-sales forum, then cut and pasted it here as a review - without downloading sh404SEF and thus without trying. You actually didn't even pretend trying but only gave general comment on a technology vs another one. That's not really what I call a fair review of an extension!

As usual, there are pros and cons in each case. Storing urls in database allows many things that are not possible with the on-the-fly method, and this is why all SEF extensions use it.

We're very much concerned with speed of course, as very slow sites have a real SEO penalty.
But speed isn't a problem, even with busy sites. If you need proof, our own site has a lot of urls and runs pretty fast.
That said, we are not standing by, and we introduced last year features to not only make sh404SEF itself faster, but even speed up the Joomla site it's running on, by caching Joomla and other extensions database queries.

Now a final comment: you consider on-the-fly creation faster than store-to-database: where do you think elements of on-the-fly urls (article or category titles for instance) are coming from, if not from the database?


Reviews: 3
An easy to customize component for Joomla SEF with a clearly surface. Good Support! Thank you.
Reviews: 10
Works a treat. As soon as you get your head around by how it creates sef url's, then your set. Should be apart of the default Joomla components, it's that good.
Reviews: 32
Using sh404SEF in Joomla 2.5 since version (January 2013).
Advantages: user-friendly interface, excellent SEF capabilities, protection against attacks on the site, SEO friendly features, a lot of statistical data, shURL, tune of 404 page, SEO for social networking (supporting Open Graph), the ability to customize displaying a specific template for mobile devices, lots of plug-ins to work with third-party extensions and much, much more ...
Disadvantages: building links based not on the menu of the site as a standard Joomla SEF, but based on the categories. Because of this, does not always make the URL address when you delete the last part of which the user navigates to the previous level.
Support - at a high level. Promptly and accurately.
Before sh404SEF I used the built-in Joomla SEF, but I did not like the ID of articles and categories in the URL address. Now they're gone. Before buying sh404SEF I compared it with two other popular SEF extensions. Decided that sh404SEF better. Loved the output function similar addresses on page 404. Also on page 404 in the browser address bar displays the address that is entered by the user, not the address of the page 404. That is good. This is a good extension that combines SEF, SEO and security.
Engaged in web technologies since March 2007. Use Joomla since December 2009.
Reviews: 7
I just finished my new site version and on this version I start using the sh404SEF and I must say I'm very happy with it. This extension is very plugin friendly, so you can adapt easly to your needs or simple adjust the urls the way you want.
The import and export urls works very well too. Thanks
Reviews: 11
I recommend this SEF component if you need usefull and easy to use SEF extension.

Must have for every complicated site!!
Page 3 of 13