The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

sh404SEF Popular ComponentPlugin

We created sh404SEF® for Joomla with SEO in mind. sh404sef helps you improve your search engine rankings and get more traffic to your website. Satisfy many of the Google recommendations for search engine optimization with just a few clicks.
sh404sef also includes many security features.

sh404SEF® id the most popular and longest developed Joomla seo extension. We are dedicated, full-time Joomla professionals who work each and every day to bring you the very best extensions and prompt support. Our staff have over 20 years of combined experience with Joomla (and Mambo) and we maintain some of the longest, continually developed Joomla add-ons available.

* sh404SEF rewrites Joomla URL to user-friendly format (SEF URL or URL rewriting):

* NEW: Google Authorship support
* NEW: Twitter Cards support
* NEW: Google Analytics Universal support
* NEW: Google Tags manager support
* NEW: all output through JLayout, easily override in template
* full support for Google rel="prev" and rel="next" header tags, to improve SEO of paginated content
* built in caching database layer, speeds up sh404SEF. Backed by memcache, APC, etc
* Create and insert Open Graph data
quickly and easily add social media buttons to your entire site to allow sharing on Twitter, Facebook, Google+, Linkedin and Pinterest.
* Integrated Google Analytics including support for social sharing
* Automatically generate tiny URLs (shURLs) for your content
* Full urls and bulk meta data management
Multi-lingual support
* Easily redirect 404s to suggested SEF URLS
* Instantly add global support for canonical URLs (add rel="canonical" HTTP headers)
* Remove duplicate URLs, a common problem with Joomla websites
* Create human ear and search engine friendly (SEF) URLs
* Control URL re-write mode on a per-application basis
* Support for Google News URL format
* Easily customize the page title and page description with bulk updater
* Create customized error pages (i.e. 404) with relevant links and other info
* Harden against cross-site scripting attacks (XSS)
* Harden against malicious page requests
* Limit flooding attacks
* Protect input forms such as the contact page from spam (using Project Honey Pot)
* Control site access from suspicious domains (using IP address whitelisting and blacklisting)

We Support many third-party SEF plugins via the standard Joomla installer.
Components we support natively include: VirtueMart, K2, FlexiContent, Kunena, Jomsocial, Community Builder, mosetsTree and more.

Report Extension




Reviews: 2
I can recommend to use this component. It does exactly what its supposed to do.

Please note that you have to spend some time to read the manual and FAQ. If you have something special like a multilingual site you have to spend even more time in learning how you can configure it.

For me the most important thing for a commercial component is the support. The support here is very very customer-oriented and helpful. Additionally you get very fast answers.
Reviews: 1
I've used sh404SEF since 2009/2010 and have come to rely heavily on it.
Recently, when launching a new site (had to start from scratch) I had a couple of issues with things not working the way they had in the older version of Joomla - all resolved quickly via their support forum!
Very happy and would recommend this to anyone.
Reviews: 3
It does exactly what its supposed to do. Only problem is page load time go from 1 second to 8 seconds. Which is unacceptable for my sites.
Owner's reply


As with a previous reviewer, it is unfortunate that you didn't try to contact us for support.
An extension that multiply page load time by 8 is not acceptable and would have disappeared from the Joomla! world a long time ago.
In the case of that recent reviewer, he was not using the appropriate setting for his forum sef urls. After he posted his review we had a quick discussion on our support forum, to clear the issue.
I'd only like again to invite you to do the same and I'm sure we can figure out what's happening on your site.


Reviews: 6
I have come to use this on all the websites that I create. Great for SEO and security. Gives a lot of control with the URLs. A Must have.
Reviews: 1
Setup was fast and easy. I asked a question in the forum and it was answered same day. I like having clean urls now without the category ids that joomla puts in. Well worth the money.
Reviews: 1
I was really pleased when using sh404.this is a great tool and support too, he Jimie very enthusiastic.He helped me solve a lot of problems for my website

Reviews: 1
It is a good and useful component for an website. We recommend it with pleasure, especially since it has a good support from the author. Shef404 fully deserves its money.
Reviews: 3
sh404sef does a great job in making URLs more search engine friendly. But instead of repeating what others have said regarding how good sh404sef is etc. I will cut to the chase.

sh404sef slows down your website. You can find proof all over the sh404sef forum and other places where people complained about their site becoming slower and slower due to an increase of SEF URLs in the database.

After uninstalling sh404sef, page load decreases from 7-8 seconds to 1-2 seconds are not uncommon.

The support is obviously overwhelmed by this since their typical response is to upgrade your host, turn cache on (as if people weren't turning cache on from the beginning) or other excuses. However they also offer you to get a refund if you want.

The difference between sh404sef and Loomlas own core SEF is that sh404sef builds URLs on first page visit and stores them in the database. Joomlas Core SEF doesn't store any SEF URLs in the database, but creates them on-the-fly, eliminating performance issues.

There is another SEF extension for Joomla that also creates SEF URLs on-the-fly. I have tried it and pages load as fast as with Joomla's Core SEF.

If Anything Digital, the company behind sh404sef wants to stay in business with their product, I highly recommend them to completly rewrite how sh404sef works. sh404sef could be much better with on-the-fly SEF URL creation. The best way to convince them or Yannick, the coder behind sh404sef, is to go to their forum and tell them.
Owner's reply


Thanks for your message and for your concern for SEF extensions technology.

If you had a concern about speed and your server, you could have tried. But instead you wrote this text in our pre-sales forum, then cut and pasted it here as a review - without downloading sh404SEF and thus without trying. You actually didn't even pretend trying but only gave general comment on a technology vs another one. That's not really what I call a fair review of an extension!

As usual, there are pros and cons in each case. Storing urls in database allows many things that are not possible with the on-the-fly method, and this is why all SEF extensions use it.

We're very much concerned with speed of course, as very slow sites have a real SEO penalty.
But speed isn't a problem, even with busy sites. If you need proof, our own site has a lot of urls and runs pretty fast.
That said, we are not standing by, and we introduced last year features to not only make sh404SEF itself faster, but even speed up the Joomla site it's running on, by caching Joomla and other extensions database queries.

Now a final comment: you consider on-the-fly creation faster than store-to-database: where do you think elements of on-the-fly urls (article or category titles for instance) are coming from, if not from the database?


Reviews: 3
An easy to customize component for Joomla SEF with a clearly surface. Good Support! Thank you.
Reviews: 10
Works a treat. As soon as you get your head around by how it creates sef url's, then your set. Should be apart of the default Joomla components, it's that good.
Reviews: 27
Using sh404SEF in Joomla 2.5 since version (January 2013).
Advantages: user-friendly interface, excellent SEF capabilities, protection against attacks on the site, SEO friendly features, a lot of statistical data, shURL, tune of 404 page, SEO for social networking (supporting Open Graph), the ability to customize displaying a specific template for mobile devices, lots of plug-ins to work with third-party extensions and much, much more ...
Disadvantages: building links based not on the menu of the site as a standard Joomla SEF, but based on the categories. Because of this, does not always make the URL address when you delete the last part of which the user navigates to the previous level.
Support - at a high level. Promptly and accurately.
Before sh404SEF I used the built-in Joomla SEF, but I did not like the ID of articles and categories in the URL address. Now they're gone. Before buying sh404SEF I compared it with two other popular SEF extensions. Decided that sh404SEF better. Loved the output function similar addresses on page 404. Also on page 404 in the browser address bar displays the address that is entered by the user, not the address of the page 404. That is good. This is a good extension that combines SEF, SEO and security.
Engaged in web technologies since March 2007. Use Joomla since December 2009.
Reviews: 7
I just finished my new site version and on this version I start using the sh404SEF and I must say I'm very happy with it. This extension is very plugin friendly, so you can adapt easly to your needs or simple adjust the urls the way you want.
The import and export urls works very well too. Thanks
Reviews: 11
I recommend this SEF component if you need usefull and easy to use SEF extension.

Must have for every complicated site!!
Reviews: 2
My experience so far is very good. I had some problems with the install, and they did some good help to solve this.

I going on with using the tool ,but so far , so good!
Reviews: 5
If you read the reviews here, you'll conclude that sh404URL is a mature and technically strong extension. I've used on 1.5 and 2.5 sites: it works well, it's easy to use, powerful and it performs well. But it changes Joomla a bit and some people run into problems requiring support. I recently became one of these. First line support was fast in responding but we had difficulty mutually comunicating what the issue was. I was getting very frustrated, so I called. The phone was answered very quickly and with the help of customer service my issue was resolved & it was only a configuration problem.
I have to say that initially the support request was not handled well, but the effort to get on top of the problem via my escalation was extremely customer-centred. You can learn a lot about a team not by the mistakes they make, but how they deal with them. I continue to be a happy subscriber.
Reviews: 5
Installed Sh404SEF on our company site yesterday. Had a couple of configuration problems which Jimie promptly responded to. Many thanks for great support for a very strong component!
Reviews: 5
I'm a long term user and have been using sh404SEF for years. It just keeps getting better.

SEF url management is centralized, easy and time-saving, with a wide range of customization options. You can control redirects from a 404 request list, point the duplicate urls which Joomla generates to a main SEF url, manage titles and meta tags easily, and of course there's integration of some of Google's analytic data - which comes very handy.

One of the best features is the 404 page - not only it is fully customizable but sh404SEF automatically presents the closest matches, and its estimations are very accurate. Thus visitors are assisted to stay and browse, instead of leaving when hitting a 404.

Support is also very good.

That's the one component I can't do without, a big thank you to the developers.
Owner's reply


Thanks a lot for you support! This is very much appreciated and helps us a lot to keep being focused and motivated :)


Reviews: 8
Great component, great support, great team, A must have !
Reviews: 1
I have worked with Sh404SEF for a number of months. I initally found it to be a bit buggy - as others users have noted in their reviews the administrative display element seemed to break up and on occasion refused to save changes.

After a few weeks tinkering around with it I managed to get it working to a grat extent. Nothing that I couldnt have done with Joomla - it helped with titles and meta management, having everything in one place.

All of a sudden SH404SEF decided to stop working. The issue I was particularly experiencing was 'titles and meta manager' - it for some reason decided to stop mnaging page titles and displayed the basic Joomla page title.

I madecontact with support on the 23/12/12 and my query was answered within 48 hours with a very basic 'what Joomla version?'. This continued for approximately one week with one question answers which always took 48 hours to answer. At one point it was advised 'just uninstall and install it agin'.

Cutting a long story short, 'Jimie' logged into my site and basically responded:

'your website is a PAIN'. 'You have too many plugins' 'It has lots of JS errors'. 'I can no longer help. Go and fix it yourself.'

Ok. Im a commercial user. I think I paid around 40 dollars for this component.

I agree with the many other users of this component that it is 'highly sensitive' to other useful plugins that your site may be running. Its almost a lottery whether the software will run on your site in the long term. My experience is that over the initial 30 days (which covers the money back guarantee) you are less likely to run into any issues.

Secondly as others have pointed out, the support basically stinks. If you have a question it will take 48 hours for a response. When they get fed up of someone - there is a tendency (as other users have experienced here!) to say - your website is crap, go away!

If you like me are a commercial user and rely on this plugin to help your own commercial or other clients activities I would personally avoid. Long term there just isnt the human compassion to sort out your issues if it goes beyond the 'uninstall and reinstall' (which was advised)

I have a sincere mission now, extrapoloting this component from my site so that it doesnt impact my URLs or my Google rankings.

Avoid like the plague.
Owner's reply


Sorry you feel so bad about support, but I can only ask readers to do as you say: please check other reviews about support.

I usually do not enter that sort of discussion, but your words are too harsh to let go. Here is the actual time line:
1rst post Dec. 23 at 11:25PM (almost midnight)
Answer: Dec 24. 7:46AM (first thing in the morning)
Next post by you: 7:57AM (10 minutes later)
Answer: dec. 25 5:25pm : YES,24hrs later. Sorry, this was Christmas day!

and so on. I have checked the whole support thread and I have not found any reply after 12hrs, except for the one mentioned above that was done on the Christmas day. And even 12hrs is when you posted late at night, and we answered the next day.

I have also read the other reviews again and could not find people saying "administrative display element seemed to break up and on occasion refused to save changes".

Now let me say that we tried to help you. This was very strange, because sh404SEF had been working for more than a year on that site, and all of a sudden no more page titles?

We made several proposals, then finally we asked for site admin credentials, searched, tested, checked and our support found the problem: you are now using a caching system that prevents the page title to be modified by Joomla extensions.
And yes, we cannot do anything about it. If the page is served from a cache, we cannot change it. No other Joomla extension can. That's a technical fact and there's no way around it.
Our suggestion to fix your site at this stage would simply be to use the Joomla! cache, which is very fine and efficient and of course works fine with other Joomla! extensions such as sh404SEF.


Reviews: 1
Excellent component, easy to install, easy to use. The support service is quick and very efficient. thank you Jimie.
Pierre from Brittany.
Page 3 of 13