The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


sh404SEF Popular ComponentPlugin

We created sh404SEF® for Joomla with SEO in mind. sh404sef helps you improve your search engine rankings and get more traffic to your website. Satisfy many of the Google recommendations for search engine optimization with just a few clicks.
sh404sef also includes many security features.

sh404SEF® id the most popular and longest developed Joomla seo extension. We are dedicated, full-time Joomla professionals who work each and every day to bring you the very best extensions and prompt support. Our staff have over 20 years of combined experience with Joomla (and Mambo) and we maintain some of the longest, continually developed Joomla add-ons available.


Features
* sh404SEF rewrites Joomla URL to user-friendly format (SEF URL or URL rewriting): mysite.com/index.php?option=com_content&Itemid=69&id=34
becomes
mysite.com/en/sh404SEF-and-url-rewriting/list-of-available-plugins.html

* NEW: Google Authorship support
* NEW: Twitter Cards support
* NEW: Google Analytics Universal support
* NEW: Google Tags manager support
* NEW: all output through JLayout, easily override in template
* full support for Google rel="prev" and rel="next" header tags, to improve SEO of paginated content
* built in caching database layer, speeds up sh404SEF. Backed by memcache, APC, etc
* Create and insert Open Graph data
quickly and easily add social media buttons to your entire site to allow sharing on Twitter, Facebook, Google+, Linkedin and Pinterest.
* Integrated Google Analytics including support for social sharing
* Automatically generate tiny URLs (shURLs) for your content
* Full urls and bulk meta data management
Multi-lingual support
* Easily redirect 404s to suggested SEF URLS
* Instantly add global support for canonical URLs (add rel="canonical" HTTP headers)
* Remove duplicate URLs, a common problem with Joomla websites
* Create human ear and search engine friendly (SEF) URLs
* Control URL re-write mode on a per-application basis
* Support for Google News URL format
* Easily customize the page title and page description with bulk updater
* Create customized error pages (i.e. 404) with relevant links and other info
* Harden against cross-site scripting attacks (XSS)
* Harden against malicious page requests
* Limit flooding attacks
* Protect input forms such as the contact page from spam (using Project Honey Pot)
* Control site access from suspicious domains (using IP address whitelisting and blacklisting)

We Support many third-party SEF plugins via the standard Joomla installer.
Components we support natively include: VirtueMart, K2, FlexiContent, Kunena, Jomsocial, Community Builder, mosetsTree and more.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2012-03-14
Reviews: 1
If we put the article on the front page or access it via the joomla! article name, it shows up fine. With sh404SEF turned on, the friendly URLs return a 404 error.
Owner's reply

Hi,
Not sure I really understand what you mean. Are you trying to acces a page byi its old, Joomla SEF url? Or only by using the article title? Have you set up either index.php or a htaccess file or equivalent?
I thinkn you have a basic web site setup, and you should use our tech support to get you fixed up.
Rgds

2012-03-14
Reviews: 2
Thanks for this extension and the good support - it is great for url rewrite and seo .
2012-03-13
Reviews: 2
A complete and good sef extension.
A quick support to solve problems.
2012-03-12
Reviews: 3
Sh404sef is a terrific component, easy to install and very useful. I had one problem that turned out to be a conflict with a plugin but the support was fast and efficient. Thanks Jimie
2012-03-12
Reviews: 1
I've being looking for a nice extension to have good url and this one is the best also the support is fast and nice. Many other extension should have this support.
I recommended this extension !!
2012-03-01
Reviews: 27
Very quick & responsive, love it! Makes me so glad I spent the money on this extension -- it's only one of two I've ever purchased, and it's been SUCH a life saver! Keep up the good work, guys :)
2012-02-25
Reviews: 3
I really like this component, but it destroys my facebook like buttons and the support of the team is really bad... so sad
Owner's reply

Hi

WIth respect to support, everyone may have a different experience, and I'm sorry yours was not good, but I still want to say that the team has a pretty good track record, as is visible in the previous reviews.
I have just searched the forum as far back as Nov. 2011 and could'nt find any trace of unsolved such issue. Please contact us back if it was not solved in the mean time.

That said, IF you enable sh404SEF social buttons (include Facebook buttons, Twitter, G+), they cannot work together with other extensions providing the same buttons. You have to enable either one or the others. OF course, using sh404SEF social buttons will have benefits, such as "like", "Tweet" and "share" analytics reports right in your site backend, as sh404SEF Facebook buttons are automatically connected to Analytics.

Rgds

2012-02-22
Reviews: 1
Such a nice extension for seo and meta controls and supports are really good.
thanks jimie.
2012-02-19
Reviews: 1
We use this with every joomla install it makes life so much easier and helps our SEO no end.
2012-02-16
Reviews: 1
Unless you are a developer, I would not recommend this product for purchase. There is next to no useful documentation and no training. I contacted the company on several occasions will to purchase training or phone/Web consulting. They don't offer that. That means your left with the tremendously inefficient process of posting every question you have to their support forum.

The trouble with this process is that you post something, wait for an answer, try it. If if it doesn't work, post a response, ad nauseum. This model for supporting a product is exceptionally inefficient for the user. The user will spend a lot of his/her time.

On several occasions, alias settings and other parameters I didn't understand caused problems with the display of our website.

If you're a programmer with a great handle on Joomla and all its moving parts, you'll probably have no problem with this extension.

If you're a marketing or communications person just trying to modify page titles, descriptions, etc. for the purpose of improve search engine optimization, you'll struggle with this application.

The good news...it's only $39.
Owner's reply

Hi

From your review, I can't understand why you're saying one need to be a programmer to use sh404SEF. sh404SEF is a Joomla! extension: you click on options and settings to make it work, programming is of course never required.
As for the settings and data entry, they are all SEO related, and almost zero relates to the way Joomla! operates.
You may have miss the online manual (/sh404sef/user-manual.html) and also the extensive tooltips next to each option, including Aliases.

It seems to me your biggest gripes has to do with us using a forum to handle support requests. I can understand you'd prefer sometimes talk directly to someone, but if you quickly browse through the last 10 or 20 reviews below, you'll find that the largest majority of users actually find a forum, and most importantly the way our team operate the forum, not only good but a major "selling" point for sh404SEF

Thanks and best regards
-

2012-02-01
Reviews: 2
Well, I guess what really makes the difference between a good and an excellent extension is the support. The support for SH404SEF is simply excellent, the support guy takes all the necessary time to understand your problem and fix it even if it means exchanging 20 messages on the support forum.
Congrats and keep up the good job!
2012-01-27
Reviews: 1
Had issue and emailed support and posted on support forum and with-in minutes had a response from both and solution to my self-made problem!
2012-01-27
Reviews: 1
I've been a user of sh404sef for some years and overall have found it to be a good product. For this reason I purchased subscriptions when the component went commercial. Recently more of my clients have had Virtuemart stores and whilst sh404sef allows you to fully manage the Virtuemart URL's and meta data, you cannot amend the page titles for Virtuemart without hacking the sh404sef core. Not only is there no instruction provided on how to make the changes (you are only advised which file to target) but forum topics on the issue are shut down and email requests to advise whether there are any plans to develop Virtuemart page title management (in the same way as Virtuemart URLs can be managed) are completely ignored. So while I think this is a good product, I find the developer's attitude/approach to this issue somewhat disappointing, and while I continue to hold a subscription I would jump to another product if the Virtuemart page titles could be managed.
Owner's reply

Hi

Sorry you're (at least partially) unhappy with the extension, but what you report here is simply totally untrue. You can absolutely and positively manage any and all Virtuemart sef urls, meta data AND page titles - the most important of all! Plus Open graph data and more. You can do this for Virtuemart just like for any extension on your site.

If you are in doubt, check out the 3rd screenshot from the left, just above, and you'll see the Page title edit field.

If on top of manually altering any title or metadata for Virtuemart, through sh404SEF backend, you want to programm your own plugin to do so with your own rules, you can develop such plugins following our extensive documentation to do so (/sh404sef/docs/how-do-i-write-a-sh404sef-plugin-for-my-component.html and /forum/developer/sh404sef/324-writing-a-sh404sef-plugin-the-basics.html).

Frankly, I have no idea what you are referring to here.

Rgds

2012-01-25
Reviews: 1
We bought this component for a large website with differen languages. there where a few problems in the site (nbothing to do with sh404sef) but Jimie from sh404sef helped us out with the problems. Really great support.

Again thank you for the help and support.

Gr.
Alex
2012-01-22
Reviews: 3
please update this product like ijoomla sco who save 80% time

but i prafer this one beace of price is vrey low
Owner's reply

Hi

Thanks for your comment and yes, ever since I switched from free of charge to commercial I have strived to maintain the lowest possible price for all.

As for automatically creating meta data (you're probably referring to meta description), that's not something we want to do. One thing is to save time and the other is to achieve good results. I have yet to see an automatic algorithm that can provide good description AFTERWARDS, and frankly, manually entering description is really the only choice to hope for better click through rate and such

Rgds

2012-01-11
Reviews: 1
Great extension for joomla seo and meta control. Thanks for excellent support @ Jimie
2012-01-07
Reviews: 1
I wasn't thrilled when this extension went commercial, but I stuck with it and I'm always pleased with the support I get on the forums. Sometimes sh404sef runs into issues (especially with other components) and I've always had my problems fixed very quickly. Jimie even helped me fix another component today!
2011-12-28
Reviews: 5
Must have! its difficult for me to do without this plugin. Certain buy for all Joomla sites.
2011-12-24
Reviews: 2
I've been using this software for a year and love it. Great SEO tool and analytic tracking. I just had a problem and their support found out I needed to update my menu. It was a great support experience and love the software!
2011-12-23
Reviews: 4
I use this component a long time now. For the latest version of joomla (1.7.3) I nedded some support. And I got excellent support. Fast and rally helpful. For Everybody who needs a perfect component to manage his site: I recommend it.
Page 6 of 13