The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


sh404SEF Popular ComponentPlugin

We created sh404SEF® for Joomla with SEO in mind. sh404sef helps you improve your search engine rankings and get more traffic to your website. Satisfy many of the Google recommendations for search engine optimization with just a few clicks.
sh404sef also includes many security features.

sh404SEF® id the most popular and longest developed Joomla seo extension. We are dedicated, full-time Joomla professionals who work each and every day to bring you the very best extensions and prompt support. Our staff have over 20 years of combined experience with Joomla (and Mambo) and we maintain some of the longest, continually developed Joomla add-ons available.


Features
* sh404SEF rewrites Joomla URL to user-friendly format (SEF URL or URL rewriting): mysite.com/index.php?option=com_content&Itemid=69&id=34
becomes
mysite.com/en/sh404SEF-and-url-rewriting/list-of-available-plugins.html

* NEW: Google Authorship support
* NEW: Twitter Cards support
* NEW: Google Analytics Universal support
* NEW: Google Tags manager support
* NEW: all output through JLayout, easily override in template
* full support for Google rel="prev" and rel="next" header tags, to improve SEO of paginated content
* built in caching database layer, speeds up sh404SEF. Backed by memcache, APC, etc
* Create and insert Open Graph data
quickly and easily add social media buttons to your entire site to allow sharing on Twitter, Facebook, Google+, Linkedin and Pinterest.
* Integrated Google Analytics including support for social sharing
* Automatically generate tiny URLs (shURLs) for your content
* Full urls and bulk meta data management
Multi-lingual support
* Easily redirect 404s to suggested SEF URLS
* Instantly add global support for canonical URLs (add rel="canonical" HTTP headers)
* Remove duplicate URLs, a common problem with Joomla websites
* Create human ear and search engine friendly (SEF) URLs
* Control URL re-write mode on a per-application basis
* Support for Google News URL format
* Easily customize the page title and page description with bulk updater
* Create customized error pages (i.e. 404) with relevant links and other info
* Harden against cross-site scripting attacks (XSS)
* Harden against malicious page requests
* Limit flooding attacks
* Protect input forms such as the contact page from spam (using Project Honey Pot)
* Control site access from suspicious domains (using IP address whitelisting and blacklisting)

We Support many third-party SEF plugins via the standard Joomla installer.
Components we support natively include: VirtueMart, K2, FlexiContent, Kunena, Jomsocial, Community Builder, mosetsTree and more.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2011-12-16
Reviews: 1
I have been using PHP web based content management systems for years (10 plus)! I rarely post anything about them as I normally find my own way and rarely need support. I have registered at extensions.joomla.org specifically to post this review!

I cannot praise sh404sef enough on their extension. Having just helped a colleague out that uses a different CMS system (not Joomla) I realise how lucky I am to have sh404sef to manage my website.

The additional overheads used by sh404sef to process URLs using PHP versus apache are minimal when I can point and click manage my URLs. It is stable, in active development and makes my life easier.

For anyone that uses Joomla and doesn't want to manually manage their URLs GET SH404SEF, your time will become your own again.

A big thanks to all the team @ sh404sef (Now Anything Digital).
2011-12-06
Reviews: 17
This extension is so incredible. It goes far beyond just sef urls. It corrects many of Joomla's core SEF URL problems, and adds elements of its own, like site security and analytics. (with more options than Google, like #logged in users, etc).

Plus, the forum is very active. If you care about taking care of your duplicate content issues, you have to try this extension.
2011-12-03
Reviews: 7
After having struggled with JoomACE for 1.5 years I finally gave up and decided to try sh404SEF. I am not a developer, just make a small website for my small business, no programming skills and no idea about anything slighty more complicated than the obvious joomla settings.

I am totally and pleasantly surprised by:
1. the easy of use (I originally selected JoomACE because I had read it was easier to use ... this is absolutely not true!)
2. the easy of installing (removed Joomace and installed sh404SEF and in 3 minutes I had the right settings to have exactly the same urls as I used to have).
3. the excellent information everywhere on the settings and on the website.
4. the forum with all questions answered and clearly answered (for example in Safari I could not manage to change the custom 404 error page and one quick search on the forum teaches in other browsers it should work and indeed ... no problems!)

I did not yet try the extra things like having google analytics integrated or switch to mobile template (will try these in the near future).

I do thoroughly enjoy the inbuilt '404 request manager' which lists all urls that ended up on a 404 error page. With one click you can redirect these to an existing url (through a concept called 'similar url' which is in 95% of my cases correct, making it really extremely easy to get all links working again or redirected to a page of your choice).

After all the difficulty with ACESEF, I am extremely happy to know SEF can be easy as well.

By the way also menu localisation (a Joomfish extension making it possible to hide certain menu items in one language only) works excellent (with ACESEF it does not because ACESEF makes you disable the JFRouter plugin and apparently menu localisation works only with the plugin enabled).

In short: Excellent! Bravo for the developers and the support team.
2011-11-30
Reviews: 7
We have a client that uses sh404 due to legacy reasons. Honestly, after each new version they release, we need to spend hours to see what it broke again.

Their latest version for whatever reason loads the Facebook SDK by default, which broke FB Connect, Like Buttons and Box. We spent 3 hours to realize what was breaking it all (as we were upgrading other extensions as well).

These guys need to seriously sit down and decide what they are doing - if it's SEO extension, keep it SEO, if it is for Social Media, release it separately and stop breaking other people's stuff.

I am sorry, but there are other extensions doing Social stuff, yours is breaking them by default. Most people don't need analytics and tons of other useless stuff that's in and slows down the site.

sh404sef is absolute nightmare for site administrators and developers and I highly recommend you to not start with it at all.
Owner's reply

Hi Styleware,

Sorry upgrading to current version "broke" FB connect, it is certainly worth commenting on that.

Let me first clarify one major point you raise: Yes, sh404SEF is totally an SEO extension. If you haven't yet realized that social networks interaction has become an integral part of SEO, I'm sure you will soon. Google and Bing have both published documents on this.
This is why social features have been integrated into sh404SEF, and more will come.
An integrated solution can provides unique features, like hooking up social interactions on your site with Analytics and provide a single SEO dashboard right inside your website backend. Without any hard work from the user.
BTW, Analytics is also an integral part of SEO, and each and every website needs it.

Now, of course, we won't force you to use our solutions, and that's why you can disable with a simple click each of those features.

Lastly, none of those features (Analytics, social icons, etc) will slow down you site, they are performed by Google, FB, Twitter, and actiavated by javascript loaded asynchronously, precisely to avoid any slow down of the page load

Rgds

2011-11-30
Reviews: 5
All worked perfectly until using multiple templates... after a couple of weeks of help they finally found the problem. conflict with jquery easy.

Now all works like a charm... tnx again for the help
2011-11-27
Reviews: 19
This is one of the short list of extensions that I install on all my Joomla sites!
2011-11-23
Reviews: 8
Brilliant. Just brilliant. I had tried other similar components. They worked well more or less, but there were always certain issues to tackle. I switched to SH404SEF and that all. No issues at all, integrates flawlessly with other addons. Support is great too.
2011-11-22
Reviews: 1
I've over 25 years of development experience and have just completed the build of a new Joomla+K2+Virtuemart site. Adding this extension at the end of the project was a dream. Our development system is running perfectly after installation and I was surprised by the level of features provided above and beyond SEO.

It works well, it seems fast and its very, very easy to use the admin backend to tweek its behaviour for your site.

There was an issue with the Ajax add-to-cart feature in Virtuemart which I fixed after ten minutes of searching in the support forum at Anything Digital. The changes required a few code changes, but were simply to do.

*** Note that, as the author warns, if you want to use the rewrite features of Apache to remove the display of 'index.php' in your URL's, you must ensure you have this working with standard Joomla first. Otherwise, the system still works well without Apache rewrites. ***

I think this extension is worth its price tag for the security feature alone.
2011-11-22
Reviews: 8
I use sef404 for Joomla 1.5
There was a small issue that was resolved quickly by the support (thanks to Jimie!)
And now: nice SEO function just as described.

Another good solution is the alias-management of the 404 requests.

Nice backend.

Is worth every Dollar!
2011-11-22
Reviews: 11
Have used Joomla for 5 years and this extension for 3 and must say it is great and does what it says.

I have tried others (on other sites I manage) for comparison and SH404SEF comes out in front.

Intuitive and easy to use!
2011-11-21
Reviews: 1
I had some trouble downloading the component (my fault, Spam box issue). I sent an email to their support desk and got an answer back within just a few hours. They were very helpful.

Also, it's a fantastic component, but that's already well known. I thought it also well worth sharing about the people behind it.
2011-11-17
Reviews: 3
HI
i love it and be sure this is the best!
just some issue with category blog !
every thing works perfect but menu with category blog doesn't shown! i active "Always append Itemid to SEF URL" in options and problem is gone! but i don't like to add id in urls, is there any way to solve this?
thanks again for this great extension
Owner's reply

Hi

Thanks for your positive reviews. Menus not showing is usually a Joomla Itemid issue. Rather than always appending Itemid, I suggest that you simply customize that particular url to your liking, so that the Itemid is the one you want

Thanks again

2011-11-11
Reviews: 1
My page ranking was raised and in first page of google after the installation of sh404sef because of SEO configuration and most important one is support and it is out of the box. I have used so many sef extensions
but no extension gives such support. I recommended to use this component even with out knowing any thing just read the manual and install it. Even baby can use sh404sef.
2011-11-10
Reviews: 1
I have upgraded my sh404SEF to latest version 2.3.0.988 on months back. Ofcause at the beginning of time, I discover some difficulty with the functional and problem, even some unknown error appear in my website, but their service just so experienced and excellent, now I love to this component sh404SEF so much, it help me with the new functional usage and it just so user friendly.
I would like to say Big Thank You to Jimie, thank you so much from you guidance, you have help ease my problem along this time.
Thank you Jimie.
2011-11-09
Reviews: 2
Love the short URLs, they clean up the site so nicely! Also like the integration of Google Analytics in the backend, easy to access and nicely laid out.

Pretty intuitive (even for a non-techy like me), the information pop-ups are very handy. Documentation file is a bit light, but lots of reference mateial on vendor's website.

A couple of hickups setting up the software (self-inflicted) but Forum support had me up and running within hours, so happy with response time.

Good product, good value.
2011-11-06
Reviews: 1
I don't know which or what issue the guy below asked sh404sef forum for support that he said "Excellent Support", maybe something simple that they can quickly fix. But try something that their support team cannot answer, they will stop communicating with you after few exchange in the forum. I am very much frustrated with this guys, they will not go out of their way to make their customer happy or help clients to fix issues. I don't usually post reviews but unfortunately I now have numbers of website with sh404sef installed.
Owner's reply

Hi

As you can see, and though support is free of charge, it's not only the "guy below" but all "guys" on this page that seems pretty happy with support.
A post can slip through, and as I don't have any information on your username on the forum, or what your problem was, I can only encourage you to get back to the forum and post again.

Rgds

2011-10-31
Reviews: 39
Sure that sh404SEF can be better and better ..., but excellent is not all for component than for Jimie and support forum. Good Component and excellent support.
2011-10-31
Reviews: 3
sh404sef is an extension than in principle is easy to install and gives a lot of options.

BUT:
Unfortunately, I´ve run into problems when it comes to multilingual sites in combination with Joomlart templates. With sh404sef things just don´t work right.

sh404sef is definitely a serious and good extension, but seems to work best (i.e. out of the box and without tweaking and adjustments) on monolingual sites.
Owner's reply

Hi archie_n

Thanks for your positive comments. I have spoken with jimie and understood what happened to you. There is no issue in sh404SEF with multilingual sites, actually we were probably the first to support this new feature in Joomla.
What happens in your case is that you created a multilingual site, but disabled additional languages and ran it as a mono-lingual site.
sh404SEF "pretends" that the language filter is always enabled, even if it is not in the Joomla plugin list. This is why some of your menu items disapeared, as they were not in the site default language. Just using "All" for these menus items language solves the issue.
In next release, I have added a setting to explicitely enable/disable multilingual support and avoid this sort of behavior, which is correct, but might not be expected.

Please note that we haven't anything linking this to the templates you are using.

Rgds

2011-10-30
Reviews: 3
I use it now on several websites - with few problems - everything works fine. Configuration was easy. But nevertheless sometimes I doubt if it is really necessary, as the build in component will be enough for a lot of users...
Owner's reply

Hi

Thanks for your positive review. Regaring your comparison with Joomla built in SEF, I have already answered that in details in a previous review response, so I don't think moderators would like me to put that same response again.

However, the short version is:
- SEF urls are only a small part of sh404SEF, think Analytics, shurls, security
- there has been no major improvement in Joomle on SEO since 1.0, aside from switching to table less output as standard output. Duplicate content is still the same, and URL length has increased, not decreased.
Though the native system is perfect, fast and efficient, if you want to go further in the competition for traffic, you have options to improve things, and sh404SEF is one of them.

Rgds

2011-10-26
Reviews: 2
Extension was easy to install and setup. Lots of good tools in this package to help manage your sites.

Also runs on Windows IIS.
Page 7 of 13