The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™



sh404SEF Popular ComponentPlugin

We created sh404SEF® for Joomla with SEO in mind. sh404sef helps you improve your search engine rankings and get more traffic to your website. Satisfy many of the Google recommendations for search engine optimization with just a few clicks.
sh404sef also includes many security features.

sh404SEF® id the most popular and longest developed Joomla seo extension. We are dedicated, full-time Joomla professionals who work each and every day to bring you the very best extensions and prompt support. Our staff have over 20 years of combined experience with Joomla (and Mambo) and we maintain some of the longest, continually developed Joomla add-ons available.


Features
* sh404SEF rewrites Joomla URL to user-friendly format (SEF URL or URL rewriting): mysite.com/index.php?option=com_content&Itemid=69&id=34
becomes
mysite.com/en/sh404SEF-and-url-rewriting/list-of-available-plugins.html

* NEW: Google Authorship support
* NEW: Twitter Cards support
* NEW: Google Analytics Universal support
* NEW: Google Tags manager support
* NEW: all output through JLayout, easily override in template
* full support for Google rel="prev" and rel="next" header tags, to improve SEO of paginated content
* built in caching database layer, speeds up sh404SEF. Backed by memcache, APC, etc
* Create and insert Open Graph data
quickly and easily add social media buttons to your entire site to allow sharing on Twitter, Facebook, Google+, Linkedin and Pinterest.
* Integrated Google Analytics including support for social sharing
* Automatically generate tiny URLs (shURLs) for your content
* Full urls and bulk meta data management
Multi-lingual support
* Easily redirect 404s to suggested SEF URLS
* Instantly add global support for canonical URLs (add rel="canonical" HTTP headers)
* Remove duplicate URLs, a common problem with Joomla websites
* Create human ear and search engine friendly (SEF) URLs
* Control URL re-write mode on a per-application basis
* Support for Google News URL format
* Easily customize the page title and page description with bulk updater
* Create customized error pages (i.e. 404) with relevant links and other info
* Harden against cross-site scripting attacks (XSS)
* Harden against malicious page requests
* Limit flooding attacks
* Protect input forms such as the contact page from spam (using Project Honey Pot)
* Control site access from suspicious domains (using IP address whitelisting and blacklisting)

We Support many third-party SEF plugins via the standard Joomla installer.
Components we support natively include: VirtueMart, K2, FlexiContent, Kunena, Jomsocial, Community Builder, mosetsTree and more.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2011-10-20
Reviews: 6
I've been using sh404sef for over 6 month now and it's safe to say that this module is potentially dangerous because it can cause your complete website to go offline because of parse errors. Only if you are familiar with the programm it's safe to use. When you need support it's there, but not to my satisfaction at all. The answers are brief and you can only ask things via the forum, where basically only one or two people are active in answering questions. I would not buy it again. Simply too complicated and dangerous.
Owner's reply

Hi

Thanks for your review. However, we are not aware of any such parsing error that you are talking about. I just searched the forum for parse or parsing again, and didn't find anything.
I also talked to the support staff, and again we didn't find anything like this. Please contact me directly if you have anything to back this up or can provide data.

As for how support works, I think many people find it quick and efficient, please see reviews below.

Rgds

2011-10-19
Reviews: 4
I have been using sh404 for 3 years now, I had my first problem today and has been solved in a couple hours.(was my mistake)
The two best things about sh404 is the fact you can redirect the 404 errors to the page you want and you can manage all your titles page in one interface.
This is 30€ happily spent !
2011-10-19
Reviews: 1
My session of the complete review expired so this is a short version.

Usage:

For my site to get nice urls.

Pro :

Easy to install (without htacces my grandmother could install it and with htaccess file my mother still could do it. )

If Support needed you get this within a couple of hours.

Url's fully manageble but still easy to do.

Cons:

Doesn't support every component so sometimes you need to skip that and that component won't give you nice urls on the site.

But I have to say even with unsupported components it almost works for 90%.
Owner's reply

Hi

Thanks for your kind review. Regarding your comment on how some Joomla! extensions may not be supported, for lack of a plugin, this is indeed something that can happen.
You still need to consider however that:
- the same is true with any SEF system, including Joomla own SEF
- sh404SEF is the SEF component that supports the largest number of extensions. There are a large number of "native" plugins, but most importantly, it can also use Joomla! SEF system plugins and also plugins from other SEF extensions.

So if a given component has a SEF plugin somewhere you can use it with sh404SEF. If not, then this particular extension cannot have SEF url at all, regardless of the solution you're using

Rgds

2011-10-19
Reviews: 8
Great extension for joomla seo and meta control. Thanks for excellent support.
2011-10-17
Reviews: 18
I had some problems with my database and some incorrect redirections. The team was very fast and could solve the problem.

5 stars for support and of course the component! :-)
2011-10-17
Reviews: 1
Installing the extension was not difficult and it worked well out of the box for the most part. Had 2 issued that were addressed by tech support. Feedback was immediate and the problem was resolved. Would recommend the extension to anyone!
2011-10-12
Reviews: 1
If a product works well that's great, but you need excellent support too for when there's an issue.

In this case the product works just fine and whenever I've had a problem, the support team really go the extra mile to help get it sorted out. This applies even when (as it turns out) the problem is caused by bugs in Joomla itself.
2011-10-10
Reviews: 1
I had problems with setting this up. The service was super, they helped in every way, many thanks
2011-10-06
Reviews: 1
thx!
2011-10-05
Reviews: 1
I had some difficulty at first but I now have sh404SEF working well on my site and I have found the support to be excelent.

Thanks
2011-10-04
Reviews: 5
sh404SEF is a complete solution for SEF urls and even SEO optimization, but it needs to improve 2 important features:

1. SEF DOMAIN PER LANGUAGE: If you want to use one domain URL per language, sh404SEF does not work with SEF domains. You will find in the language panel that you can set one domain per language (called "url per language"). But it only works if you include the code language after every domain.

2. NESTED CATEGORIES: I got 404 errors when include categories in the SEF url. This error only came when I set restricted the category to the last one or last two nested. In other cases it worked smoothly.
Owner's reply

Hi

Thanks for your review. Please see my comments:

1 - language per domain: when moving to Joomla 1.6/1.7, we accomodated the new language features that were added in Joomla with these new versions, but left the language per domain part out of it. The reason is that we're waiting for Joomfish to be available, and want to design a solution that accomodate both

2 - We don't have any report of such issue, and frankly, it is so basic and so big that it wouldn't go unoticed. I have just personally tested that this does not happen. I suggest you get back in touch with the support staff and try to find the real problem

Rgds

2011-10-02
Reviews: 15
I was hesitant about purchasing, not because of it's reviews, but because I've been burned on so many commercial extensions in the past. But it offered everything I needed, and excellent control of aliases... so I bit the bullet.

"WOW" is all I can say! I should have purchased sooner. This is BY FAR the best sef/seo component available for Joomla. It does everything! There are endless configuration options, excellent alias control, and phenomenal handling of 301's. It couldn't get any better!

Don't do like I id, and put it off due to it being commercial. The $39.00 price tag is WELL WORTH IT! Having sh404sef is not an option for any developer; It's a MUST! Trust me, get it. You need this extension!!

Excellent job guys. I'm VERY happy!!
2011-09-29
Reviews: 1
I have to say that not only is the product amazing but the customer service has to be shouted about.

I have never known a company to provide such incredible customer service. They go above and beyond the call of duty.

If you are looking for a great product to produce friendly url's and you are looking for a company that provides great customer service then this is the product and the company for you.

There has been a couple of times where i have been stuck and thought there is no way i can solve this but their customer service said let us deal with it.

I only wished that all joomla components and extensions were as good as this and that the companies behind them were as good as these.

This company could teach lots of companies about customer service.
2011-09-28
Reviews: 2
There was a problem with the 404 page, but i told the support and they fixed in in less than 20 minutes!

This is very powerful and flexible extention! I recommend it to all of you!
2011-09-21
Reviews: 2
Great support, would firmly recommend this extension. I have been using it for 2 years now.
2011-09-21
Reviews: 4
This is a great extension which gives you extra control over your SEF urls. I have used on sites with many links and also very basic sites with only a few links and it gave me the ability to control some SEF links which I couldn't do with the standard Joomla SEF. I've used it on 1.5, 1.6 and 1.7 sites.

The support is excellent and response time is quick.

I'd highly recommend it.
2011-09-05
Reviews: 1
For anyone that has clients that like to change the url after google has indexed it or it has external links, it is easy to manage url aliases to point to the new url. Plus for SEO you have complete control over the title and meta tags. A must have for how I work.
2011-09-05
Reviews: 1
the component is strong and offer some good functionnalities, but the support and the documentation are not so strong. it has been verry difficult for us to integrate it in our web site, and we really wonder if we should use it for the next version or if we should juste use the natif joomla SEF url......
2011-09-02
Reviews: 6
I bought SH404sef mainly because I'm unable to add h1 tags whatever file I manipulate it just doesn't work and god knows how important h1 tags are for good seo.
So it works great but it really depends on your template. But don't worry cause jimie is providing great support at the forum.

It may also get into conflict with other components (like it did with Jcrawler for me), but then again jimie is here to help.

So I gave this component a 5 star because it has great possibilities, works well and there's always someone to help, which is certainly the most valuable thing nowadays.
2011-08-23
Reviews: 3
It took a while to get my head around the complexities of this, but it was well worth the time invested and the (minimal) cost of the extension.
I've had a couple of issues, one I sorted myself and the other was sorted within 10 minutes of posting on the support forum.
That's the kind of service I like. Keep up the good work.
Page 8 of 13