The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

sh404SEF Popular ComponentPlugin

We created sh404SEF® for Joomla with SEO in mind. sh404sef helps you improve your search engine rankings and get more traffic to your website. Satisfy many of the Google recommendations for search engine optimization with just a few clicks.
sh404sef also includes many security features.

sh404SEF® id the most popular and longest developed Joomla seo extension. We are dedicated, full-time Joomla professionals who work each and every day to bring you the very best extensions and prompt support. Our staff have over 20 years of combined experience with Joomla (and Mambo) and we maintain some of the longest, continually developed Joomla add-ons available.

* sh404SEF rewrites Joomla URL to user-friendly format (SEF URL or URL rewriting):

* NEW: Google Authorship support
* NEW: Twitter Cards support
* NEW: Google Analytics Universal support
* NEW: Google Tags manager support
* NEW: all output through JLayout, easily override in template
* full support for Google rel="prev" and rel="next" header tags, to improve SEO of paginated content
* built in caching database layer, speeds up sh404SEF. Backed by memcache, APC, etc
* Create and insert Open Graph data
quickly and easily add social media buttons to your entire site to allow sharing on Twitter, Facebook, Google+, Linkedin and Pinterest.
* Integrated Google Analytics including support for social sharing
* Automatically generate tiny URLs (shURLs) for your content
* Full urls and bulk meta data management
Multi-lingual support
* Easily redirect 404s to suggested SEF URLS
* Instantly add global support for canonical URLs (add rel="canonical" HTTP headers)
* Remove duplicate URLs, a common problem with Joomla websites
* Create human ear and search engine friendly (SEF) URLs
* Control URL re-write mode on a per-application basis
* Support for Google News URL format
* Easily customize the page title and page description with bulk updater
* Create customized error pages (i.e. 404) with relevant links and other info
* Harden against cross-site scripting attacks (XSS)
* Harden against malicious page requests
* Limit flooding attacks
* Protect input forms such as the contact page from spam (using Project Honey Pot)
* Control site access from suspicious domains (using IP address whitelisting and blacklisting)

We Support many third-party SEF plugins via the standard Joomla installer.
Components we support natively include: VirtueMart, K2, FlexiContent, Kunena, Jomsocial, Community Builder, mosetsTree and more.

Report Extension




Reviews: 2
There was a problem with the 404 page, but i told the support and they fixed in in less than 20 minutes!

This is very powerful and flexible extention! I recommend it to all of you!
Reviews: 4
Great support, would firmly recommend this extension. I have been using it for 2 years now.
Reviews: 4
This is a great extension which gives you extra control over your SEF urls. I have used on sites with many links and also very basic sites with only a few links and it gave me the ability to control some SEF links which I couldn't do with the standard Joomla SEF. I've used it on 1.5, 1.6 and 1.7 sites.

The support is excellent and response time is quick.

I'd highly recommend it.
Reviews: 1
For anyone that has clients that like to change the url after google has indexed it or it has external links, it is easy to manage url aliases to point to the new url. Plus for SEO you have complete control over the title and meta tags. A must have for how I work.
Reviews: 1
the component is strong and offer some good functionnalities, but the support and the documentation are not so strong. it has been verry difficult for us to integrate it in our web site, and we really wonder if we should use it for the next version or if we should juste use the natif joomla SEF url......
Reviews: 6
I bought SH404sef mainly because I'm unable to add h1 tags whatever file I manipulate it just doesn't work and god knows how important h1 tags are for good seo.
So it works great but it really depends on your template. But don't worry cause jimie is providing great support at the forum.

It may also get into conflict with other components (like it did with Jcrawler for me), but then again jimie is here to help.

So I gave this component a 5 star because it has great possibilities, works well and there's always someone to help, which is certainly the most valuable thing nowadays.
Reviews: 3
It took a while to get my head around the complexities of this, but it was well worth the time invested and the (minimal) cost of the extension.
I've had a couple of issues, one I sorted myself and the other was sorted within 10 minutes of posting on the support forum.
That's the kind of service I like. Keep up the good work.
Reviews: 1
I'm using it without problems on a site with more than 8000 links. It works very well with K2. The support is very very fast
Reviews: 2
The Best URL changer and 404 redirect tool by far! it changes the urls and gives relevant results to incorrectly typed url's, what more could you want!
Reviews: 3
The importance and greatness of this product is well documented. What I didn't realize was that their customer support was fantastic. They have knowledgeable and friendly moderators in their forums that get right on your submission quickly and assist until its marked resolved. With so many help desks in other time zone and days may pass before a solution is resolved, these guys fixed my problem before the day was over!
Reviews: 2
Many thanks to the developers of this great extension, even there forum-support is fast and easy to understand.
Regards, Jan
Reviews: 20
This extention is good but we can not use it with several extensions like Mighty resources.That is not a bug simply, it doesn't work and no plugin exist too bad thank you
Owner's reply

Sorry Mighty resource does not provide a plugin for sh404SEF. Many extensions, though of course not all, do.

However, one thing is for sure: if you cannot have SEF urls with Mighty resource and sh404SEF, you cannot have SEF urls at all, either with Joomla SEF or any other extension.

That's because sh404SEF can directly use plugins for Joomla SEF (router.php files), Acesef and Joomsef.


Reviews: 1
A great plugin that I wanted to use for many year, finally had a chance! It worth more than its cost and support is awesome!
Thank you for your efforts, mate:)
Reviews: 2
While I agree on the developer's emphasis on sh404 being more of SEO rather than SEF, It is logical to note that SEF result in SEO, that is, without SEF URLs a website cannot be SEO optimized.

Although, there are many manual configurations that could be set to optimize individual web pages in sh404, unfortunately, the extension is unable to handle this primary task of SEF URLs effectively. While standard joomla content get translated easily, the extension falters and is inconsistent on popular platforms such as jomsocial and docman in J1.6/1.7. Two of the main extensions that made me purchase sh404.

As noted by earlier reviewers', Joomla has come a long way in SEF/SEO optimization since the humble beginnings of mambo and joomla 1.0. Perhaps, if you are still using LTS J1.5, then you may need sh404, but for websites on J1.6/1.7 this may cause more trouble to you than good. Among others, purged and deleted URLs could resurface when you never expected, raising questions on the database integrity. Today, many new extensions/components contain their own optimized SEF URLS that are short and concise and by far superior to what sh404s algorithm offers.

As and when jomsocial and perhaps docman, with 2.0 coming up updates their own SEF algorithms, sh404 could be redundant.

On support, it is fair at the forums and nothing beyond that. They are quick to blame you as the cause of the under-performing extension and are sometimes clueless on what may be going on, making you wonder if they understand the framework of their own extension themselves.
Owner's reply


Frankly, I'm not sure I understand what you're saying. You seem to agree with me on SEF urls being only a smaller part of SEO, but you continue by only talking about SEF urls?

On this topic of SEF urls, then you say sh404SEF is not "consistent" for Docman and JomSocial sef urls? I don't know what that means, especially for Jomsocial, for which sh404SEF has a built-in plugin, extremely "consistent".
We don't have any issue pending for our JomSocial plugin ATM.

Likewise, I'm not sure what evolution between J! 1.5 and J! 1.6/1.7 you are referring to. There has been no evolution at all in that area (routing), and the routing mechanism is one of the few that was not touched going from 1.5 to 1.6/1.7 of Joomla!
Every comment made on Joomla URLs, or more exactly on Joomla routing, is applicable to 1.5, 1.6 and 1.7

The one question you provide more details about: "purged and deleted URLs could resurface when you never expected, raising questions on the database integrity." is easier to answer however: purged url will ALWAYS resurface. That's because sh404SEF does not create urls. It only translates them to a more readable form. It is your Joomla site that creates urls, and then asks sh404sef to translate it. If you purge urls, then next time Joomla wants to display that same url, it will again ask sh404SEF to translate it to a SEF form, and the SEF url will be back. Sh404SEF has no influence on what links and urls are displayed on your site, it only respond to requests from Joomla! itself.

I think you may want to ask those questions on the forum again, and maybe give us a chance to look at your site specifically to provide more detailed answers.


Reviews: 14
Very good Component. For me its the best too! Work really good, without any type of problem! I have learned easy to make a plugins for my others components that's I use in my site. Note: Before I have finded the component without buy it (for try it), and then, it have surprised so much, that I have buyed it too. (FOR RISPECT OF PROGRAMMER'S STAFF). I'm a correct person! Ciao!
Reviews: 8
5 stars for one extension with very, very complex code, and difficult to develop. Support at forum is also usually OK.

But, have to say...i decided not to use any third party SEF extension anymore.

It would be Joomla SEF all the way now. With Joomla 1.7 even better.

Now when Google give advice not to use SEF URL´s, and that dynamic URl´s are OK for theirs spiders, there is no point in using third party SEF. Also not any need for Joomla SEF.

I have been slave to third party SEF extensions for long time.

Regarding just sh404SEF. You can become irritated with fact that sh404SEF try to much, almost as James Bond.
- Google Analytics in Admin ?
- Div´s replacing tables !!??
- Honeypot and firewall functions !!??
- Template switcher ?

What´s next ? Gallery ?

Come on. Stick to the SEF.
Owner's reply


An interesting review! Let me first say I thank you for your 5 stars and the usage of the word "Best". As you might guess, I am of a different opinion when it comes to your following comments however.
Let's start by the end: "Stick to SEF". No. Because sh404SEF is not a SEF component, and has not been a SEF component since I took over in 2006. It is a SEO and security extension. And even security is really more a SEO thing as well.

It seems you have missed the logical pattern in all the features you listed. They all aim at improving one thing: ranking.

1 - SEF urls: I have no idea where you got the strange idea Google advice not to use SEF urls. Quite the contrary. Not only do they say it, but they have written it, on their blogs and in their Beginners SEO optimization guide for instance. Spider's ability to handle dynamic URL has never been a reason to use SEF urls, not since 2005 or so anyway. SEF urls are only about ranking a little bit better than your competition.
2 - Analytics: how do you want to optimize your site content without measuring results? Analytics goes hand in hand with SEO, it is a pre-requisite for any kind of SEO work, and my goal in putting it in to your Joomla's site backend is to raise awareness and facilitate this job
3 - Div replacing table. I suggest you Google for table-less layout and the SEO benefit fo using lightweight markup in your page's html. Please note that from version 1.6 on, Joomla! has switched to table-less html, and so this feature has been removed from sh404SEF for Joomla 1.6+
4 - Honeypot and firewall: SEO is (mostly) about quality content. Preventing crappy content to get on your site (Hoenypot), or preventing your site to be totally banned from Google search results because you have some malware in it looks like a very important thing to do in terms of SEO!
5 - Template switcher: we're now living in a mobile world. You must adjust your content to your users, and search engines have already started to take this into account, that's why I try help in this transition

Going back to the basics, SEF urls, I would also like to comment that if you go away from a SEF extension, you'll have to cope with the two biggest issues in Joomla urls:
a - duplicate content: urls are mostly based on menu items, and this will very often generates multiple urls to same content, thus "splitting" authority between links, instead of concentrating it. The menu-based architecture has some great benefits in terms of ease of use for the final users, and I'm not advocating dropping it, but it does have some issues
b - urls length: especially now that Joomla 1.6 has nested categories, we start seeing very lengthy urls, where the article title is at the end, where it loose any effect.

Hope I have addressed some of your concerns. Two sources of information on the matter I found interesting are the Google webmaster central blog, and the site, in particular their ranking factors pages.

Best regards

Reviews: 2
Hi everyone, excellent component for joomla website SEO optimisation and for creating user friendly urls. I use this component for about 3 months and I am happy with excellent support for this component.
Reviews: 8
I'm the developer of another extension and I asked support for integration with sh404sef.
Even if my extension is far less important, they supported me more than I expected.
After installation, sh404sef seems to be a complete and well written software.
I strongly recommend it to everybody interested in SEO.
Reviews: 12
I'm a site builder and I use this extension on all of my sites.
Reviews: 1
Great extension works very well! Support is good and updates of the component on regular basis!
Page 9 of 13