The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

JoomSEF Popular ComponentPlugin

Editor's Note
SEO component to make your Joomla! URLs SEF (search engine friendly) and easily human understandable with metadata generation capabilities. Supports URL translations at multilingual sites using JoomFish/Falang. Online upgrades and extension instalation. Custom 404 Page Not Found, duplicate URLs management.

Main features:
* generate SEF URLs
* advanced SEF URL management
* generate and manage metadata (component - based)
* can override default metadada generated by component or Joomla (title, meta tags)
* keywords management
* duplicates management
* 3rd level domain support
* support for other components through extension modules; each component extenstion has own configurable parameters
* multilinguality support (JoomFish) and URL localization
* UTF-8 URLs support
* URL caching
* URL source tracing to help allocate problematic code
* 301 Redirections management
* 404 Page Not Found customization
* online upgrades and extension installations

Support for many Joomla components: AdsManager, AlphaContent, Contacts XTD, Community Builder, Datso Gallery, DocMan, EZ Realty, Fireboard forum, Glossary, iJoomla Components, JE Comparison Charts, JEvents, Jomres, Joomlaboard, JoomFish, Joomla Tags, Jomres (Joomla Residents), Portfol, Seyret Video Component, SMF Bridge, SOBI2, Marketplace, Mosets Hot Property, Mosets Tree, ReMOSitory, RSGallery2, VirtueMart, Zoom Media Gallery. ...
at the moment, there is more than 100 extensions available directly from ARTIO - see for complete list, plus many more from 3rd party developers.

Report Extension




Reviews: 2
Thanks for the component and support. At the beginning it seemed a good product but now is not more for me. The plugin did not work correctly Jomsocial (paid), docman, hwdVideoShare (paid), perhaps you addess I have not felt. And that I could support. Then I updated Artio and the major component (OSE membership) of my site stopped working. I wrote to the forum but no answer to that.
Owner's reply


I am sorry to hear that our support was not able to help you. However, maybe it was just a communication problem, as it is quite difficult to understand even your post here. Anyway I am sure, that if you can describe the problem in sufficient level of detail, we will be able to fix the problems you have.

Reviews: 2
I used a previous version of this a few years back. Now, with the current version, it is much more robust and has even more functionality.

Before you get too frustrated with 404 errors, visit the documentation on their website. Copy and paste their entire .htaccess example file into your own and place it in your root directory (tweak it if you need to) and your 404 errors may go away. Now our visitors (real or bot) can crawl the website and see more realistic URLs in their browsers.
Reviews: 1
I think that remains one of best composing as regards the rewriting URLS. But several points to be improved.

For the paying version of the product, least of the things and to provide a multilingual component whereas of other do it without problem. Being French I was obliged to return has sh404SEF because simpler used.

The handbook concerning all the functionalities is limiting non-existent except making a research push well on the forum of support. I think that a person who buys the component has the right to have a complete guide for the use of the component. Without to have to spend the hours and the hours to be sought on the forum of support.

The same thing for the extensions to buy. Who misses multilingual support, of documentation, etc

In short, the true lack of this component that I took time to look length into broad is its documentation, without lack of language other than English, and the little of tutorials.

With regard to the component itself, it is informed my one of best in its category, and it would be still better with all than I mentioned above.

The 3 stars are due to the multilingual lack of support, documentation, and tutorial for the people not having obligatorily necessary knowledge to configure with good this component.
Owner's reply


thanks for your comment.

We are aware of what you say and we are working hard on improving that - the completly new updated documentation is being written and we also supporting more languages then just the english.

The tutorials are also planned and should come a bit later. We hope the new docs will be maximally complete and clear.

Reviews: 1
I recently downloaded the free version of the product and paid for 2 extentions which where all very easy to install and purchase. I find that although I am very new to all this I can get the basics working.

However I will point out that the documentation for this product is quite bad for someone who does not know the detailed inner workings of joomla, I am not saying the company has failed in proviing support - they have an installation guide, faqs and s support forum which seems to address installation and any issues very well.

But there is one thing it needs beyond all else to make it a 5 star product (which it is) and that is a user manual, a step by step guide on what to do to get everything working and what every buttom does (example: what does the "update URL's" button do on the control panel - there is nothing mentioned about this button anywhere! i can guess but I would really like to know). They have included blue information buttons next to each thing but they are not usefull at all, they dont mention what they do and how to utilise this products great features.
So please please please make a good user guide for this product and then it will be perfect.

P.S. I will be buying the full version of this product becuase a well believe it is worth th money
Reviews: 1
This component puts an annoying spam message on all your pages and makes it a hour long trip to remove it. I would recommend everybody just move on as you will only waste time installing this component.
Owner's reply


the information about signature being added is clearly stated both here on JED and the product homepage.

There is no need to spent hours removing it. If you do not want to support our effort by having the link, you can get the paid version which does not include it. I think the price is more than reasonable.

If you want to remove the link yourself, you are free to do so, but I do not see a reason why you rated us as you did just because of what is generally known.

Reviews: 1
Fantastic product! Thanks for providing a trial. Once I tested it out to see if it works (really easy) I bought it straight away. Very happy. Easy to customise the SER urls. So good!
Reviews: 5
Took me about 20 minutes to install (download the installation pdf and follow it and you can't go wrong).
Brilliant - can't fault this one :)
Reviews: 3
I'm using Artio JoomSEF since the version for Joomla 1.0.x and I must say, that is the most complete SEF component for Joomla. And I have tried them all. I used also Sh404SEF, but since the development went to a stall last year (I don't know how's the situation right now, since development of the component started again), I switched to the paid version of JoomSEF and never regreted this decision.
I also use the virtuemart extension and the combination just rocks - the automatic internal links feature introduced in v 3.6 just rocks. Keep up the good work.
Reviews: 1
I wasn't going to give this a bad review, I just personally didn't like it. But when I went to Install/Uninstall/Components and it wasn't listed to uninstall, that's when I had enough and figured I would warn others of this possibility.
Owner's reply

that is not really JoomSEF feature. It uninstalls completely incl. all files, as any other regularily written Joomla component. (otherwise it would not be even listed here)

Either you did not notice it, you manipulated your DB after the installation so its record was lost or had problems with permissions on installation.

Reviews: 1
This is definitely the best solution for me :)
After trying so many different things to make my website URLs search engine friendly, this was the only thing that really fixed the problem. It was very easy to configure, and it works wonders!
Thank you so much.
Reviews: 3
8 moths ago I purchased a similar component to ARTIO Joomsef (I can´t say which one or this review will get errased) and I was very disapointed because I could not get it to work and the customer service was terrible. I felt I was going around in circles, it made me waste some money and a lot of time.

With ARTIO Joomsef I´m over my head because I finally feel that I can start to fine tune my SEF and SEO work free of nuisances. I purchased their installment service and it has been money well spent. The customer service was quick, supportive and extremely helpful. They went out of their way to fix messy parts of my site. The component is user friendly and it does what it says in the box. Power to ARTIO team, and to you customer, honestly, don´t look any further, this is the one!!!
Reviews: 15
Component works well does what it says and is really easy to configure.
Nothing bad there.

The component adds a link to the developer page in each single page of your website... this is fair enough for a free component.
You can pay to remove that.

Here comes the big surprise, when I saw that I actually had to pay so that other components such as jevents or phocagallery are turned SEF.

Is even better when you have to pay each 6 months a quantity for 3rd party applications to stay SEF, a quantity btw higher that the cost of a website hostage for 1 year.

And all this for joomla a GNU program.

Is obvious that this component learned something from its competitor in joomla, and you should draw the line between commercial purpose and dignity. Same for this website supporting named "free extesions".

You should earn money for your work, you have many ways to do that with publicity donations etc, but having to pay each 6 months for every single application you support is not worth it.
Owner's reply


please, let me give at least short explanation.
Please understand, that supporting more than 100 3rd party components to make SEF URLs for them is not too big fun. Especially in case when the code of these components is developing all the time so you need to update the extensions from time to time. It takes a LOT of time and also resources. That is why we ask payment for some of the extensions and why the free updates are available for a limited period of time only.

In case you do not upgrade the other components, you can stay with the current version and do not need to upgrade or pay anything extra.

Additionally, our philosophy is that we charge mostly for components, that are meant to serve for commercial purposes or are commercial themselves, such as e-bussines, paid directories, real estate sales, etc. For free components, we try to keep free extensions also.

Reviews: 1
Installation went well. After activating SEF in global settings, site only generates 404 after modifying .htaccess internal server error 500 come up. Whatever setting I try it does not work like it should. Beautyful URL's are made and interface looks great, but in the end it's not usefull. btw same story with sh404SEF. Both do not function out of the box, there is to much to know about server settings and al sort of hobby things for nerds.
Owner's reply

sorry to hear that and sorry to say this, but I think that having wrong server configuration and being not able to fix it is not reason of giving bad review.

It is not just for nerds, both of the problems you describe are well explained in FAQs, including solutions. Did you read it at all?!

About 500 Internal server error:

About 404 Page not found:

Reviews: 2
I have tried several SEF including Commercial but this one is very easy to use and it does what I really want in my address bar. You must have this in your Joomla Website. Thank you for this component.
Reviews: 1
I tried some Joomla SEO tools, and I think that JoomSEF is a good one, but it can be improved for:

- Cross-linking
- Headers and attribut ALT

Yours faithfully,
Reviews: 2
I,ve just installed ARTIO JoomSEF, after repetedly trying to get the SEF working on my site!

What a blast, about 3 min. of work!!!

An more, I have a third party extension installed, and it was supported by ARTIO but costed a bit of money. This installed extension was showing up at my site really f**ked up!!
This made me really mad, but as I looked at ARTIO I learned that I could turn the SEF off for this extension!! WOW, this turne my madness into hapiness again!!
I really recomend ARTIO JomSEF!!!
And I will by the support for my extension!!!

Cant say to many times, This extension is a must!!
Reviews: 3
Been using JoomSEF for well over a year now, and am very pleased to how it works. I have had a few problems during my time using it, but each issue have been solved by asking in their support forum, and it has been solved in a timely fashion. The friendly forum and email support have is the no 1 reason for my decision to renew my subscription.

The only grievance I've had is that it has reverted back to free edition (once), but that was due to a bug in their new upgrade system, which was resolved within a day (got updates via email about the progress). It is definitely a must have for me and my site, even the J! default compatibility is so good that it works brilliantly with JFusion (even though JoomSEF is not officially supported by JFusion).

It is a bit annoying that there are many paid plugins, but the support I have gotten from the ones I have purchased made it worth the few bucks I had to cough up.

But installing it should not be done lightly. Be prepared to read through the instructions, check out the FAQ etc, as it is very easy to take a wrong turn, and end up with tons of 404 pages. In most cases, these are easily solved, and the most common ones are covered in the FAQ. It should not be taken lightly, it is easy to mess up!
Reviews: 4
this component is simple to install and configure! but still have a problem; did not find where to add the article date to the url; maybe because i'm tired; but if the author can help me, i will really appreciate it
Reviews: 1
This extension was easy to install and works great. Highly recommend.
Reviews: 4
I spent much time trying to configure SEF friendly URLs, and this component turned out to be the most intuitive. It automatically configured my .htaccess folder, and the documentation is quite thorough.
Page 4 of 11