The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

JoomSEF Popular ComponentPlugin

Editor's Note
SEO component to make your Joomla! URLs SEF (search engine friendly) and easily human understandable with metadata generation capabilities. Supports URL translations at multilingual sites using JoomFish/Falang. Online upgrades and extension instalation. Custom 404 Page Not Found, duplicate URLs management.

Main features:
* generate SEF URLs
* advanced SEF URL management
* generate and manage metadata (component - based)
* can override default metadada generated by component or Joomla (title, meta tags)
* keywords management
* duplicates management
* 3rd level domain support
* support for other components through extension modules; each component extenstion has own configurable parameters
* multilinguality support (JoomFish) and URL localization
* UTF-8 URLs support
* URL caching
* URL source tracing to help allocate problematic code
* 301 Redirections management
* 404 Page Not Found customization
* online upgrades and extension installations

Support for many Joomla components: AdsManager, AlphaContent, Contacts XTD, Community Builder, Datso Gallery, DocMan, EZ Realty, Fireboard forum, Glossary, iJoomla Components, JE Comparison Charts, JEvents, Jomres, Joomlaboard, JoomFish, Joomla Tags, Jomres (Joomla Residents), Portfol, Seyret Video Component, SMF Bridge, SOBI2, Marketplace, Mosets Hot Property, Mosets Tree, ReMOSitory, RSGallery2, VirtueMart, Zoom Media Gallery. ...
at the moment, there is more than 100 extensions available directly from ARTIO - see for complete list, plus many more from 3rd party developers.

Report Extension




Reviews: 1
I've tried several versions all brought me to a complete site restoration from backup. Everytime u file an issue on their "Support board" You get an automated answer "We'll fix it in next release". Like that has ever been done...
Owner's reply

Ehm, an automated answer? I really do not think so, how did you get this idea?

And that it is buggy? I cannot claim it is 100% bugless, no software is. We are still improving it. However I am not aware of any serious bugs. Maybe it was just configuration problem?

Anyway, saying something is buggy without saying how/why or giving any other argumentation is meaningless as equals just throwing a dirt on somebody. For sure that does not help other users to maky any relevant opinion neither it helps us to possibly improve something.

We appreciate any feedback, both negative and possitive as it helps us make the product better, but I have to note that feedback as yours is completely useless.

Reviews: 3
Mark "C"... It is simple to work with it and it makes its work, BUT:

* many plugins for it are paid
* many free plugins are... hm... bad...

I thank authors a lot for their work, but I still prefer sh404SEF.

But! For simple sites without forums, directories but with lots of articles and pages this plugin is MUST-HAVE!
Reviews: 10
This is about the only non-commercial SEF component that works properly. I've tried AceSEF but had issues(will mention in AceSEF review).

I don't know why people are complaining about spam links. Just about every open software has a courtesy link back to the author's site. Personally I didn't like the way it was situated.

I found where the link code was and modified it, however, I didn't remove it. The only changes I made was:

1.) Link to Artio site is centered instead of left-aligned.

2.) Link to Artio site now opens in a new window(_blank) when clicked.

As for people claiming their site is broken. If you manually set a URL to (especially if a custom URL) and then you uninstall whatever SEF component you are using then that link will no longer exist. Or, if in articles and so forth are linking to the SEF URL and uninstall the SEF component then same as before, links no long exist.
Reviews: 1
without any doubt, this is the best sef i ever use.
Reviews: 2
I recently needed a solution for custom urls for our site, and artio joomsef proved to be a good solution.

We had some problems with some linking, but after posting on their support forums, it got answered immediately. Worth paying the cost imo.
Reviews: 1
ARTIO JoomSEF is a really good programme and very useful. It also does help with improving SEO. A couple suggestions however.
Artio does not like/irreparably alters my website when I uninstall. If you are wanting to try this program beware that you may not be able to remove it. (NB. This may just be I am doing something wrong. however when I uninstalled I got nothing but 404 errors...)
2nd Whilst I completely agree that if you like something you should pay for it. The link hopefully advertises to potential new software buyers. Is it possible that the advert be less intrusive??? Perhaps at the footer? Most people are commenting that it appears to be 'plastered' and having used it there is only one link on every page though this is a very visible link that may intrude on a website.

Very good module. And definitely worth paying for which would alleviate all of the negative concerns so far commented on.
Reviews: 4
This has been a great extension. The free version has been used on several sites without issue.
Reviews: 1
Well, all I can say is that it solved my problem straight away. I needed to implement Custom Properties by SolidState for a site I maintain. There were issues with SEF. I tried the other popular tool but to no avail.

I had my problem solved in less than 1/2 hour

NICE Product!!! Paid subscription btw
Reviews: 1
its true what others are saying this ARTIO JoomSEF will stuff up your site

i did full install with all plugins i needed and it broke things in the site like other here say it does

you cannot register with comprofiler

links to their site all over the place

it would lower your SEO rating
Owner's reply

This is simply not true. Of course there might be conflicts with other components, but if configured correctly, it will work just fine.
If you read documentation carefully, you should have no problems.
As regards links, I have already replied many times - if you mind them, get a paid version.

Reviews: 4
I am a newbie and was a little bit scared, reading the reviews from some people that has problems. I made a backup first and installed it according the documentation and that's it! Everything worked out fine at my first attempt(2 minutes).

Thanks a lot,

Reviews: 2
Does all that it says it will and does it quite well.
Reviews: 1
I bought ArtioSEF 3 months ago and I was unable to make it work. It does creates the links but there is a 404 error when you want to go to any page other than the home page (whic is ok). I tried to connect Artio Support but they didn't reply. I asked them to help me or I will dispute the charges but they still didn't care so I gave up. Then, a few days ago I again tried to copy and paste the .httaccess file as mentioned in their forum to fix the problem and it again didn't work. I emailed them again and no answer after 3 days. DO not buy their product. They sell you a software that doesn't work promissing you that the support is included and then they won't provide any support and you have to pay another 40 Euro to buy support and then again god knows if they will fix you problem or not.
Owner's reply


we might have not replied, if you have not even read the basic FAQs, which list most of the possible causes of 404 error:

We do our best to answer as much questions of our users as we can. But we cannot repeat the same answers all the time - we would not be doing anything else - that is why FAQ exist. So, just take time to read it!

Reviews: 3
Component is great, but inserting spam links to almost every page is just too much, very disapointed.
Owner's reply

Hi, if you do not link that, so why do not you get licensed version that does not include those? (btw. I do not know why you call it a spam link, it is a regular back link same as in many other Joomla component)

Even on these pages you can see in footer, that this directory is powered by "Mosets Tree".

If want to you use the result of our work for free, I think there is no reason to mind pointing a link to us.

Reviews: 1
Granted they have a nice organized website and seem to be thourough and it appears a lot of work went into this module but these developers are corrupt - they place (invisible) ads that are inserted into component which is placed into footer and site meta! If I am to pay for something I own it. It is like buying a pair of jeans - I am not buying that pair of jeans to let you wear them - they are mine to wear. So when I bought this module it becomes mine and you do not advertise off of my sites!

You would be much better off just using the Joomla backend SEF option. Plus it does not work with JomSocial. They want an additional € 8.50 dollars for the plugin. I am requesting my money back. When you develop you should learn to support. Most of these developers these days are children without any business sense - al thye care about is money. REFUND!!!
Owner's reply

Not sure what you are talking about???

There are 2 editions
1. free that contains backreference to ARTIO as authors; this fact is clearly stated EVERYWHERE on our site -- also it is mention here
2. paid (sponsored) that does not contain these links or any other information such as metada or similar

If you have purchased paid version and installed it, there is no way where you could have any meta or links added in your page.
Second, the are NOT INVISIBLE.
So what you say is simply a LIE.

As regards your opinion about comparing software and jeans, I guess you have a long way to go as regards learning about author rights and software licenses. So, no comment on that.

Btw. if you have problems, you can can always talk to us directly, instead of throwing dirt here.

Reviews: 2
This component works well but the only problematic thing is the (invisible)ads that are inserted by component into footer and site meta!

Invisible links may affect your Search Engine rankings and it is better to use some other component for this.

Also, meta ad insertion is disappointing and it's like having a MS Word file that has "Created With MS Word" after every page!

Very poor and sneaky tactic by developer!
Owner's reply

The provided informaiton is simply NOT TRUE.
1. there are no HIDDEN links
2. there are links only in FREE edition
3. all this information is clearly stated both in ARTIO webpages + the Joomla Extensions Directory

Reviews: 8
This is one of the few items I regret having payed for, both due to problems I had with it and also due to the poor level of support.

JoomSEF doesn't work properly with Community Builder and Kunena (to name a few popular components). The CB login & CB register modules do not work unless you skip CB in JoomSEF.

I also had to skip Kunena since my site's members couldn't post any messages.

I emailed the company 6 times during the last 2 weeks asking for their help. At the beginning they asked me to describe my problems. I did that. After that they remained silent despite the numerous emails I sent them.

Panos Efstathiadis
Owner's reply

Dear Panos,

I regret you have this experience, but we are e.g. using Kuneno on our own site - with the same plugin - and our users do not have any problems in sending posts.
So just make sure you are using the latest versions of everything.
As regards support, we do as much as we can, but our capacities are limited (usualy because of users that do not read FAQs and ask the same things over and over).

Reviews: 1
Cool component that works as it says it does. As a newcomer to Joomla support is very important. I had some teething troubles with installation however the support service form Artio got me up and running very fast.
Reviews: 2
I downloaded this component and bought the plugin for my Sobi2 directory component. The goal was to have a business directory with SEF URLs. I did not desire or need the rest of my site to be SEF. I ran into difficulty trying to configure it but to be fair, this component has a lot going on. It's easy to not do it right if you are uninitiated. I emailed the creator and he asked me to pay for one hour of support. I am sure I took up more than an hour of his time but he stuck with me until the component was working. Any difficulty that I had was my own lack of knowlege. Now installed right, it works as advertised and I'm thrilled at the job it does.
Reviews: 2
I have been working with Joomla for a little over a year and I use the commercial version of Joom SEF 3.3.0. If you want total control over your urls this is a must have component. There is a free version for you to try (no support)and it is not encoded.:)

The product works great. However, before you run off and install it make sure your Joomla native SEF is working as it should. Also, learn how the component works to avoid the fustration that self inflicted mistakes cause. If you have an issue with it believe me its probably you.

I would give this component 9.5 out of 10. Actually make it 10 out of 10.
Reviews: 1
We are web development company and we have chosen JoomSEF over the standard Joomla! SEF because it can be customized and there is already alot of extensions that support it. On a small site we have found that JoomSEF does the job really well, but when you have multiple pages, the loading time is slower. We didn't have much trouble with it as other users reported, but it's fair to say that we don't use many extensions (we try to keep a minimum). The only reason we rate this Good instead of Excellent is because it still needs work, it has areas that could easily be improved (such as database optimization and duplicate link generating).
Page 5 of 11