The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JoomSEF Popular ComponentPlugin

Editor's Note
SEO component to make your Joomla! URLs SEF (search engine friendly) and easily human understandable with metadata generation capabilities. Supports URL translations at multilingual sites using JoomFish/Falang. Online upgrades and extension instalation. Custom 404 Page Not Found, duplicate URLs management.

Main features:
* generate SEF URLs
* advanced SEF URL management
* generate and manage metadata (component - based)
* can override default metadada generated by component or Joomla (title, meta tags)
* keywords management
* duplicates management
* 3rd level domain support
* support for other components through extension modules; each component extenstion has own configurable parameters
* multilinguality support (JoomFish) and URL localization
* UTF-8 URLs support
* URL caching
* URL source tracing to help allocate problematic code
* 301 Redirections management
* 404 Page Not Found customization
* online upgrades and extension installations

Support for many Joomla components: AdsManager, AlphaContent, Contacts XTD, Community Builder, Datso Gallery, DocMan, EZ Realty, Fireboard forum, Glossary, iJoomla Components, JE Comparison Charts, JEvents, Jomres, Joomlaboard, JoomFish, Joomla Tags, Jomres (Joomla Residents), Portfol, Seyret Video Component, SMF Bridge, SOBI2, Marketplace, Mosets Hot Property, Mosets Tree, ReMOSitory, RSGallery2, VirtueMart, Zoom Media Gallery. ...
at the moment, there is more than 100 extensions available directly from ARTIO - see http://www.artio.net/en/joomsef/artio-joomsef-extensions for complete list, plus many more from 3rd party developers.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2007-03-09
Reviews: 1
There are some issues - performance is the main one. I think it's overkill to always record hits for each of the urls (useful in the first instance when debugging a site, then a waste of resources).

I was finding big problems with searches - looked like it was in some kind of loop when going against com_search. But - there's no option in the config to disable it. So, I patched

components/com_sef/joomsef.php - line 492 or thereabouts, to read:
case (in_array($option, $sefConfig->skip) || $option=="com_search")

This will then explicitly skip com_search...

A bit of a quick n' dirty hack - but maybe a better one will find its way into the component?

Andrew
2007-03-03
Reviews: 1
I am using it on a couple of small sites (nothing large like where most of the complaints are coming from)and it works like a charm.

joomla 1.0.12
joomsef 1.4
2007-03-03
Reviews: 7
I used this on a Joomfish enabled site with three languages. It does a beautiful job of cleaning up those *nasty* joomla links and creating beautifully formed ones. I'm not sure about other people with problems with tons of links, but I haven't had any problems at all. Everyone worked like a charm.

I love all the settings related to Joomfish. Very nicely done.

It took maybe a 1/2 hour of setup time (probably the most time trying to figure out the .htaccess file because I just blazed through without carefully reading the directions in hopes of a 5 minute setup).
2007-03-01
Reviews: 2
I found that this Joomsef component, by itself, generates 25 queries per page on my personal website.
In comparison the OpenSef component generates 3 queries.
That's a huge difference, and Joomsef doesn't have nearly as many options as the amazing openSef does.
Conclusion: JoomSEF is required if you're using JoomFish but otherwise, you might be best served to steer clear.
2007-02-28
Reviews: 1
Congratulation for this masterpiece. I tried every SEF component, even the commercial ones and this is the only which let you work Joomfish and SEF in 5 minutes. All other things also work perfectly.

5+
2007-02-24
Reviews: 6
What a great thing - finally my Joomla website works like it should - static URLS babeeee! My SEO ranking shot up after I started using it, and it enabled me to do some great stuff with my site and Adwords that had been lacking.
2007-01-31
Reviews: 2
I couldn't make it work so wanted to share my experience
First you need to make Joomla core SEF work.
Just follow instructions
Then I renamed my .htaccess to .htacess.bak and Joomsef created it's own htacess. And suddnly it all works.
Thanks a lot for such handy tool
2007-01-04
Reviews: 1
Worked well for a while, but then broke down throwing SQL errors around it. Updated it to latest, which then completely changed the layout of my content links, even though using identical config. Maybe I missed something, but it is still not easy to use this component. I tried going to the code, but it is hard to follow, especially with many comments in another language than English.

Why can't anyone make a SEF component that is easy to configure and just works?
2006-12-31
Reviews: 1
Artio JoomSEF extends the core Joomla SEF component adding several key features:

* Ability to customise URLs (eg search.html)
* Better (nicer) URLs as default (no /com/foo,task,blah/here/)
* Custom redirects
* 404 Tracking
* Custom meta tags

Excellent component. Quick/easy installation. Anyone using SEF should give this baby a go.
2006-12-30
Reviews: 3
Took me a while to install this because of the dreaded .htaccess file, but that was due to my lack of knowledge. Eventually I worked out that if I backed up my current .htaccess file and deleted it off my server, JoomSEF will actually create a new one and configure it automatically on install, so that's how I got it working. It's a very functional program and does everything necessary like dealing with 404 error files and of course it's main purpose of creating a search engine friendly link. The only thing they could really add to this program is meta tag generation, to save me having to install the a seperate program, nevertheless a very good program
2006-12-23
Reviews: 4
A must have for every Joomla! based website if you care to properly be indexed by search engines. TWO THUMBS WAAAAAAAAY UP!
2006-12-21
Reviews: 1
I noticed this in my source code

JoomSEF SEO by Artio, sponsored by Prague Hotels.


Are you trying to get ALL the sites that use this banned by the se's
PLEASE remove this at once

and shame on you..

The software is great.. but this is BAD
Owner's reply

This is regular link to the authors of the software you are using (and possibly its sponsors). It is the same as Joomla! self does, as well as other authors of open-source. You are free to remove this if you want and there is also a version free of this available in our webstore. Finally, you are informed about this in documentation and on installing the component.

2006-12-18
Reviews: 2
absolutely killed my performance on my site. Had a few quirky things it did with URL's - never could sort them out.
Wouldn't recommend for a content heavy site.
Owner's reply

When using JoomSEF for content heavy site a special care need to be taken about its configuration as otherwise it can really become a problem. If you are not sure about how to configure, contact authors.

But at least 2 things to remember: Joomla! caching does a lot + switch off SEF for dynamic non-supported elements that generate too many links such as calendars and similar.

2006-12-09
Reviews: 1
This extension works great, the only option I would like to see is the ability to have index.php go to the root. You can't lead with "/" so you the root will show as www.domain.com/index.php or www.domain.com/home
2006-12-09
Reviews: 2
Hi all

this component is great, however when it comes to anchors there is a problem, I have a link to an anchor "#top" at www.mysite.com/article1.html , when you hover over the link you expect that it will get : www.mysite.com/article1.html#top , but no, it will get www.mysite.com/#top , this is fixed by going to this file : mambots/content/mossef.php and edit the "else if" starting at line 79 to be :

else if ( strpos( $matches[1], '#' ) === 0 ) {
// special handling for anchor only links
$url = $_SERVER['REQUEST_URI'];
$url_1 = $url; ///// my fix
$url = explode( '?option', $url );

if (is_array($url) && isset($url[1])) {
$link = 'index.php?option'. $url[1] . $matches[1];
} else {
$link = $matches[1];
}
// convert url to SEF link
$link = sefRelToAbs( $link );
$link = sefRelToAbs( $url_1 ).$link; //// my fix
// reconstruct html output
$replace = 'href="'. $link .'"';

return $replace;
}
2006-12-05
Reviews: 1
This component is great , it installed easy and works superb....but like always with great things, this one also has one flaw in it..
All my templates i use have a "top of page"-button at the bottom of the page, after installing JoomSEF this button now returns to "home" instead of top.. still figuring it out..
2006-11-12
Reviews: 2
I installed this extension and liked the results.

Unfortunately, I noticed a decrease in speed on the site. "Not to worry" I thought, it's not to bad.

As this a new site and still under development, I was adding more features. The site gradually ground to a halt.

I contacted my ISP who told me that the MYSQL queries this extension was generating was using 80% of the server processing power. Not only did it crash my site, it brought down the server and the other 450 sites hosted there. In the end, I had to remove the component and find an alternative solution.

They also told me they had this problem before with another site using 404sef
Owner's reply

When using JoomSEF for content heavy site a special care need to be taken about its configuration as otherwise it can really become a problem. If you are not sure about how to configure, contact authors.

But at least 2 things to remember: Joomla! caching does a lot + switch off SEF for dynamic non-supported elements that generate too many links such as calendars and similar.

2006-11-08
Reviews: 2
This does exactly what it says it does right out of the box! All you have to do is change your HTAccess file as per the instructions (uncomment a few lines of code that let's third party SEF components work with Joomla!) and you're away.

However, it also allows for further customisation, so URLs can be EXACTLY what you want them to be for each page, improving not only your site's exposure to search engines but also making things much more friendly for your visitors. Also helps to hide the fact that you are using Joomla! which you might want to do for security reasons.
2006-11-08
Reviews: 1
Finally after 6 months of searching this component is working fine.I tryed lot of free and paied sef plugins/coms but all used to give some ot other peobe this is only 1 which is working fine.
2006-11-04
Reviews: 1
To get correct 404 headers when using this component, you have to create a static content with title '404'.

I'm not sure if this is documented somewhere, but I found the answer in the code. After creating this static content, the error page is nicely "wrapped" inside joomla and with responce-headers 404.
Whit out this static page you get 200 OK response in header.
Page 9 of 11