The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


ByeByeGenerator Plugin

Anyone can change the generator tag - This is the only generator extension that can remove the generator tag entirely - even from your RSS and ATOM feeds!

This simple plugin allows the site administrator to customize the generator tag or remove it entirely. As of version 1.7 - also removes the generator tags from RSS and Atom feeds!

2.5+ users - you don't really need this plugin unless you're not comfortable editing your template index file. To do it in the template and save some system resources - just add this and Joomla will do the rest:
JFactory::getDocument->setGenerator(''); For newsfeeds - this plugin is still required!

If you're one of the many who think the generator tag is the last Joomla reference you need to remove, I'd like to direct you to my Clean Response plugin.

On request of rasterblaster, now optionally removes the robots tag too.

If you use Joomla Caching, be sure to place ByeByeGenerator before the "System - Cache" plugin in plugin ordering. This will ensure that cached pages also have the generator removed. The same thing goes for using the Jbetolo extension.

Version 1.10 resolves a PHP Strict Standards error - nothing serious.
Version 1.11 - added translations and prepared Joomla 3.x compatibility

4/26/2012 - Joomla 1.5/1.6/1.7 availability and support withdrawn.

All of my extensions are free and none of my extensions display advertisements or links to my sites or services. If you feel that I have blessed you, then you can bless me by making a contribution to fund future development. Visit the "Website" link to make a contribution.

Report Extension

 

 

2012-04-10
Reviews: 11
Simple and easy.. this should be core
2012-04-04
Reviews: 5
Works nice :)easy to install and configure.
2012-02-23
Reviews: 6
Very easy to install and use. Just few clicks instead of lot of time to manually remove generator tag.
2012-02-21
Reviews: 5
Simple, download, install, enable and you are done.
2012-02-03
Reviews: 4
We don't have to edit the template anymore!

Thank you for this plugin.
2012-01-21
Reviews: 1
Works perfect, took a whole 2 min to upload install and configure. Thanks

Joomla 1.7
2011-12-15
Reviews: 40
I have been using this extension since it was first published. Download, install, enable - that's it. It just WORKS!!! Many thanks to the developer.
2011-10-18
Reviews: 7
Very simple extension and much easier than the core file editing.Thank you!
Owner's reply

That's exactly why I wrote this extension. Editing core files is bad!

2011-08-03
Reviews: 33
The best plugins are the ones you install, enable, and are good to go. Thanks so much, now I don't have to remove that line manually anymore!! :)
2011-07-28
Reviews: 2
Does exactly what it says! Simple to install! Though I do not see any options to optionally remove robots tag or to replace the generator with anything else as implied in the description.

Thank you!
Owner's reply

Those extra settings are found when editing the plugin configuration. By default, the plugin removes the generator tag. By modifying the settings, you can do the other things listed in the description.

Send me a message if you need some help.

2011-04-02
Reviews: 41
Simple - install, publish and go. I've no idea what the user 'Dens' is talking about - I don't think they understood what this plugin was meant to do! Thanks for a simple but very effective plugin.
2011-02-08
Reviews: 16
Quick install and bullet-proof with no performance hit. It's a simple tool and very nice. Recommended. If you need to change that metatag, this is for you!
2011-02-08
Reviews: 1
Super easy to install and does exactly what is says it does. Thanks
2010-11-28
Reviews: 2
Good on Mate. Simple functional comp to eliminate annoying issue. Thank you.
2010-06-03
Reviews: 3
Simple in scope, this plugin works well!
2010-05-25
Reviews: 4
works perfectly to get rid of that annoying generator tag
2010-05-16
Reviews: 3
Thank you man, plugin work great :-))
2010-05-15
Reviews: 6
Great plugin, does what it says on the tin.

Suggestion - possible feature to add is the ability to remove other meta tags to strip out un-needed stuff to speed up the site and get more love from Google.
(for example, is not really needed.. so if we can enter "robots" as a parameter, it will kill that tag?

Fantastic, thanks for creating this. :o)
Owner's reply

Robots huh...

I'll upload version 1.1 in an hour or so, with a robots removal option.

Page 2 of 2