The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


SEOSimple Plugin

This Joomla (1.5/1.6/1.7/2.5/3) plugin simply takes the starting chunk of text from the page’s content and applies that as the value for the meta description tag in the page’s head. Search engines often use a Web page’s meta description in the SERPs, and as such it is important that these meta descriptions have relevant text related to the page’s content.

NOTE: This plugin generates the meta data "on the fly" when the page is loaded, it does not save the meta data to the content's meta data fields seen in the Joomla editor. These fields can then be used to override the auto-generated meta description generated by this plugin. To see the plugin at work, you must view your page's source in your browser.

** SEOSimple 2.0 Features **

** Ability to customize how the front page meta description is handled. You can choose between having it auto generated based on the front page's content, or using the default Joomla site-wide meta description.
** HTML page title configuration. Set your page titles in three different ways:
1. [CONTENT TITLE] | [SITE NAME]
2. [SITE NAME] | [CONTENT TITLE]
3. [CONTENT TITLE] (Joomla 1.5 default)
You can also customize what the separator is (in this ex. it's a pipe |, but can be any character).

** Additionally, you can customize the front page of your site's title tag in a number of different ways (or not at all). Layouts include:

[Disable - Use Joomla Default]
[Custom Title] | [Site Title]
[Site Title] | [Custom Title]
[Custom Title]
[Site Title]
[Site Title] | [Default Title] *NEW*
[Default Title] | [Site Title] *NEW*
[Custom Title] | [Default Title] *NEW*
[Default Title] | [Custom Title] *NEW*

** *NEW in 2.0* We have added the ability to set your category pages to "noindex, follow" -- a common meta robots setting for such pages to avoid duplicate content penalties.

All feedback is greatly appreciated and will go towards making future versions even better. Enjoy!

Report Extension

 

 

2009-08-01
Reviews: 2
Thanks for this very good plugin. It is very useful for my web sites.
2009-08-01
Reviews: 1
I've been looking for this exact type of program. It works great and is easy to install and setup. The only issue I find is that when going into the Kunena forums or CB profile page, it does not provide metadata for that. Maybe this isn't possible but if it is would be great to see in a future version.

Excellent work! Keep it up!
2009-06-24
Reviews: 3
When some sAnd this is what happend with this amazing plugin. Hightly recommended
2009-03-10
Reviews: 3
Yes this plugin is simple and works perfectly. Recommended for any joomla site. Thanks to the developer.
2009-02-26
Reviews: 1
My company provides internet marketing, search engine optimization (SEO), web design services. We use and recommend this tool for all our clients. This is simply a great tool. We are using it on our website as well: www.WEBGURU-CO.COM.
2008-12-26
Reviews: 1
This is the best SEO plugin I have tested. But I encounted the same problem as AmitT. I've got Joomla 1.5.8, tested in traditional and simplified chinese. It is strange that just some charactors are wrongly coded in meta description. Not all of them.

I will adopt it as soon as this problem is resolved.

Thanks.
2008-12-14
Reviews: 1
this plug-in looks nice. but, I have tested it on my site and work for english only. for other languages it make the description in Gibberish.
Owner's reply

Hi Amit, make sure your page is set to UTF-8. I've tested the plugin with Chinese, Arabic, Hindi, Thai, Hungarian, Cyrillic and Hebrew and it seemed to work fine. (See - http://www.daobydesign.com/language-test.html) If you're still having problems, post in the support forum and I'll see what I can do.

2008-11-24
Reviews: 2
This is the best tool for META description and titel, Joomla was driving me crazy and now I found this tool and everything works perfect.
2008-11-23
Reviews: 4
This puts a real shot in the arm for Joomla 1.5! Its something that should be in the base code. Highly recommended.

/Ian
2008-11-16
Reviews: 1
i used this tool but suddenly i stopped to see my site to be 1st ranked on it's unique title because of the unicode thing , it gave me اور للاخبار in stead of my real arabic title for my site .

but it is Good for English sites.
2008-10-13
Reviews: 2
Works exactly as advertised straight out of the box and easy to set up. Thanks.
2008-08-07
Reviews: 5
This is one of 6 extensions that I always install on any joomla website!

Keeps SEO Simple and Effective!
2008-08-05
Reviews: 3
This extension fills in the gap in meta handling of such pages as category and section where Joomla setup doesn't allow you to enter any description.

It does have a single problem with UTF handling when it comes to Cyrillic characters, to wit it produces U+FFFD instead of the capital P.
2008-07-20
Reviews: 3
Does exactly what it says it will do, uncomplicated and easy to use! Great extension!
2008-06-03
Reviews: 2
I have been installing and testing SEOSimple today, and it is easy to install and configure. Furthermore, it does its job!

The author of this extension is absolutely right when he tell us to "write a keyword-rich summary in the first paragraph of the article". There I have pretty much more work to do to get my web site more SEO friendly!
2008-05-19
Reviews: 6
j/k

But seriously this is a great extension. Easy to install, easy to setup. Very flexible: you can use global description, 1.5 article description, or SEOSimple automatic description and combine that with either global keywords or article specific keywords.

Great job! Thanks!
2008-05-16
Reviews: 37
I will gladly let the module author's have credit off our site for delivering a product that enhances the core! Phenomenal addition to our not-for-profit site!
2008-02-10
Reviews: 1
It does what it says...works cool.
Page 3 of 3