The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


ReDJ ComponentPlugin

ReDJ allows to manage URL redirection (useful for creating URL aliases, and managing redirection from old to new URLs). No more error 404 (page not found). Managing associations from old to new URLs, all links to old pages will be redirected to new ones. Create an URL alias by now is so simple, just create new item and add both alias and real destination URL. Enjoy!

Please, to make the most of all the features of ReDJ you should take a look at the online documentation!!!

News for version 1.7.5:
- Added macros {urlencode} and {urldecode};
- Improved function sanitizeURL for UTF-8 support when multibyte library is missing;
- Fixed and issue with exceptions management (call_user_func and variable passed by reference);
- Added a redirect URL for each error URL;
- Added a clean function for errors which saves errors with a redirect attached (unlike the purge function);
- Fixed and issue with {username} and {userid} macros;
- Added macros {urldecode}, {rawurldecode}, {urlencode} and {rawurlencode};
- Added macro {str_replace};
- Removed a wrong check on document type inside onAfterInitialise.

News for version 1.7.4:
- Changed the interface to support new filters and ordering (only for J3);
- Fixed an issue related to changes of JUri behavior (only for J3);
- Fixed an issue of compatibility of plugin with PHP 5.2;
- Fixed an issue with rule search filter;
- Fixed an issue with errors search filter, pages 404 and referers (only for J3);
- Fixed an issue on the custom error page (when the option is enabled but page is not selected);
- Improved macro {routeurl} for the unwanted variables removal;
- Improved function to manage redirect of all errors;
- Improved interface to manage errors and referers;
- Added new URL macros {queryappend}, {querybuildappend}, and {querydropappend};
- Added new site macros {username}, {userid};
- Added new string macros {lowercase}, {uppercase};
- Added rule condition to skip redirect;
- Added button to reset statistics (hits and last visit);
- Fixed an issue in the package related to plugin uninstall;

News for version 1.7.2:
- Improved trim text function;
- Improved queryfull macro;
- Added "shortcut extensions" option to plugin;
- Created installation package;
- First release for Joomla 3.0.

News for version 1.7.1:
- Fixed issue with custom error page.

News for version 1.7.0:
- Added support for placeholders and comments for redirection rules;
- Added support for new macros for redirection rules.

News for version 1.6.0:
- Completely rewritten for the new version of Joomla! 1.6 and 1.7;
- The redirection rules can work on the entire URL, including protocol and domain;
- It can be specified for each redirect rule whether or not to first decode the URL.

Report Extension

 

 

2010-02-15
Reviews: 3
Although there seems to exist no documentation it's forum is excellent!
There could exist some important functionalities such like redirecting all pages to 301 redirect instead of 404.
But it does what it says.
Thanks again.
2010-01-31
Reviews: 3
Hey,

THIS WORKS. I only suggest that you include the specific .htaccess lines into the component descriptor so that a developer can access them quickly, and also include a few more example redirects- all this information I found in the forum- but was crucial for me to utlize. I am guessing you'd save a lot of newbies necks out there if its a lot more accessible.
2010-01-28
Reviews: 2
I highly recommend this product. Due to changes on my site, I had a number of internal dead links, dead links coming from outside referring sites and bad links in search engines, after installing Redj, I saw my bounce rate drop by 25% and it is still improving.

The developer also has the patience of Job. He proved extremely helpful as I worked through my goofs.
2010-01-17
Reviews: 8
Just wanted to comment that I think this is the best way to deal with any google crawl errors you may be having.

As well, for those interested, It took me a few minutes to figure out that when inserting the error url as an REDJ "item" (I was putting the full URL of the error url, and the redirection url and it simply was not working for me) - I needed to put (error url) /old/url/here.html instead of www.mysite.com/old/url/here.html and then the redirected URL as the full url - www.mysite.com/old/url/here.html - After that, this component worked like a charm

At any rate, my thanks to the developer for such a handy extension, I am well on my way to fixing my google errors at this point thanks to this.
2010-01-12
Reviews: 1
One word 'Perfect'. Just the job.

Many thanks to the developers here.
2010-01-10
Reviews: 2
It's time that I'm looking for this kind of extension, before using Joomla I used a different CMS and I'm having some referer that point to some of the old link giving me now a 404 page. Now with this extension I've converted all this 404 pages to the corresponding page in Joomla and my 404 (from google webmstare check) are going down every day.

Thanks to the author of this excellent component!!!
2009-12-16
Reviews: 2
I tried all of the URL Redirection components and plugins and yours is the only one to work!

Thank you for making such a great component available to us!
2009-12-14
Reviews: 8
I was not used to having to install two components and then did not know where to find the readme but it really only took a couple minutes poking around to find out I had to enable the plug-in and could then go about creating url redirects. It worked instantly like it was supposed to.
2009-12-10
Reviews: 6
This is definitely must have for any site. I had approximately 15 404 errors in Google Webmaster and ReDJ fixed all withing two weeks. Super easy to install, it works and it's free!

Great job! Thank you!!!
2009-12-02
Reviews: 1
Did exactly what I needed and was easy to use.

Site had links/pages that needed to be unpublished but those pages ranked high in Google Searches.
Didn't want 404 errors.
Installed and redirected those pages to the Home page and all was well again.
The dynamic macros are nice as well.

Nice job!
2009-11-29
Reviews: 2
Great work. must have tools for any joomla site.
2009-10-26
Reviews: 2
Great component but I wish that it would allow authors to enter a URL for redirection during article creation. the reason for this is that I use a news thumbnails module that I would like to link the articles in it to a different section of the site when people click on them. I can do that with ReDJ but my authors cant because they don't have admin rights.
2009-10-13
Reviews: 1
This is so great! Exactly what i needed for my migration of my old page to jommla for at least 32 adresses.

Very nice work! 5 Stars!

Suggestions:
- quicker insertion of items, maybe with staying in the form?
- real great would be a spider to detect all links of an existing page.. but this maybe too much :)
- if no spider, at least a link importer would be nice!
2009-10-08
Reviews: 1
Great extension! does exactly what it states! I had revamped my web site and some page titles were changed (including a main link). This gem of an extension quickly sorted it out.
Manky thanks to the author.
2009-10-03
Reviews: 1
In my old plain-html site I had a folder "/free/files" with downloadable zip files. Now under Joomla I want to put the same files in folder /files. I created an item that redirects free/files to /files, and that works fine.

However, what I really need is to redirect all file requests from /free/files/a.zip to /files/a.zip - and this does not work with the redirect above. Do I have to create an item for each individual file?

(Also, placing the "ErrorDocument 404" directive in .htaccess does nothing (still getting the same 404 pages from Joomla), but that has probably nothing to do with your extension.)
Owner's reply

In the current release "FromURL" can be dinamic using regular expressions, but "ToURL" is always static, so you are right. In the next release I'm planning to introduce a macro (like {siteurl}) or something like this that enable to redirect to a dinamic destination. I hope in future I can deserve the missing star. Enjoy.

smg
2009-10-02
Reviews: 11
It works perfectly. It took me a little while because I didn't see I needed to edit .htaccess.
What a life saver!
2009-08-27
Reviews: 3
I'm sooo tired of dealing with this issue. I dread seeing the 404 erros in Google's Webmaster tools.... Just two words: THANK YOU!
2009-08-17
Reviews: 3
Was looking for simple way of redirecting URLs from one customers site to other external sites. Tested many components and this is simply the easiest, cleanest, best manageable tool to do exactly that! Highly, highly recommend it if you need to set-up easily redirect from your internal URL such as http://mysite/linkpage/ to http://redirectedsite/landingpage. Works a treat and simple but powerful management back-end.

One little tip - you can use /partofURL* to ensure that anyone going entering matching that wildcard "*" such as /partofURLpage1 or /partofURLpage2 etc can be redirected on mass to a new landing page.

Would be useful to those who want to redirect whole sections of their old site to new landing page. Couple of ideas like redirection of old shop links, blog pages etc.
2009-08-17
Reviews: 1
If, as in my case, you are looking for a quick way to redirect old (pre-Joomla) URLs that were all «flat» (i. e., http://www.whatever.com/nameofpage.html) and now you are applying SEF and menu structure to get something like http://www.whatever.com/hierarchy/whatever/nameofpage.html), prepare to be disappointed.

ReDJ recognizes «/nameofpage.html» but applies it to all pages with that ending, and you end up with a redirection loop.
Could be solved if http://{siteurl}/whatever.html was also good for «From URL».
Owner's reply

I'm sorry you didn't try to contact me on support forum before this review. ReDJ works with regular expressions, so it can easely do what you want and much, much more. In your case, simply configure from url as "^/nameofpage.html$" and redirection will be applied only to this page "http://www.whatever.com/nameofpage.html". The initial hypen means "start with", and solve your issue... ;)

2009-07-05
Reviews: 6
I was failing to get a redirect working in htaccess and thought I'd give this a shot - it actaully took me a little work to sort through - but now really doign teh job

To redirect one article page to another url

put the from address as:
/?option=com_content&view=article&id=7*
this covers all instances of the article ( I think! - change 7 to your article number.....)

to address I used:
http://mysite.com/component/andlongurl
(but just put entire url I think)

HTH
Page 5 of 6