The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Simple RSS Feed Reader Module

Adding RSS/Atom syndicated content inside your Joomla! website is now super-easy and simple with the 'Simple RSS Feed Reader' module from JoomlaWorks. All you have to do is add a few feeds to the module parameters, publish the module in some position and that's it!
You can even publish multiple feeds at the same time (meaning in the same module instance) and have them display combined!

The 'Simple RSS Feed Reader' module is based on the same feed parsing engine that powers JoomlaReader.com, the most popular Joomla! news aggregator in the Joomla! Community.

The feeds are stored inside your Joomla! site's cache folder and refreshed in a specific time interval, which you set in the module's parameters. This feed cache is different to Joomla!'s cache, as you may need to have your site refreshed every 5 minutes, but have the feeds the module retrieves stored longer than 5 minutes.


--- NOTABLE FEATURES ---
- one input box for feeds enables you to add unlimited feeds per module instance
- combine multiple feeds into one output list
- show or hide the first image inside each feed content
- extract and resize remote images for more layout control - we use Sencha's world class image resizing service for fast loading times and without stressing your server
- additional content options include pre-text, post-text and a custom link option at the bottom of the feeds block
- MVC templating is now standard, module comes pre-packed with 2 generic templates that will fit most sites - they also serve as a great starting point if you want to create your own
- One input box for feeds enables you to add unlimited sources to your module (previously limited to 20 feeds only per module instance).


--- GETTING STARTED ---
After you install the module, add one or more feed sources in the related box under "Fetch Options" and simply adjust the "Feed Content Options" in the module parameters. Then publish into some module position.


--- STYLING ---
The module installs with 2 generic templates (default and compact), which should be sufficient for most websites. If you want more control, you can simply override both the generated HTML and CSS, using MVC template overrides within your Joomla! template. Or you can create new folders with new module templates inside your template's /html/mod_jw_srfr/ folder and just select the new ones in the module's parameters.

The compact template is inspired by http://joomlareader.com


--- DEMO ---
Demo for "default" sub-template: http://demo.joomlaworks.net (right column)


--- NOTE ON JOOMLA! 1.5 ---
If you're on Joomla! 1.5, you can still get v2.3 of the module in our site's product/download page of the module.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2010-10-11
Reviews: 12
I'd give this 5 stars but it's basly programmed. If you use ANY other module that uses simplepie, your site will break. I got a tip from the gCalendar guys and patched this plugin to look for simple pie and only load it if needed, but then it has to be AFTER the other simplepie modules...need to put it first and you're out of luck. I'm having to look elsewhere.
Owner's reply

It's easy to fix that for the next version. Thanks for the input.

2010-09-28
Reviews: 3
love the new version! Works perfectly in all reguards, loads easy. Sadly it wont work if you are using GCal because of the simplepie conflict. Hopefully that gets resolved quickly.
2010-07-27
Reviews: 15
This is a great module for Joomla. It is easy to configure and easy to deploy onto a website. The only concern I have is that it should be able to have a commenting system on it. After each article there should be a method to allow comments. I know that I could easily copy the article into Joomla's article backend and then deploy JComments but it would be nice to know how to add a commenting system to each article that your RSS over to your site. Otherwise this is an excellent module and best of all it is free. I would pay for the development of an advanced module if the developers were interested.
2010-03-26
Reviews: 3
I find many module for read rss i don't like it.
But i found this module it simple in my concept.
2009-12-24
Reviews: 3
All I wanted was to an RSS reader that would display the date of the posts. Incredibly, this is the only module I've found that does that. It has some good options and seems to be one of the best RSS readers available.

However, it came with two templates pre-installed, and you have to choose one of them. They don't match my site, so of course I want my site's template to dictate the style of the module, but that's not an option.

The only solution supplied is in the description above: "If you want more control, you can simply override both the generated HTML and CSS, using MVC template overrides within your Joomla! template." If someone can explain to me what that means, please do. I also don't understand why you can't just select "None" in the module's styling options.
2009-12-15
Reviews: 10
Very nice layout of the RSS Links with tooltip popup... unfortunately it does not allow to use utf8 characters, these will be transformed into a kind of japanese/chinese mix :-( The manual use of iconv in the source code does help, nevertheless I could not get the popup window to look reasonable. My solution: go back to version 1.4 where these problem did not appear.
Anyhow thanks a lot for the very useful extension ! Keep it up !
2009-10-05
Reviews: 1
Easily to install, but a bit hard to customize. Has major issues if the feed contains exotic characters such as ä, å and ö.
Owner's reply

New version 2 has been released, adding amazing new features and fixing any past issues. Templating is now a breeze using MVC overrides. Try it out!

2009-03-05
Reviews: 2
This is *probably* the best of the 'simple' RSS Readers that I found! It has two features which set it apart from most other simple readers: ability to show the date and ability to show multiple feeds. The date especially is very useful. Additionally, the markup is nice and simple and the pre-installed styling is nice.

However... the module does not use a template for display! This make it impossible to change the output without changing the module itself. The provided css file has brilliant commenting, but would prefer to use my own, and can't because the imported styles from the module override mine (which are declared in ).

In conclusion: easily the best reader, but not the best for modularity/portability.
2009-02-05
Reviews: 1
Great reader and easy to use! I had to upgrade to include more feeds (I think the cap is 20?) but I still use it here and there for certain content. Did seem to slow the site a bit but can't be for sure. Simplicity is key. Thanks!
2008-12-03
Reviews: 1
This made my site so incredibly slow.. it was not worth using! Not only that but no feeds ever showed up. Just slow slow loading times, and with no results... sad
2008-09-25
Reviews: 3
This is another great module from JW. We use it for regional traffic alerts. Integration into our site is superb (module class suffix). Easy additional styling using separate CSS. Title and feed descriptions with multiple feed options (up to 20). Cache control options. This has got to be one of the best feed readers around.

Highly recommended!
2008-07-25
Reviews: 3
I needed a simple RSS feed reader for my client. He has a blog on another site, and I was able to have his blog showing on his joomla! site within 3 minutes. Simple download, easy install, breezy set up. Nice range of settings and options. My client is pleased, as am I.
2007-11-15
Reviews: 1
I just wanted a simple RSS Feed Reader.

This feeder was very easy to understand & install.

The presentation is excellent. It looks a lot nicer than simple text links.

Just the right combination of options in regards to Feed titles, images, description, source, timestamp & word limit.

1 problem: I get a - Notice: Undefined variable: & Notice: Trying to get property of non-object both on line 150 in the latest version.

Suggestion: It would be great if there was an option to group the feeds according to their categories in the display.

Recommended.
2007-11-13
Reviews: 1
This is exactly what we needed, simple and powerful with all the configuration options we could desire the only snags preventing us form deploying into production are:
-
1:
with (at least one) blogspot feed the 'hide images' option only works if the ' Force word limit' option is left empty or from zero to a small integer (3 or 4). I guess this could be also blogspot (or this blog) fault, but I could not solve the issue.
Fo us this is a problem because we want no images, and even if we did, there's a problem with text not flowing around them -another problem.

2:
We receive feeds in Portuguese (our own and form this site are good examples) and special caracteres (à, á, ç, ã, etc...) very important and common in Portuguese display very wrongly. Very wrongly means with two strange characters replacing one of our 'special' ones(example 'Divisão shows up as 'Divisão')

We would very much like to use this product, can this be corrected? Is this the proper place to ask for this?

If we were not seeking Portuguese feeds (I'm sure spain will have the same issues) and we didn't need this specific blogspot I would be giving this module an 'EXCELENT' I now with all this complains I should be ranking it lower, but I think it's a really great product, we just have the misfortune of needing it in the most buggy scenario

All the best

Vitor Cunha
2007-09-26
Reviews: 4
Simple and sweet, works first try and... well, what more could you possibly ask for? :)

The only problem I have now is where to find content that won't put my visitors to sleep... :p
2007-09-11
Reviews: 1
I like this extension, for its simplicity!

The only problem I had is that it doesn't support portuguese or spanish characters (UTF-8). Sadly this way I cannot use it on my website. :(
Owner's reply

Fixed in 1.3. Enjoy ;)

2007-08-29
Reviews: 2
I recently added V1.1 to 'live' after using it on a test server for a while. No complaints worked as planned.

Pros: This just works, simple to follow instructions makes it a breeze to install and configure.

Cons: We installed it on our live site and found it slowed down considerably. Note: This maybe due to the feeder site and not the module itself, so we will be testing more thoroughly on our live enviroment.

Overall: If your looking for a simple feed, then Simple RSS Feed Reader is one to test out.
2007-07-17
Reviews: 1
This product works really well. Simple and straightforward, with the ability to funnel lots of feeds into one place. One thing that I would like to see is to have the "intro text" show up on mouse-over, so that you don't have to have such a long column of feeds.
2007-06-17
Reviews: 3
Easy to install, easy to configure and a good range of settings. It's the only reader I could get to work because the others relied on me having Simplypie installed. Did exactly what I wanted.
Page 2 of 2