The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


FeedGator ComponentPlugin

FeedGator imports RSS feeds into your Joomla! database as content items. The import can be into any kind of content component as long as there is a plugin to support it.

FeedGator is the original RSS feed aggregator but it has been significantly updated with new features like full text importing. Please note: FeedGator does not display content items, that is done by the receiving content component.

Features Include:

- Joomla 1.5, 1.6, 1.7, 2.5 and 3.0 native
- PHP 5.4.x compatible
- Plugins for native content, K2
- Other plugins to be updated (FLEXIcontent, Kunena, Mosets Tree, Zoo)
- RSS feed content can be stored to any content component (with plugin)
- RSS 0.90 to 2.0, Atom 0.3, 1.0, Dublin Core, iTunes RSS and XHTML 1.0. For a full list check the SimplePie FAQ item on this subject. Now includes SimplePie over-rides to fix encoding issues.
- Full text importing using Readability port by FiveFilters
- Feed import preview to check your settings and end result
- Feed filtering based on whitelist/blacklist set for each feed
- htmLawed (X)HTML filter, processor, purifier, sanitizer and beautifier for imported text
- Filter HTML to exclude unwanted sections or tags
- Filter and replace text to edit/alter/censor where needed
- Enclosure support built-in
- Image and enclosure downloading
- Access control for imported content
- Variety of built-in and external metadata generation options (keyword tagging)
- Trackback (bit.ly, goo.gl supported) and link handling
- Import tracking and duplicate handling
- Automatic feed caching
- Automated imports using cron
- Easy to read HTML reports online or via email
- Automated Facebook posts or Tweets via AutoTweet NG

- Intelligent upgrade - simply install on top of any version of FeedGator higher than 2.0!

Latest Stable: VERSION 2.3.7 - ALWAYS BACKUP FIRST

http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/feedgator/frs/?action=FrsReleaseView&release_id=18678



Latest Development: VERSIONS 2.4beta3hotfix1 and 3.0alpha3 - ALWAYS BACKUP FIRST

Major version release. Massive code rewrite. Change the plugins to Joomla plugins to ease install/upgrade issues.

FeedGator3.0alpha3 is NOT PRODUCTION READY - This is a functional alpha release for testing.

FeedGator2.4 version is compatible with Joomla 1.5 - 2.5
FeedGator 2.4 beta3hotfix1
http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/feedgator/frs/?action=FrsReleaseView&release_id=18679

FeedGator3.0 is compatible with Joomla 2.5 - 3.x
FeedGator 3.0 alpha3
http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/feedgator/frs/?action=FrsReleaseView&release_id=18754

The uninstall process for 2.4 and 3.0 still removes the FeedGator database tables. YOU WILL LOSE ALL FEEDGATOR DATA WHEN UNINSTALLING.


Many, many, many features and developments for 2.4 and 3.0 including:
-Revamped admin again with better workflow
-Revamped and reworked code for many areas
-Easy installer and upgrade path
-Better focussing of the source text parser for difficult sites
-Better HTM

Report Extension

 

 

2011-01-30
Reviews: 3
I was looking for such a component to import Ethiopia News in to my website and I found feed gator very helpful.

Hats off!

Thanks for such a wonderful component
Owner's reply

Good, I'm glad we helped. I wonder what we could do to get more than 2 stars?

2011-01-22
Reviews: 2
is a good one. It is doing exactly what I need.
Dear developer. Well done!
2011-01-15
Reviews: 3
I would like to say THANK to develop team. Their hard work gave us a excellence component.
- First this component work exactly what author say. It is so powerful to grab all FULL text with picture. Yes support Cron. A lot options let you make a perfect setting.
- Second, 100% free. Although this component still in develop but many commercial component can't compare with it. 5 stars !!
Keep going team, we all wait for your next stable version.
2011-01-11
Reviews: 1
I've used this component for this site and I want to say that is very good. But last version does not work very well!
2010-12-25
Reviews: 11
After I was able to get my IP to open my incoming connections I reinstalled FeedGator, I knew from the first attempt this would be a great extension. I was not dis-satisfied. Upon install which only took a moment and going in to Global Settings the component was working with no hitches, a little fine tuning and it is a thing of beauty. The Developers deserve a great deal of thanks for allowing this extension to be free!! I am most glad to have it on my site!! I have used many extensions over the years and I have to say this one is one of the most user friendly extensions I've seen!
2010-11-01
Reviews: 2
Hi All,

I used feedgator and I am truly impressed by the ability of this component.

It works like a professional component and the developers are taking great care to add extra features in every release.

I hope in future it adds more features.
2010-11-01
Reviews: 5
Looks robust and promising. I notice after feed number 6, I can't add feeds. Overall I think it could be one of the best here. Articles should also have option to open in blank window...
Owner's reply

Hi, thanks but it's a shame you didn't post in the forum. I'm not sure which version you are referring to but both allow unlimited feeds to be added. For instance I have 39 in my test installation! Also, the target can be set for the trackback links - it is in the global settings. This may be moved into the per feed settings but historically it was in the global settings...

2010-10-26
Reviews: 1
Im working with this new version some weeks, after update I see some problems, the creator Matt give instant and PRO support and free. The problem was checked for him dayly, the communication was amazing. He fix the problem.
Now the component do an excellent job and is the best for me, I try listbingo, article generator 4rss and feedgator is the best for free.
2010-10-24
Reviews: 1
This extension does exactly what it says!! I have been using it for a while now and can not imagine to go back. I can not believe it is FREE, great work!
2010-10-21
Reviews: 7
I've had a 5-star rating in my pocket for this extension for years. This is the very first automatic article extension to be created for Joomla it was just never published to JED. It's simple and intuitive.

I can't wait until they implement a cron-like system in the Joomla backend like some of these other extensions.
2010-10-14
Reviews: 2
Does exactly what it says on the tin!! And really pleased that the development has been taken over, great work!
2010-10-13
Reviews: 8
Installation and setup was straight forward. Lots of great options for article display. A great enhancement to any website looking for daily updates from multiple sources. I have this extension running on two websites. Thanks for a great extension!
2010-09-20
Reviews: 7
A few snafus, but it's working relatively well. The problems to date are probably from the feeds themselves. I look forward to new releases!
2010-09-16
Reviews: 4
For me is the best component in the automatic articles section. Nice work. I only have one suggestion. The original article URL should be stored in a database column for better posterior handling.
2010-08-26
Reviews: 1
Excellent work, excellent extension.Congratulations for the good job.
2010-08-23
Reviews: 1
Without doubt the best 'Automatic Articles' component around. It has features that we don't see even in the commercial versions.

By far the most thorough and clean component. Plus excellent support from Matt and his team.

Keep up the good work and looking forward to see more enhancements!
Page 3 of 3