The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


swMenu Popular ComponentModule

swMenuFree 8 Released. Instantly create a drop-down or pop-out menu system for your Joomla website using either the mygosu , trans, or superfish menu systems.

* Simple mouse driven interface allows infinite styling of all aspects of the menu module without touching the keyboard or knowing CSS

* True type font integration for top and sub menu items using easily obtained cufon font files

* Corner styling. Independent corner styles for each corner of the complete menu, top menu, and sub menus.

* Advanced menu source features for the menu include the ability to automatically create whole menu structures from content(content only menu), Or too automatically append content items as menu items to existing categories(hybrid Menu). This unique system of menu and content integration allows you to custom make a menu system that automatically updates itself as content is added. Virtuemart integation is also supported.

* Create and export an external style sheet and edit it manually for unlimited styling capabilities.

* Active menu feature will automatically keep the top menu item highlighted for the part of the site being viewed.

* Live preview to see changes as they are made, as well as a complete preview to show entire menu module.

* Integrated update/repair facility makes it easy to upgarde to future versions of swMenuFree without losing any settings.

* Currently has 12 included translations for the admin component.

Report Extension

 

 

2011-05-10
Reviews: 5
First: I have swmenupro and Joomla 1.5!
This swmenupro is a great solution, if you want your menu to be bequeathed (its "vererben" in German, hope, this suites) to every new menu-item, without the need to be published by an administrator. This means: your customer creates a new category (or may be, by cck, subcategory) and links it to the menu, than this new menulink and its children will be shown in swmenupro by itself on any new created page that belongs to it (if you modified it to appear on all pages). You can do this with the subitems to and so the relevant menuitems appear on the new categories without any backend-modification.
Great! the best solution I found. and it looks good! even if you only have basic knowledge of css, because the admin-panel is self-explanatory! thanks a lot for this great extension
PS: I tried free-version, too, and it is as good, only that you can't modify the different menu-items in different ways and that you don't have that much kinds of menu-types
2011-04-23
Reviews: 2
I wish any extension that claims to be 1.6 native would work with the custom access levels.

Can't do much with this extension if you require menu options to be visible/not visible based on custom access levels you might create.
2011-04-19
Reviews: 2
I tried a couple of menu system and this one was only one that worked within my site.
Thank you so much for sharing this great system.:)
smg
2011-04-05
Reviews: 11
It a great menu system. It can be styled in almost unlimited ways - without having to know CSS. For what it can do, it is very easy to use - and it's free.
2011-04-05
Reviews: 1
I was using this extension for a while on my website and it worked great. microsoft updated their internet explorer to version 9 and it stopped working properly, I posted about a fix for IE9 and I got a reply how to fix it and it now works great again.
I would say the program is amazing, and the service is great too, plus its a free program which is a great plus.
We need more programs like this out there with the great service and solutions.
2011-03-16
Reviews: 2
I installed menu system on joomla 1.5, the component showed up and I designed my menu. I then notice that the preview would not work. After following directions the menu would not display at all. I entered into the forum page and no one offered help. I was hoping to not jump thru hoops for a menu.
2011-01-05
Reviews: 1
This menu editor lets you make a stylish menu exactly as you want it to be. It can use menus from the joomla menu system (hybrid), which is not the case with most menu modules, or custom entries. You can do all reasonable adjustments to the menu appearance. I love the customization interface, it should be an example of joomla extensions should interact with the site designer.
2011-01-04
Reviews: 1
Very well functioning menu with very less confusion...! Unfortunately I could not position it to me custom made template, and when I pointing the menu to module position and submit the menu is getting displaced / shifted up and my template get collapsed I do not know anyone else having this experience....! or could help me to overcome this – Thanks
2010-12-25
Reviews: 9
My colleague asked me to find a really powerful menu tool that would allow her project to stand out. (under construction, but the menu is working.)

Just what we needed, with all the facilities for a designer who wanted to get things "just so." Given how much it does, not overly complicated to use. If I had more time to write, I'd be adding some more enthusiastic comments.
2010-12-15
Reviews: 2
The product is great. The service is excellent. Sean White went the extra mile to help me. I had a problem with my template which stopped swMenuFree from working properly. Sean looked into the problem and told me how to fix my template.

It only took 5 minutes to correct the problem with my template, and the menus work Great!

Thanks much, David Nelson
2010-12-12
Reviews: 1
There must be something I missed...
After spending hours and hours and finaly finding the word "swmenufree" somewhere and googling for it, I found it, downloaded it, installed it, and after less than 5 seconds, I had my first vertical menu working!!!
This just can't be true.... It's too easy! :)
2010-12-09
Reviews: 1
That will sound a bit criminal (yet honest), but I usually just download free extentions and use it. It's the first time I'm rating one. THIS extension has actually made a very lazy leecher feel like going throughout registration process and comment on it. I really think this one should be PAID. I know there's a PRO version, but this FREE version is superb enough to deserve finnancial support.

Everything about it is great. Admin GUI is great. Options are great. Outcome is great. Thank you developers.
2010-12-07
Reviews: 1
A stunning peice of kit!
After a full day of messing about with settings, managers and codes, I went over to Youtube and found this extension by accident. After downloading the extension and following the tutorial, my menus booted up first go!
2010-11-09
Reviews: 6
Excellent job! works perfectly very easy to use.
OC5
2010-10-26
Reviews: 3
I tried this quickly and uninstalled straight away, because:

- Tables. It's 2010, we don't need tables. Why don't just use default unordered list.
- Messy and bloated markup. Javascript is written in document.
- Admin GUI is poor. Please use default J! admin template elements at least.
Owner's reply

Prior to 2010 we did need tables. They are the only way to ensure proper display in most templates and browsers and still validate and get indexed quite nicely by search engines.

The latest swMenuFree does now include the superfish menu system which will write the complete menu in an unordered CSS list if that's important to your requirements.

Some javascript needs to be written into the page for some of the menu systems as it is calculated at runtime. Most of the javascript for any of the menu systems is externally linked.

I'm sure if you hadn't uninstalled it so quickly you could have understood better the features of it's rich GUI interface.

2010-09-13
Reviews: 6
I would strongly recommend the upgrade to SWMenuPro. I use it on every single site I build because it makes menu creation so simple and quick. I have easily saved the cost of the upgrade in time.

Added to that, Sean White's support service is THE BEST that I have come across. On the one or two occasions when I have had problems, he has shown me how to fix them within 24 hours.

It's a top component, and the support is second to none.
2010-08-18
Reviews: 1
This is an excellent extension ..easy to use..and handy

i had one doubt regarding ..it i.e i cant see the the Position:"USER3" in it..

Could u plz help me out with this..

i am using Joomla 1.5
rhuk_milkway as my default template

Thanks in Advance for ur help or suggestions
Owner's reply

New swMenuFree 6.0 version fixes issues with the module position list.

2010-08-16
Reviews: 3
I like the fact that is customizable and the component creates a module to use. I would make it a default component.
2010-06-20
Reviews: 4
I had this extension for some time and, to be honest, did not exactly know how to rightlyu use it. Untill the moment came that I needed a menumodule in a website with an "exciting" colorscheme... SWmenuFree did the job in one go, impressing me greatly!

The missing fifth star is because of the impression that is created when submitting a "Module Name". To me it would mean that I can use the settings of one designed menu to use for another one and by changing the Module name field are able to create a second instance.. That doesn't seem to work, however. If that is a complete assumption on my part, then consider this a 5 star review!
Owner's reply

swMenuFree only supports one menu module. For multiple menu modules and more menu systems and features you need swMenuPro.

2010-06-09
Reviews: 1
Brilliant. I spend so many hours searching for a working menu and swMenuFree fulfilled all my needs. It's clear, explained to the max and it works perfectly even for the very novices.

Many thanks.
Page 3 of 7