The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


swMenu Popular ComponentModule

swMenuFree 8 Released. Instantly create a drop-down or pop-out menu system for your Joomla website using either the mygosu , trans, or superfish menu systems.

* Simple mouse driven interface allows infinite styling of all aspects of the menu module without touching the keyboard or knowing CSS

* True type font integration for top and sub menu items using easily obtained cufon font files

* Corner styling. Independent corner styles for each corner of the complete menu, top menu, and sub menus.

* Advanced menu source features for the menu include the ability to automatically create whole menu structures from content(content only menu), Or too automatically append content items as menu items to existing categories(hybrid Menu). This unique system of menu and content integration allows you to custom make a menu system that automatically updates itself as content is added. Virtuemart integation is also supported.

* Create and export an external style sheet and edit it manually for unlimited styling capabilities.

* Active menu feature will automatically keep the top menu item highlighted for the part of the site being viewed.

* Live preview to see changes as they are made, as well as a complete preview to show entire menu module.

* Integrated update/repair facility makes it easy to upgarde to future versions of swMenuFree without losing any settings.

* Currently has 12 included translations for the admin component.

Report Extension

 

 

2010-06-02
Reviews: 10
I tried almost all others before this one, but it did exactly the job I needed with little effort. Thanks.
2010-05-14
Reviews: 1
This component works great in firefox, I do however have an issue in IE8, the text in the flyout menus dont seem to show. I see many people have an issue with IE and this component on the forum, but they dont ever seem to get any kind of feedback or support. I am so desperately trying to fix this, but I dont want to bother asking on the forum, because that seems like a dead end. :(
Owner's reply

Sorry the swMenuFree forum has been neglected lately. swMenuFree 6.0 fixes the IE issues and I am answering support questions in the swMenuFree forums again.

2010-04-16
Reviews: 5
it's easy to use, beautiful, simple and just GREAT!
thanx so much!
the only thing I couldnt figure out yet is how to create multiple menus for different languages...
Owner's reply

Will work with Joomfish so one menu module will display selected languages.

2010-03-16
Reviews: 10
Perfect solution for the drop down good looking menus..!!! Only one drawback, does not work same for all screen resolutions.!!
2010-02-19
Reviews: 1
Overall its a very good extension. Only thing i want is alittle arrow icon indicating a submenu.
Owner's reply

Now available in Superfish menu and Tranmenu systems in swMenuFree6.0

2010-01-27
Reviews: 6
I think i know this extension even when Joomla was still Mambo. And it is still one of the best, rock solide and most scalable menu builder around. And event my mother would be able to use it. And the best: sorry "assafn" don't know where you did get your knowledge about SEO, but please better first learn, THEN rate, O.K.? ;-) This menu can perfectly read by search engines.

Thanks you for your long time work
2009-12-04
Reviews: 1
Hi,

This is a great extension EXCEPT for not being SEO friendly. The sub-menus are generated using javascript and search engines cannot follow those.

Stay away if you want your site to be crawled properly!

Assaf

p.s. sorry to write a bad review for a great extension. but this small, yet EXTREMELY IMPORTANT issue is what made me not use it
Owner's reply

This may be true if using the tigra or trans menu systems in swMenuFree as the tigra is a completely javascript menu system and the transmenu has a HTML top level menu and a javascript written submenu. I think it's still possible for javascript links to be crawled by more advanced search crawler programs. But if you are concerned then the myGosu menu system in swMenuFree will write a completely HTML/CSS menu that just uses javascript for the submenus to appear/disapear. So it will be indexed easily by any search program and it also works best in most templates. With the Pro version you have many more options and menu systems so you can easily hide a pure HTML menu system on the page if you want to maximise search engine results while using javascript menu systems for better effects on the visual page.

2009-09-16
Reviews: 1
Overall, SWMenu is a good tool. There are quite a few parameters to set up but once you do, the menu looks good.

The one failing (and also with extended menu) is that it only gives an option for Blog or table listings of all articles under a category in the Category description page. I may be thinking of this wrong as I am a Joomla newbie but I want a simple extended menu to display SECTION headings (and when the user clicks on that they see just the text in the SECTION DESCRIPTION) and similary for the CATEGORY's.
So instead of being able to click on a category sub menu item and seeing just a summary text, I get the summary text and either a Blog or Table entry of all the articles!!
It would be very nice if this feature was provided.
I tried using the SWmenufree forum and have had no reply.
Still a good menu despite it's limitations.
2009-09-08
Reviews: 2
very usefull component, did help me at many pages to realize customers desires. Easy to use at all. Would be great when once there where no page reload at admin when apply settings and no overwrite to my modified css when using admin settings. Thank you.
2009-06-21
Reviews: 2
Very easy to use and very complete. With SWmenuFree you can create the exact menu you dream. Everything is not automatic and you have to work to reach your ideal menu but you can change easily everything you want: font, boarder, pading, effect, ...
2009-05-28
Reviews: 4
So easy to use right out of the box. This component has a wysiwig system for styling your menu as well so if you don't want to figure out the css to style your menu this menu is for you.
2009-04-01
Reviews: 3
I have been using this extension for quite some while now, and I find that it is absolutely superb.

The instructions in the component itself are very clear, and it is very easy to create a menu that looks like what you want it to look like. Kind of like what you click and type is what you get, WYCATIWYG... very nice.

This menu extension lacks very little, and I am sure Pro would provide whatever you are missing.
2009-03-05
Reviews: 3
It's a very nice extension, makes the menu making a real fun. The best in its class. The submenus are working very well, all the options are clearly described.
2009-02-24
Reviews: 1
I'm upgrading a site from Joomla! 1.0 to 1.5. this is my first upgrade, and someone else built the original site using D4J TransMenu v1.3 - D4J only works in legacy mode which i don't want to enable, so i was prepared to compromise on having an identical menu system. but it only took me half an hour to match the old menu exactly. thanks!
2009-02-17
Reviews: 1
I have been searching high and low for a drop-down menu.

The installation was so easy, just install the zip file with extensions/install and that is it, installation done.

I have downloaded the manual for version 4 as well. It is still a great help.

Thanks for the great extension.

I will definitely recomended it to other users as well.
2009-01-06
Reviews: 2
I normally don't bother to rate these things, but I had to say something about this one. I downloaded SWmenuFree and I had the menu up and running within 15 minutes. DONE.

I monkeyed around with a bunch of other menu extensions, none of which were simple, and still required too much mickey-mousing around with code to fix for IE6, etc. I wasted 3 days with those things.

This extension was fully customizable from it's component backend. It worked with every browser I tested it on immediately. Awesome! And it's FREE!

Luckily, my client only needed a couple of drop downs for this site, but if I ever need a lot, I know I can always pony up for the Pro version. To me, it's worth money to save time...which IS money...

Anyway, thanks, Sean!
2008-10-31
Reviews: 1
It is a great component, but most of all I'd like to say great support! Sean is taking a lot of his time to help people get it right since the menu needs a little CSS adjustments on most sites. He really goes the extra mile. Excellent!
2008-10-27
Reviews: 6
Good interface. Excellent forum. Reliable. Took a little time to sort out some of the finer tweakings like having borders only on one side etc. But this is a great module that I will definitely use again and I would be happy to buy a license for the additional features when needed.
2008-10-02
Reviews: 4
Thanks for this Sean

One mistake I made was over-zealously clicking the 'save' button, though; for some reason it created another SWmenu module, which of course conflicted and gave me fatal PHP errors. Easy enough to fix, just had to turn one off in the Module Manager, but thought I should mention it anyway in case anyone else does the same by mistake!

Thanks again though
2008-09-26
Reviews: 1
Not only the extension - which is very elaborate and customizable- is great, but also the immediate help I got when I posted a problem on his forum.

thanks, great work!
Page 4 of 7