The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


FJ Related Articles Blog and List Component Component

New version for Joomla! Version 3.2 and 3.1! Now FJ Related Component uses Tags instead of keywords for easy maintenance and fast processing.

Break free from Joomla's single Category restriction. Did you ever want to put an article into two or more categories? List selected articles from multiple categories? Create a blog or list based on author?

This component allows you to create a blog or list layout based on tags or keywords and author. So you can create any number of menu items showing articles based on any combination of tags or keywords.

* Create blog or list layouts exactly like the standard Category blog and list layouts, but using tag or keyword and author matching instead of Category.
* Optional match on Author or Author Alias as well as keywords.
* Option to include articles with ANY matching keywords or only articles where ALL keywords match.
* Option to limit articles based on Section or Category.
* Option to show matching keywords and sort based on best match.
* November 7, 2013: Version 3.0.0 now available for Joomla versions 3.2 and 3.1.
* January 7, 2010: Version 1.0.10 now available. Allows you to select Published or Archived. Also allows editing from layouts.
* August 29, 2009: Version 1.0.7 now available. Allows you to create a blog or list without needing an Intro Article. Also, allows you to show all articles written by the currently logged in user.
* June 9, 2009: Version 1.0.6 now available. This adds a new option to use an exact match on keywords. So keyword lists must have the same words and be in the same order to match.
* May 7, 2009: Version 1.0.5 now available. This adds a new parameter that allows you to link to other FJ Related menu items instead of articles. If a related article is an Intro Article for another FJ Related menu item, you can link to this menu item instead of to the article.
* April 12, 2009: Version 1.0.4 now available. It fixes problem with upgrades causing Into Article to be lost. Also adds Italian langage.
* March 12, 2009: Version 1.0.3 now available. It fixes minor display problem.

Here is how it works. You create an article with the desired keywords and author information. Then you create a blog or list layout and select this article for the menu item. That's all there is to it! The blog or list layout will show all articles that match the keywords and author information of the menu item's article.

See the Demo page for a quick tour of what you can do.

Report Extension

 

 

2009-06-19
Reviews: 3
It's great cause it makes sense to think like this. Thanks also for a great demo
2009-05-22
Reviews: 2
One of the most asked questions in the forums seems to be: "How do I make an article belong to more than one category?". The answer is often that one should use some kind of directory extension. I bet though that FJ Related would satisfy the needs of 80% of those requests in a much simpler way.

Very easy to use!
2009-04-09
Reviews: 2
This is a great extension.But no compatible with sh404SEF :(
2009-03-16
Reviews: 1
I have been looking for some time for a solution to add an article to multiple categories. Finally found this great component.
A bit of a strange workaround to get things done, but the result is great and looks a lot better than the workaround I thought of myself!
2009-03-15
Reviews: 2
I've using this component and it's so easy to use and so intuitive, that it's exactly what the programmers offer. Excellent manual in their website, excellent programming design. No adding a lot of code. The componet it's only 31 Kb compressed.

Emilio Alvarez From SpAiN
2009-03-11
Reviews: 10
Not only does the component work as expected, but the developer responded within 24hrs with a solution to an issue we had.

Phenomenal extension - a solution that provides the J! community with a whole new way of cataloging articles in Blog and List format.

Great work!
2009-03-05
Reviews: 2
Thanks to Mark Dexter for this ingenious extension. It's exactly what i was searching. It's well done. Easy to install and configure. Great job. ;)
2009-02-22
Reviews: 1
I needed to list articles by keyword and this component did just what I needed.

I started with Joomla about two weeks ago and this is my first extension. I was expected it to be painful, but I download the four zip files, browsed to each one, clicked install and everything worked. Excellent.

As a newby, I was a little confused about whether I needed to download all the files or just the first one (which I thought might be the latest).
When doing that file did not work, I did them all and it worked. I am not sure if I really the need the Events Newsletter zip, though.

Excellent documentation also.

Thanks,

Ron
Owner's reply

Hi Ron. Thanks for the nice review. For future reference, each extension operates independently. So you only need to download and install one file for each extension. You can also uninstall any extension you are not using. For example, to uninstall the FJ Events Newsletter extension, navigate to Extensions->Install/Uninstall, select the Components tab, click on the radio button next to the FJ Events News extension, and press the Uninstall icon in the toolbar.

Also, please feel free to post questions in the project Help forum here: http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/freejoomla/forum/?action=ForumBrowse&forum_id=9399. Thanks. Mark

2009-02-15
Reviews: 1
this com and mod work great right out of the box.
simple install and use.
thank you very much for this one.
2009-02-14
Reviews: 1
This is what I've been searching for...
Great idea of the author!

But the keywords system is a little bit complicated for less experienced users (site editors). They got confused easily to follow the structure for every article, sometimes they miss one letter or write it with a space, so the 'check button' system with predefined keywords would be a big plus to this extension.

Everything else, even when you need to list only articles from a 'current category' is cool...

Keep up the good work!
Page 3 of 3