The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Xmap Popular ComponentPlugin

Xmap is a Site map generator component for Joomla. Xmap allows you to create a map of your site using the structure of your menus. Some of Xmap's features are:
* Capability to create more than one sitemap with different preferences for each sitemap.
* Generation of XML sitemaps compatible with Google, Yahoo, Bing and others.
* Cache system to allow a fastest sitemap generation. Ideally for large or high traffic sites. You can enable or disable this feature independently for each sitemap.
* Exclude easily any menu item from your site map directly from the frontend
* Option to compress the XML sitemap
* Better presentation of the XML sitemap on browsers.
* Compatibility with Joomla 1.5, Joomla 1.6 and Joomla 1.7
* You can specify the priority and change frequency params for each menu and now for every item in your site map.
* You can change the priority and change frequency for every item in your sitemap.
* Shows some statistical information for each sitemap:
o Las visit date.
o Number of links generated on the last visit.
o Number of visits.
* There is available a lot of plugins for the most popular components: Zoom, DOCman, VirtueMart, Fireboard, SMF, Hot Property, SOBI2, Mosets Tree, MyBlog, RSG and many others.
* Customization for each extension

Report Extension

 

 

2010-02-18
Reviews: 4
Seems there are mixed reviews - it's either the best thing since warm sliced bread, or you've got burnt toast! We have two sites. Works for us, and Goggle seems to love it. For us, it's a "kudos to the authors." You results may vary!
2010-01-29
Reviews: 6
A must have for any site I've set up.
2010-01-20
Reviews: 2
This extension is fantastic in principle but Google would not accept the URL that Xmap indicates should be copied and submitted to Google (and Yahoo, etc).

We submitted and then resubmitted the URL three times. We followed Xmap instructions and even applied a few tweaks as found via forums.

The URL and the links it generated were all manually tested by us and they were valid.

We were using Joomla's built in "Search Engine Friendly URLs." We can't be sure if this had any effect.

After all the positive reviews on this component, we were excited to put it to use. Sadly our experience conflicts with these positive reviews.

At the time of this writing we were using the newest Joomla 1.5.15 with a very new template from Rockettheme.
2009-12-27
Reviews: 6
Makes a strong and vivid view of everything on your website. Striking and remarkable results with just a few keystrokes to install.

This is the sitemap I have been looking for. As soon as I found Xmap I installed it on all my sites.

Works perfect with Google and Yahoo...
2009-12-24
Reviews: 8
I must say that Xmap is a small component with a fast installation and easy configuration. It integrate with Joomla 1.5 smoothly without any hickup. The creation of Google sitemap also a breeze as it get. I highly recommended this component for all especially beginners.
2009-12-23
Reviews: 4
I was disappointed in this extension after reading the huge number of positive reviews.

When adding a menu that includes alias items (ie the menu item is set up in another menu and this one just has a link), the component fails to deal with it and produces an invalid link.

Many extensions are installed by default, I would prefer just to install what I need. Of those installed, I saw MyBlog which the site uses. However, it fails to work. OK having the extension is a bonus really - but worse than just failing to get the links back, the whole sitemap bombs as soon as it hits that menu item - producing an incomplete, and invalid sitemap.

I could go on but I don't want to be unfair. Evidently the component works well for many sites. But I do not find it to be solid or polished, and do not have confidence that it will produce good clean output for my site.
2009-12-15
Reviews: 4
Hi, I've just tried your component, let me tell u that it's just great!!!
Is it possible to help me create or modified the latest one for joomla 1.0.15? I have a site running on google it and submitted to google news, and i will want to have the news sitemap....
2009-12-12
Reviews: 2
Let me just say that I do tons of joomla sites and this is by far the best site map tool. You install it and do about 5 mins of setup and you never have to think about it again. Thank you Thank you and Thank you some more. You are the programmers that make my life and many other much easier/better. I will donate if option is available.
2009-12-02
Reviews: 9
Awesome site map generator. Great presentation on the front end and easy administration from the back end. Thanks guys.
2009-11-29
Reviews: 10
The component works as described. Install it, select which menus you want it to index and that's about it.

If generates an HTML, XML, and News version of your sitemap. You can just copy the XML URL and manually submit it to google or add it to your robots.txt file.

Now Yahoo!, Google, and other major search engines support pinging xml sitemaps, it would be nice to have some sort of submission system built into xmap.
2009-11-16
Reviews: 5
This works exactly as it claims and the other reviews are testimony to that. I had no trouble getting this working right out of the box. It even works with my SEF package. As with many free extensions, the documentation is on the sparse side, but much better than most. It works off your menus, and as a menu item, so be sure to add a menu item for it and to add your menus to it or all you'll see is a blank screen. I'd give it a 100 percent perfect if it added your menus right from the start with an option to deselect them. As is I give it a 99/100 percent. Really nice. - MJ
2009-11-06
Reviews: 4
This works great. Thank you so much for the team
2009-10-26
Reviews: 2
No need to write much, this extension does what it says. Easy to install and index your site before you have time to realize it. Good job developer.
2009-10-24
Reviews: 11
This is an excellent extension. It installs and does it's job in the simplest and easiest task I have yet seen in Joomla. Then, copy the link in preferences to Google etc.I hope to see more user friendly documentation in the future.
2009-10-19
Reviews: 6
Installed without a hitch on my Joomla 1.5.14 site. I chose to link to the HTML format of the site map from a link in my website's footer. I chose to turn off the menu names in the site map display, excluded one page from the site map, and turned off developer credit link, thanks for those options.

Thanks to the other reviewers for explaining how to find the options/preferences menu that contains links to the site map URL's. I was pretty lost until I read those notes.
2009-10-09
Reviews: 2
I was finding a tool like for a while. This is a must have...
2009-09-22
Reviews: 7
Simply outstanding and a Must have Component for all joomla based sites.

Its like a one touch magic button, once installed it creates everything in a flash of second, all you have to do is copy the xml link generated in the preference section and paste it on google.com/webmaster tools for your site to be indexed by google quickly.
2009-09-17
Reviews: 3
I've installed this on several of our sites. Absolutely no problems. The author even gives you the option to remove his credits. Very generous.

I wish all joomla extensions were this outstanding!

Some people have trouble figuring out how to link to the sitemap and / or set preferences. It's very easy. Create a menu item linking to the component!

To get the url for the sitemap link to submit to Google, just go into the componenet and click on Options /Preferences. How easy is that?

Thanks again for a great component!
2009-09-16
Reviews: 1
Excellent component! Very easy installation and configuration. The other components plugins are very useful.
Component 100% recommended...
2009-09-11
Reviews: 3
Easy to install, use and configure! Thanks for this lovely component. Maybe one tip: put a remark somewhere how and which url to submit to the Goole Webmaser tools?! Great job!
Page 10 of 16