The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Xmap Popular ComponentPlugin

Xmap is a Site map generator component for Joomla. Xmap allows you to create a map of your site using the structure of your menus. Some of Xmap's features are:
* Capability to create more than one sitemap with different preferences for each sitemap.
* Generation of XML sitemaps compatible with Google, Yahoo, Bing and others.
* Cache system to allow a fastest sitemap generation. Ideally for large or high traffic sites. You can enable or disable this feature independently for each sitemap.
* Exclude easily any menu item from your site map directly from the frontend
* Option to compress the XML sitemap
* Better presentation of the XML sitemap on browsers.
* Compatibility with Joomla 1.5, Joomla 1.6 and Joomla 1.7
* You can specify the priority and change frequency params for each menu and now for every item in your site map.
* You can change the priority and change frequency for every item in your sitemap.
* Shows some statistical information for each sitemap:
o Las visit date.
o Number of links generated on the last visit.
o Number of visits.
* There is available a lot of plugins for the most popular components: Zoom, DOCman, VirtueMart, Fireboard, SMF, Hot Property, SOBI2, Mosets Tree, MyBlog, RSG and many others.
* Customization for each extension

Report Extension

 

 

2008-06-27
Reviews: 1
Great work - easy to integrate and use. I am using it in both of my two projects. It works as expected and provides beside the user-readable sitemap also an xml-sitemap for our good friends - the search-engine bots. The periodically refreshed content will always provide the latest content available.

One thing might be nice to have in future:
In the module settings of a menu one can choose to start displaying the menu's hierarchy from a specified level on. It really would be great, when XMap would adhere to this setting.
That would improve the narrow shaped hierarchy-structure of Joomla enormously. With this a site admin could structure his site deeper and needn't to have any fears of showing a sitemap - because all menu items that should not be visible won't be shown at all.
odd
2008-06-25
Reviews: 2
This does what it says it does, and I'm very happy with it. It's quick and easy to install, and works great.

There is however one problem that prevents me from giving it the very best rating:
I have a few menu items with sub-items that are always expanded by default (i.e. sub-items are always shown). Xmap gets confused by this, and the result is that these sub-items are listed twice. First they are enumerated as sub-items of the parent item, and then the sub-items get counted again. This may not be an excellent explanation, but try it yourself and you'll see what I mean.

Overall, a very good extension that works great and is highly customizable.
2008-06-15
Reviews: 1
Well, the title says it all. I installed this on my Joomla 1.5 installation (Legacy Mode NOT enabled. The component creates two pages, one with a XML sitemap and another for a HTML sitemap. I have one little quirk, in that it is duplicating some entries - maybe because I have SEF URLS enabled?
2008-06-05
Reviews: 2
I try to do my website more SEO friendly at the moment. Needed to create a site map and found this component. After installation and easy configuration it works perfect!
2008-06-04
Reviews: 1
Great work! Loved this component and it worked out of the box. No errors, no hassles. :^)
2008-05-19
Reviews: 1
I had one query, logged on the the forum and got the answer straight away. Nice one. Many Thanks.
2008-05-19
Reviews: 3
Nice plugin. Would have been 5-stars if extensions were native and not legacy. Looking forward for 1.5 native extentions!!!
2008-05-17
Reviews: 6
Might not be as configurable as I'd have liked, but iwas very easy to install and setup
2008-05-09
Reviews: 4
It took me a while to figure what to use it for. It produces a menu item/publishable site map page. It also produces a sitemap .xml and .html link that you can submit to search engines. Some documentation would be helpful but I was able to install it, figure it out and get it working and the files submitted within 5 or 10 minutes. 5 Stars.
2008-05-05
Reviews: 1
Its a very good extension. Very easy to install and configure the basic functionality.
2008-04-17
Reviews: 1
This component does a great job of what it is supposed to do. But unfortunately the 1.5 native component does not utilize the 1.5 MVC conventions, so to ovverride the default output you have to edit the component itself instead of just adding a file in your templates folder.

Great component, though :-)
2008-04-15
Reviews: 1
Congratulations to the developers for a superb product. Awesome improvements from Joomap. Easy to install. Highly recommended.
2008-04-14
Reviews: 7
This component is well worth using on your site, and the maker has gone to alot of effort to get the backend slick.
The google submit XML URL is very nice.
My only issue is that this component does not validate, I have tried in 4 templates and fresh Joomla installs.
Having contacted the developer about this, I didnt hear anything back.
Owner's reply

It does validate, you can see it here:

http://validator.w3.org/check?verbose=1&uri=http%3A%2F%2Fjoomla.vargas.co.cr%2Fsitemap

We have a forum to report problems and ask for help. I don't see your post there! Please feel free to ask for help in there, I'll glad to help you even when the problem isn't with Xmap!

2008-04-13
Reviews: 1
Work like a charm. Very easy to install. Kudos to the developer. Thanks
2008-04-09
Reviews: 1
Thanks for a great component! Works like a charm on Joomla 1.0.15 And many thanks for the most popular plugins to XMAP.
2008-04-07
Reviews: 6
Its now native 1.5!!! WooHoo!!
I have been putting off installing anything that is not native 1.5 and just noticed as of today this one is now native.

Installed it, and after about 5 min I had Google looking at my new sitemap.
Great work guys... yet to see what Google does once it has analysed it (that usually takes a day or two) but so far so good.

If you want a simple and powerful sitemap for Google and yahoo, this is it.

It also makes a nice HTML one for people too... (inc CSS etc)
2008-04-02
Reviews: 6
So easy. I've looked at others and this one was the best. Install, click and a great sitemap.
2008-04-02
Reviews: 10
I can't get over how awesome this extension is.

Wow. Installed and config'd in minutes. Spits out clean css friendly site map - perfect the first time.

Great work! Can't wait for 1.5 Native :)
2008-04-01
Reviews: 3
I used to use the "other one" until coming across this one from recommendation of a buddy of mine. I have to say I love this extension is it's always one of the top on the list to install whenever I do a new joomla site.

Although now that I am on joomla 1.5, I am hoping the developer will push for the Joomla 1.5 Native version and not legacy because I refuse to run anything in the legacy mode. So in the mean time, I will have to use google's method.
2008-03-28
Reviews: 1
This component works great on 1.0.X and 1.5 in Legacy mode.

I'm using this on at least 4 sites right now and many more in the future.
Page 14 of 16