The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Xmap Popular ComponentPlugin

Xmap is a Site map generator component for Joomla. Xmap allows you to create a map of your site using the structure of your menus. Some of Xmap's features are:
* Capability to create more than one sitemap with different preferences for each sitemap.
* Generation of XML sitemaps compatible with Google, Yahoo, Bing and others.
* Cache system to allow a fastest sitemap generation. Ideally for large or high traffic sites. You can enable or disable this feature independently for each sitemap.
* Exclude easily any menu item from your site map directly from the frontend
* Option to compress the XML sitemap
* Better presentation of the XML sitemap on browsers.
* Compatibility with Joomla 1.5, Joomla 1.6 and Joomla 1.7
* You can specify the priority and change frequency params for each menu and now for every item in your site map.
* You can change the priority and change frequency for every item in your sitemap.
* Shows some statistical information for each sitemap:
o Las visit date.
o Number of links generated on the last visit.
o Number of visits.
* There is available a lot of plugins for the most popular components: Zoom, DOCman, VirtueMart, Fireboard, SMF, Hot Property, SOBI2, Mosets Tree, MyBlog, RSG and many others.
* Customization for each extension

Report Extension

 

 

2013-03-05
Reviews: 2
My last several sites have relied upon Xmap to get Google indexing working quickly & properly. it does the right thing immediately after installing & publishing, with no maintenance required. In my experience, formatting the site map list is abundantly possible if you know how to use CSS. That's what I need more of in Joomla: simple & robust tools like this.
2013-03-02
Reviews: 1
I has been make xml by use another php script and manual solution.I use 2-3 days but when i install this extension. 5 minutes all work finish.
and this extension work whit virtuemart version 2.Excellent extension
2013-03-01
Reviews: 33
I've used this extension for about a year or so on both 1.5 and 2.5 sites and never had a problem with it. It's simple and to the point but provides just enough configuration so I can get it how I want it.

Automatic sitemaps are great and having a great extension to do it makes my life even easier.

Thanks so much for coding and sharing Xmap with us! And for maintaining its updates up to and throughout 2.5's release! :)
2013-02-20
Reviews: 6
What a beautiful piece of software. Works within seconds with J 2.5 and SobiPro. Great job! Again.
2013-02-11
Reviews: 2
I wanted a simple html sitemap and Xmap provided 90+% of what I was looking for.

I like particularly that more than one sitemap is possible and that each can be assigned different permissions. This allows a simpler cut-down sitemap for non-registered users whilst a second sitemap provides all the links for all registered content.

I was a bit worried that if a page includes a category list this (together with all it elements - articles - etc.) is included in the sitemap. This extendss greatly the length of the sitemap and just complicates matters. However, the developer's notes do indicate there are levels of configurabilty that I hadn't spotted. A little digging revealed the extensions tab - and the content plugin. With Expand categories set to "Never", only the menu link is showed and repetition of content is avoided.

Documentation could be fuller.

Fine control over layout is restricted: a very large menu translates into a very long list that does not break over columns.

Other than that, top marks to the developer for an extension that installs easily (great for new Joomla! users) and works well.
2013-02-01
Reviews: 114
Simple to install. Once the sitemap was created, I copied the link to the sitemap as have other people and pasted it into Google's webmaster tools/Sitemap and Registry and it worked perfectly. I also added it to Google Analytics for the process and that worked as well.

Make sure you do get XMAP installed as Google then crawls your website faster than it would without it. As this helps the SEO for your site and helps the pages get indexed so much quicker.

I can see why the developer is not addressing the issues as it is a non-commercial version.

Saying that.. I would pay for a pro version if it worked on all platforms. It works flawlessly on 3.0 and 2.5 but 1.7 it crashes every time on every template. This is a real shame as 50% of my 200 client sites do not have XMAP and if it worked multi platform I would happily send a BEER keg. :-)

Thanks for this version, but please move forward with it as it could easily become one of the finest core joomla components built.

Super plugin and component.
2013-01-31
Reviews: 3
Tried it several times on different sites, but this is not the perfect solution in my opinion.
2013-01-28
Reviews: 2
Just what i needed - simple, clean, do what it supposed to - generate user friendly sitemap and good xml sitemap for google.
2013-01-23
Reviews: 4
Hi, I translated xmap to farsi (Iran) language.
You can download it from it's forum.
2013-01-07
Reviews: 3
I have been used Xmap for some time now and I feel like I owe it a review.
I am not an IT guy, but i have been developing sites from the beginning of WWW and I' am very happy using it.

It is simple to install and configure and has all my site map needs covered. For me it is one of those "install and forget about it" extensions, which is something great for the kind of work I do.

Thanks Guillermo.
2012-12-01
Reviews: 51
It has helped a lot with search engines walking through the site, and gives us good results. Hassle free to set up, and good extensions are available.
2012-11-27
Reviews: 6
I have so far used this extension in more than one site. And it does its job very well.
2012-11-23
Reviews: 1
Works great in our new Joomla 3 site. Setup in a few minutes.
2012-11-16
Reviews: 6
I always read the reviews to see how other people had found an extension so I was reluctant to use this extension after reading very mixed reviews. However, it worked for me and looks great - simple, clean, easy to follow for my visitors. I had to play around with it a bit, but once I worked out to create a sitemap, then link it to the menu (just like you link an article to a menu) then it worked. I played around with settings to get just what I wanted it to look like. I still do not understand the priority, but I discovered I could move the menus around to the order I wanted so I am happy. Thanks.
2012-11-13
Reviews: 3
I have installed the version 2.3.0 to my Joomla!2.5.4 and it just want work. I cannot even open the component, it just generate error. So, I uninstalled and try few more times but the error is the same.

So I have to say... if it works for you, well that´s good, but if you are looking for sitemap generator then save your time by using something else.

Errors make me go crazy, I hate when things are not tested well enough and when I spend a lot of time doing stuff that does not lead me anywhere.
Owner's reply

Hi, I'm sorry you are having issues but it's because the version of Joomla you are using, you should consider upgrading to 2.5.8 to fix this issue. There are many security issues on 2.5.4 anyways.

I order to make Xmap compatible with 3.0 I have to make some modifications and that makes it incompatible with older versions of Joomla.

2012-11-09
Reviews: 2
I've been a happy user of XMAP for years on multiple Joomla 1.x.x sites.

I have tried getting version 2.3.0 to work with a Joomla 3.0.2 site I'm working on but have been unsuccessful. The component installs just fine, but in this version is unable to create a new sitemap. I have posted to the authors "Bugs" forum with the title of "Joomla 3 issue with XmapHelper class" to track this issue.

I look forward to seeing the issue resolved. Thanks for all the great work on this component.
2012-11-05
Reviews: 1
It says to be compatible with Joomla 3, but it isn't. The extension installs but when you publish a sitemap and visit it from the frontpage, it shows an error 500 with a MySQL error. I contacted the author and am waiting for a fix...
2012-09-24
Reviews: 6
If you want a non fuss way to imclude a sitemap, then this is the component you should add to every Joomla site you manage/create.

Create the sitemap through the component, link to it through one of your menus (normally Sitemap) and you get an HTML linkable sitemap to each page of your site. Monkey business EASY!!!! Congrats to the developers!!
2012-09-10
Reviews: 30
I installed this on my new Joomla 2.5.6 site and enabled the special plugins to go with my special components... and the sitemap was completely empty! It didn't even recognize my Joomla articles much less the addon component pages. I doublechecked everything, enabled and unenabled and enabled again, but it was just an empty sitemap. I've used xmap in the past so not unfamiliar with it...

I've been using the XML-Sitemap generator on my Joomla sites. It's not a Joomla component but it does have a Joomla configuration and it read all 2900 pages on my site accurately with no arguments. And Google webmaster tools accepted my Sitemap without argument. So I'll continue to use that.

I expected a favored Google component to work better, but I was disappointed.
2012-09-08
Reviews: 17
XMap is a very good sitemap extension and we can even say it is near to perfection at some nearest point, except that it is not really compatible with Joomla 2.5, in fact, it is, but not compatible with Joomla 2.5 built-in multi-language feature, if you are running a website with Joomla 2.5 for only one language but if you are running 2 websites on Joomla 2.5, XMap become useless as it cannot create sitemap for two languages!

It would be nice if the developer could have a look at this issue as it is a very important factor for all developers and websites offering more than one language.
Page 3 of 16