The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Xmap Popular ComponentPlugin

Xmap is a Site map generator component for Joomla. Xmap allows you to create a map of your site using the structure of your menus. Some of Xmap's features are:
* Capability to create more than one sitemap with different preferences for each sitemap.
* Generation of XML sitemaps compatible with Google, Yahoo, Bing and others.
* Cache system to allow a fastest sitemap generation. Ideally for large or high traffic sites. You can enable or disable this feature independently for each sitemap.
* Exclude easily any menu item from your site map directly from the frontend
* Option to compress the XML sitemap
* Better presentation of the XML sitemap on browsers.
* Compatibility with Joomla 1.5, Joomla 1.6 and Joomla 1.7
* You can specify the priority and change frequency params for each menu and now for every item in your site map.
* You can change the priority and change frequency for every item in your sitemap.
* Shows some statistical information for each sitemap:
o Las visit date.
o Number of links generated on the last visit.
o Number of visits.
* There is available a lot of plugins for the most popular components: Zoom, DOCman, VirtueMart, Fireboard, SMF, Hot Property, SOBI2, Mosets Tree, MyBlog, RSG and many others.
* Customization for each extension

Report Extension

 

 

2012-08-29
Reviews: 5
I downloaded Xmap after I watched Jen Krammer from Lynda.com for creating site maps.
It seems good. However, it is very unprofessional compared to other extensions.
I could not configure my site map in the way I would like.
-There was a stupid green stick icon next to each link.
-The sitemap doesn't break in columns if you have a long menu.
-I cannot remove the title(name)of the menu.
-Sometimes, the order of the menus is weird. i.e. The footer menu was first (on the right) and the main menu was second (on the left).
-I have a bilingual site and it doesn't recognize other than latin.

I didn't try support. I was already dispirited from what I saw on the reviews.

Don't install except if you wish to have an unprofessional site map or you can't do otherwise.

If the developer decide to develop it further or support it better, I will definitely follow him.
2012-07-30
Reviews: 2
For my Joomla 2.5.6 installed this package:pkg_com_xmap-2.2.1.zip, which didn't was very succesful: triple links in the sitemap.
After this I uninstalled everything, the component AND the plug-ins.
Then re-installed JUST the component.
Now it works as it should.
Maybe this review can help some others.
2012-07-20
Reviews: 1
This is an ext that I have been using for some time so I was a bit surprised to have any problems on reinstalling. To cut a long story short in the end I closed all other components and system plugins, installed Xmap and made the changes I wanted, then reopened components and plugins. All is well and working how it should be. (Joomla ver 1.5.26) Thought it would be worth sharing.
2012-07-17
Reviews: 11
i have this comp intstalled on my site and thanks for the tips and tricks on submision to google, my only problem is when I try to run a sitemap generator tool it I get a 500 internal sever error any sugestions to my situation would be great thanks to the developers of this component
2012-07-12
Reviews: 2
Easy install, fast setup. Instructions are a little outdated but most developers can figure it out without any. Once the sitemap was created, I copied the link to the sitemap and pasted it into Google's webmaster tools/Sitemap Registry and it worked great! Honestly, the who process of downloading this extension, installing it, and setting it up took less than 5 minutes.
2012-07-07
Reviews: 3
Installed the component, enabled the plugin and it doesn´t show up in the admin backend. Read the support forum and see a lot of people having issues with this extension.

Uninstalled.
2012-06-24
Reviews: 1
In joomla 2.5 I had double or triple links in my html sitemap...
Nobody knows how to deal with it, hours spent to find a solution, no solution found.
On the forum someothers had the same issue, no answer...

Waiting for another solution.
2012-06-14
Reviews: 2
Yes it's free and yes most things are working. BUT, if you will experience any kind of error, and you are not able to solve it on your own, than you will be lost.

The developers do not care about users who have problems with this component. If you take a look at the forum, you will see, that nobody is helping the people there. :-(
Owner's reply

Thanks for your review, I'm sorry you had issues and I wasn't able to help you at that moment but if you take a look at the forum you will see that I have 1510 posts helping people with issues, but you are right, it's not the best support but is what I can do on my free time.

Thanks again for your review, I will try to provide a better support now.

2012-06-08
Reviews: 4
Very easy and intuitive, it worked like charm on some of my projects however with large Virtuemart sites where I have more than 10k items, it takes too much time to generate the xml sitemap and I was forced to code something on my own. A good product anyway.
2012-06-07
Reviews: 4
Latest Xmap 2.2.1 creates duplicate links for Kunena. It creates both index and non index url's. This issues was fixed in 1.5 by one of the Kunena developers but was not transferred into the newest Joomla 2.5 compatible Xmap. Very disappointing, I've posted messages on the Xmap forum and contacted them. No response...
2012-06-06
Reviews: 31
Using Xmap in Joomla 2.5 and 1.5 since version 1.2.10 (November 2011).
Advantages: create HTML sitemap on the basis of the ability to display a menu with all the articles, XML file compression site map, caching, lots of plug-ins for inclusion in the site map pack is not only Joomla component, but also third-party extensions such as Virtuemart.
Disadvantages: Sometimes there are problems with XML site map for webmasters Google and Yandex.
With this extension you can create a HTML sitemap, which will show all the sections, subsections and articles on your site.
Support - not used.
Use this extension on my personal blog and other sites that I created .
Engaged in web technologies since March 2007. Use Joomla since December 2009.
2012-05-31
Reviews: 4
I could easily generate my sitemap from the menu structure in terms of seconds. Nice work!
2012-05-22
Reviews: 3
This is awesome! I followed the video at CMS Teachings and got it set up very quickly. It did not pick up submenus, so I created a new menu for all categories and added it. Google and Bing both seem to like it. I can't believe I won't have to deal with sitemaps anymore!
2012-04-25
Reviews: 1
I am using the Xmap extension in Joomla 1.6.3, everything goes well till I submit the site map to Google webmaster tools, I get the following message "Invalid XML tag" This tag was not recognized. Please fix it and resubmit. I will like to use the extension but i cant figure out what is wrong on the generated sitemap, some one knows how to fix this problem? thank you!
2012-04-24
Reviews: 5
Have been using Xmap for several years now and didn't like it that much at first, then I learned how to use it. Now the XML and HTML sitemaps are looking better and simpler to setup.

Easy to make and submit a XML sitemap for Google, Yahoo & Bing for SEO. Best plugin of this type!
2012-04-12
Reviews: 10
I use XMAP on every site I build. It is so intuitive and easy. I submit the XML sitemap to Google Webmaster Tools and I create an HTML sitemap on the site. Fantastically easy and GREAT for SEO. Thank you.
2012-04-07
Reviews: 4
I used an older version Xmap of the previous versions of Joomla and it was all right, but the new version on Joomla 2.5 and Kunena forums, this component is a true duplicate URLs. Well we know that this is one of the worst things in SEO websites. Sorry for bad English :)
2012-03-31
Reviews: 2
This extension is great! Thank you!. I really love how easily you can edit what is in the sitemap. That way you can exclude items. All and all this has really saved me time and helped make sure my google sitemap is always up to day.

Highly recommended. (I have it on three sites).
2012-03-28
Reviews: 5
2 clicks setup, very easy to get your site map indexed very easy =) Thanks to the developers
2012-03-19
Reviews: 1
Ver 2.2.1 works fine with the latest Joomla 2.5.3. Maybe not so obvious but in J2.5 you have to create a sitemap using (New icon) first.
Page 4 of 16