The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Xmap Popular ComponentPlugin

Xmap is a Site map generator component for Joomla. Xmap allows you to create a map of your site using the structure of your menus. Some of Xmap's features are:
* Capability to create more than one sitemap with different preferences for each sitemap.
* Generation of XML sitemaps compatible with Google, Yahoo, Bing and others.
* Cache system to allow a fastest sitemap generation. Ideally for large or high traffic sites. You can enable or disable this feature independently for each sitemap.
* Exclude easily any menu item from your site map directly from the frontend
* Option to compress the XML sitemap
* Better presentation of the XML sitemap on browsers.
* Compatibility with Joomla 1.5, Joomla 1.6 and Joomla 1.7
* You can specify the priority and change frequency params for each menu and now for every item in your site map.
* You can change the priority and change frequency for every item in your sitemap.
* Shows some statistical information for each sitemap:
o Las visit date.
o Number of links generated on the last visit.
o Number of visits.
* There is available a lot of plugins for the most popular components: Zoom, DOCman, VirtueMart, Fireboard, SMF, Hot Property, SOBI2, Mosets Tree, MyBlog, RSG and many others.
* Customization for each extension

Report Extension

 

 

2011-11-22
Reviews: 10
I see so many positive reviews. First of all there is no contact address on developer's page, no email no contact page. The forum is not working. Documentation available for 1.5 (nice). When installing package 2.0 or 2.1 the installer says ''error admin menus could not be build" When selecting the component on site map it says: The requested sitemap does not exits". I have nobody to reach... so hopefully the guys will read it and improve.
2011-11-22
Reviews: 12
Straight out of the box - very easy to use.

Been using it for 2+ years and never a problem
2011-11-10
Reviews: 1
Congrats - excellent component!

One question is struggling me - when generating a sitemap there are four URLs (XML|HTML|News|Images).
The question is: how do I get the News URL to display the news links from my news category? Currently it is empty - meaning no links for this sitemap :/
Thanks in advance, Veaceslav
2011-11-09
Reviews: 2
After a recommendation from a co-worker, I decided to try Xmap, despite the negative reviews.

I'm fairly new to web design, programming, and even newer to SEO and sitemaps. And I haven't worked with components much, which you'll see in a moment.

Installation was a breeze but not the setup. A list of steps would have been nice, along with a couple of screenshots. After figuring out to click 'New' in the component manager, I got the site map created, then the menu item (Xmap - XML sitemap type). I copied the URL for the menu item and entered that in the address bar and PRESTO! I had an HTML site map. Then I replaced 'html' in the URL with 'xml' and saw a screen I had no idea about. Right here a screenshot would have been nice. After googling it, I realized this strange screen was the XML sitemap. I copied that URL, submitted it to Google Webmaster Tools and it was accepted within an hour. Cool! Although this process took 2 hours, it worked.

I clicked on Documentation on the Joomla page, but didn't find answers to all my questions, and nothing was in a particular order. The developer's forum didn't look very well maintained by him. I saw no answers to questions there.
2011-11-08
Reviews: 3
Pros easy to use
cons: I can not exclude specific urls e.g category blog layout exclude /category/
can not set generate only .html urls
2011-10-27
Reviews: 1
I have to install and configure xmap 2.0 for Joomla 1.7 has caused no problems. Also successfully added a sitemap for Google and Yandex. If anyone needs help or contact details of everything as it is done can be found here http://www.slovo.of.by/joomla-17/434-installing-and-configuring-the-component-xmap-20-for-joomla-17.html
2011-10-24
Reviews: 3
This is an excellent component and to all the people who are struggling to get google sitemaps working, just disable sef, copy the link and it is working like a charm. For sh404ef users, u need to manually disable sef option for this plugin.
2011-10-22
Reviews: 1
During the course of my extensive internet research of this extension, I ran across a lot of posts that praise the extension. It certainly seems that some people are very happy with it. My experience, hoewever, was quite the opposite...

Installation of Xmap into Joomla 1.7 was reportedly "successful" and seemed to have been very easy, until I got a error message telling me that I need to enable additional the plugins below.... But, no plugins were listed "below". After playing with empty list, the Joomla plugins list, and several other areas to no avail, I noticed that the aformentioned plugins were in a secondary tab on the xmap component window. ahh. okay, my bad. Oh well, I guess I'd better RTFM, huh?

But where is the FM? There no help at all included with the extension and a quick google turns up three websites that talk about "adding a menu item" and my "locating my xml file path". Those articles were three years old and there were a few more older than that.

So, we found the plugins, four as I recall, each with a rather cryptic name and an even more cryptic pop-up message. Oh well, I GUESS I'm supposed to enable them all... Really could use a simple guide abotu now...

Found my way (still no help from anywhere) to the componenet and decipher that I must create a new sitemap file (or process, not sure). So I create a file and.... drumroll, please... nothing.

Hmmm? I fancy myself to be a pretty digitalliterate binarybrainiac, but I'm darned if I can figure this one out. Okay, heading straight to the creators website for the real scoop.

OH MY GOD! After spending an hour + reading posts in the xmap site forum and trying repeatedly to accomplish a search and getting "your search terms are too common..." about 436 times, I surrender. Thank god for uninstall.

BOTTOM LINE: I've been computing for over 20 years. I have a natural skill for intutitively understanding hardware and software that has bene referred to as "uncanny".

This extension is NOT intuitive. Even worse, it is developed with the logical orientation of a coder. The interface is a mysterious array of nonsensical language that offers little in the way of clues to even the most advanced user. The process overall is clunky and not apparent to the user. In spite of an apparent successful installaiton, I was unable to get the extension to produce anything, at all.

I can accept that this may have been my shortcoming, but the complete lack of logical, literate instruciton for using this extension is UNFORGIVEABLE. Unless you've got a lot of time to waste in the forums, pass on this one.
2011-10-03
Reviews: 18
I understand that the majority of people that use this component will be using it for an XML version sitemap. However, with J 1.7.1 and the latest release of XMap, 2.0, (the safe vers) I can't even really use it. If you change the options, you get an error screen with: Not Acceptable

An appropriate representation of the requested resource....

You can't delete sitemaps, the menu titles generated aren't from the menu manager, If you try to make a different sitemap default it spits out another white-screen error. No help on the forums. Disappointed. I hope to see a working version in 1.7 soon as the ones in 1.5 worked fine for me.
2011-09-28
Reviews: 10
Again, home run by Xmap.

ATTENTION
To everyone struggling with the Google XML/HTML dilemma here is the solution:
- install the component
- Enable it's content plugin
- Create a XMAP new menu item
- Visit that URL with SEF's turned OFF
- replace the 'html' part of the url string with 'xml... for example:

change this:
index.php?option=com_xmap&view=html&id=1&Itemid=224

to this:
index.php?option=com_xmap&view=xml&id=1&Itemid=224

You will see the xml generated sitemap
- Submit this url to google webmaster tools.

If you have further problems with your ACESef or SH404SEF I recommend to simply disable the component for Xmap (option in sef configuration). This enables you to have nice sef's throughout the site while still letting Xmap work fine.
2011-09-22
Reviews: 3
I am using Joomla 1.7, for a personal website that contains my research, teaching, and service activities.

The installation of this extension is very easy, and the HTML sitemap looks great, but the XML sitemap is empty, I am not sure why.
2011-09-07
Reviews: 7
I just needed a dynamic sitemap generator for my Joomla 1.5 site to be used with Google's Webmaster tools' Sitemap.

This component sorted it in 1min!

Perfect!
2011-09-03
Reviews: 2
The component works perfectly on 1.5 and also works as html sitemap on 1.7 but on joomla 1.7 version 2.0 google rejects the xml sitemap please help or other ways i have to make other choice. I validated my sitemap all was ok yet i'm receiving this error Sitemap is HTML
Your Sitemap appears to be an HTML page. Please use a supported sitemap format instead.
2011-08-06
Reviews: 8
Allthough I have been a big fan of xmap, I have to say that the released ver. 2.0 for J1.6+ does seem to have some issues with the xml sitemap format.

Like others I have really struggled, and have now come to the point where I have to abandon xmap and try other options, as registering in Google Webmaster Tools is essential to my site.

But I'll keep an eye on the product and come back when issues have been solved ;)

By the way - if you just need a html sitemap to please your users, Xmap 2.0 is an excellent choice!
2011-08-02
Reviews: 1
It works out of the box if it is willing work.
Recently I experienced freezes of the automated installation of the component when the System Restore Points plugin of Akeeba Backup was allowed and problem with the generation of the proper xml sitemap when AceSEF was used.
So the component is fine but it is challenging to find out which other component or plugin is blocking the proper generation of the xml sitemap.
If you have the html sitemap generated and nor the xml it is likely that a component is blocking it.
2011-07-29
Reviews: 1
I have tried everything: switched off the CSS, applied classic mode - nothing helps. The generated XML is still (quote from Webmaster Tools):
Unsupported file format
Your Sitemap does not appear to be in a supported format. Please ensure it meets our Sitemap guidelines and resubmit.
2011-07-08
Reviews: 9
It seems it does not list any articles (would this be because category block listing??????

I have a google sitemap for everything but any of my articles.
2011-07-05
Reviews: 4
This extension has saved me countless hours and I've used it on numerous sites. Thank you for your hard work on this extension!

I installed and set everything up in less than 10 minutes on 1.6.4.
2011-07-02
Reviews: 2
The J1.6-version does not work at all: "Fout tijdens opbouwen van admin menu's" (Dutch for: error building admin menu's). Should not be listed here yet? Looking forward to it though, Xmap for 1.5 is very good.
2011-06-25
Reviews: 1
I used Xmap in a number of 1.5 sites. Unfortunately, the 1.6 rc1 package does not install correctly. For me (joomla 1.6.3), the install displayed errors and the admin pages were not installed.
Page 6 of 16