The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Xmap Popular ComponentPlugin

Xmap is a Site map generator component for Joomla. Xmap allows you to create a map of your site using the structure of your menus. Some of Xmap's features are:
* Capability to create more than one sitemap with different preferences for each sitemap.
* Generation of XML sitemaps compatible with Google, Yahoo, Bing and others.
* Cache system to allow a fastest sitemap generation. Ideally for large or high traffic sites. You can enable or disable this feature independently for each sitemap.
* Exclude easily any menu item from your site map directly from the frontend
* Option to compress the XML sitemap
* Better presentation of the XML sitemap on browsers.
* Compatibility with Joomla 1.5, Joomla 1.6 and Joomla 1.7
* You can specify the priority and change frequency params for each menu and now for every item in your site map.
* You can change the priority and change frequency for every item in your sitemap.
* Shows some statistical information for each sitemap:
o Las visit date.
o Number of links generated on the last visit.
o Number of visits.
* There is available a lot of plugins for the most popular components: Zoom, DOCman, VirtueMart, Fireboard, SMF, Hot Property, SOBI2, Mosets Tree, MyBlog, RSG and many others.
* Customization for each extension

Report Extension

 

 

2011-07-02
Reviews: 2
The J1.6-version does not work at all: "Fout tijdens opbouwen van admin menu's" (Dutch for: error building admin menu's). Should not be listed here yet? Looking forward to it though, Xmap for 1.5 is very good.
2011-06-25
Reviews: 1
I used Xmap in a number of 1.5 sites. Unfortunately, the 1.6 rc1 package does not install correctly. For me (joomla 1.6.3), the install displayed errors and the admin pages were not installed.
2011-06-18
Reviews: 3
This is a great component. I am using XMAP for all Joomla 1.5 sites. Unfortunately with Joomla 1.6 it doesn't work (yet, "Error building Admin Menus").
2011-06-14
Reviews: 12
I'm a site builder and I use this extension on all of my sites.
2011-06-12
Reviews: 3
Thanks for the good work, this installed easily and was a breeze to setup.

Could do with changing the "preferences" for something that makes more sense like "edit your MAP" as normally preferences set the overall option in joomla. But still I figured it out within 5 mins.

Had the strange mootools upgrade problem with the preferences popup not showing, searched for a while with no solution, so in the end I just disabled mootools upgrade plugin to edit my xmap then enabled again afterwards.

Still rate this as a musthave though.
2011-06-05
Reviews: 4
Well I used xmap for quite a while but since I installed Joomla 1.6.3 it is not working anymore. I downloaded the latest version of xmap available but although it installed componens successfully, the program wasn't able to "(Error) building Admin Menus". Right now it looks quite useless to me. Hopefully that will change again.
2011-05-19
Reviews: 2
One of the few extensions I install in my sites. The functionality added is so important that I can't believe that Joomla doesn't provide it out of the box.

Thank you very much Guillermo Vargas for with life saving extension.
2011-05-12
Reviews: 1
Was fairly straightforward to load and implement, however was unable to exclude duplicated pages from site map and forum support seems non-existant. A little more work would make this a great product.
2011-05-07
Reviews: 2
Excellent extension!

Very usefull, Google Webmasters take the sitemap in half a minute, no problem, very very very good!

I got Joomla 1.5.
2011-04-26
Reviews: 3
This is the best site map for joomla. Does exactly what it should. And you can change everything that you need, such as which menues that should be included or css.

Two thumbs up
2011-03-23
Reviews: 1
The new version is not working with Virtuemart products when try to create sitemaps in xml or html. Also the image sitemap is not accepted by Google. This component was one of the best, but now one of the worst!

I try to register on the developers website, but this seems not to be possible. Also it is not possible to register for the forum, so I cannot sumbit my problem nor reply to others with a similair problem.

I tried to contact the developer by e-mail, but no responds until now.

Very poor support!
2011-03-20
Reviews: 2
After installing, go to Components / Xmap to create a new Map selecting which Menus it has to lookup.

Then create a menu of type HTML Xmap and choose the Map you created.

A very good component !
2011-02-02
Reviews: 6
Installed and works great in 1.5 site. Installs but has no functionality in 1.6.

Look forward to further development.
2011-01-31
Reviews: 2
Very good component. Simple to install and config.

My recommendations.
2011-01-27
Reviews: 1
The product does exactly what it says, but I noticed it was taking an awful long time to load each time I visited the map. There are about 25 extensions installed by default with the component, so I removed those and turned on XML compression. This seemed to correct things more to my liking for speed.
2011-01-25
Reviews: 6
Obviously, this is a great extension that is useful on most Joomla websites that serves well an important need. It is, by and large, really well implemented. The plugin system helps it integrate with a host of other important extension. 9 times out of 10 it works on install with minimal configuration. And, importantly, it is an active project.

But as others have said, there is virtually no support. For instance styling without hacking the core; perhaps it's possible but it's not obvious or in keeping with MVC. If you have problems be prepared for some work, or be brave.

But I see there is already a 1.6 version and from the looks of thing it has been refactored to make template over-rides easier. So it looks like this will continue to be a 'must have' extension for Joomla for the next generation.
2011-01-21
Reviews: 2
Don't want to sound boring but this is superb!! Simple to install and config. Wouldn't look any further :)
2011-01-20
Reviews: 9
Easy, fast and fantastic component.

Thanks
2011-01-19
Reviews: 2
Although Xmap performs well in most cases, there is a frustrating lack of support, even in the forum. Issues posted to the forum go unanswered.

I have a problem adding additional menues. Several others have posted the same problem in the forum as I have.

In spite of multiple postings on the issue, there have been no responses.

Where it works, it works great. But when it does not work...you are on your own.
2011-01-07
Reviews: 4
I'm very impressed with the possibility of component and plugins. It works great together with different SEF-component, for example JoomSEF, sh404SEF and others. All addons are very nice and useful. It supports many Joomla extensions. It works great, no problem with installation. The best and powerful site map extension for Joomla. I strongly recommend this component. Thanks for great job!
Page 7 of 16