The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Top of the Page Plugin

With native MooTools AND jQuery modes, compatibility in all major browsers (including IOS and Android), Joomla cache friendly, and a ton of other features - this is ORIGINAL WORK and the most advanced top-button plugin available for Joomla!

"Return to Top" links do nothing for SEO and can even detract from it, and they can clutter your page. When you have a very long page, how do you decide where to put them? Do you need more than one? Are they visible when the user is already at the top of the page?

Top of the Page removes these concerns by creating a "Return to Top" link when the page has been scrolled by a certain (configurable) designated distance. When the page is scrolled back to the top (above the configured distance), the link disappears. If your page is short and users can't scroll down, the link will never be visible.

Your button can be text or images and as of version 2.0, can include an icon using your own icon-fonts - stylable in the plugin configuration, so you're not limited to any included images. The text is set using standard Joomla translation files, and can be overridden using the Joomla Language Manager (instructions included).

You've seen a similar implementation here in the JED (look in the lower right corner), but the JED uses a JQuery implementation while "Top of the Page" is configurable to use either MooTools or jQuery so you can load the correct Javascript framework and keep your pages loading fast!

In MooTools mode, this plugin implements ScrollSpy by David Walsh ( http://davidwalsh.name ).

Joomla 2.5 users in jQuery mode MUST provide your own jQuery. I suggest jQuery Integrator here in the JED. It's very nice. An alternative is jQuery Easy, also here in the JED.

New in 2.0 :
More efficient and streamlined (yes, it's even faster)
JS & PHP rewritten and optimized for performance
JS minified (with debug versions)
The button can contain icon-fonts (super cool)
Squashed weird jQuery animation timing bug
No more top anchor (better for SEO)
No more smoothscroll library (faster without it)
An extra dollop of love.

What isn't new: All available transitions (for both jQuery and Mootools) are present, automatic z-index capabilities. Button text overrides. No pre-set images (meaning, no limitations). Switch between Mootools and jQuery without noticing a difference in the front-end.

Some other extensions in this category are actually forks of a very old version of this plugin which still contain most of the bugs I squashed years ago. The JED rules prevent them from forking this plugin a second time, so they're stuck in the past.

All of my extensions are free and none of my extensions display advertisements or links to my sites or services. If you feel that I have blessed you, then you can bless me by making a contribution to fund future development. Visit the "Website" link to make a contribution.

Report Extension

 

 

2011-12-23
Reviews: 1
Very easy to install component. It works perfect and looks really nice.
Support is also helpful and quick - I had little problem with my site and author helped me quickly and solved my problem in 100%. I recommend this component for all Joomla users :)
2011-12-20
Reviews: 7
This is SUPER! Very configurable - CSS and other customization is right there in the plugin parameters; no need to hack files. The only thing I noticed that could be a problem is that in a narrow window it hid behind my right column. Because the CSS was right there it was easy to fix (z-index: 89;).

One more thing: My template has a "Go to Top" link in it, but it wouldn't work with the Slider extension. (My template "Go to Top" link kept setting up a link like '.../page#last-slide-name#top'. Since that anchor didn't exist, the link went nowhere.) "Top of the Page" works perfectly every time - even with Slider links open or closed.

THANK YOU and GOD BLESS!
Owner's reply

Yeah, z-index can't be anticipated. I never know what environment my plugin will be installed, so I can't anticipate everything. I can, however, provide options ;)

Like you said, CSS is right there - and that's why it's there. Glad you like the plugin!

2011-12-16
Reviews: 6
Really nice and easy to install and style.

For improvement it would be nice to include parameters that make it available to put in own text for the "Return to top" that is automatically generated.

Otherwise. Highly recommended. :)

Good job :)
Owner's reply

I considered adding a field for the button text, but that would prevent use in multi language sites. Using the language override capabilities of joomla is the recommended method.

2011-12-04
Reviews: 5
Superb plugin. So easy to install and configure. Works perfectly with 1.7.
2011-11-03
Reviews: 2
Good extension, easy to install and activate.
One remark : why is it installed with such an incomplete oldfashioned CCS preset ?
I added rounded corners, removed the underline, added a modern font and it looked great.
Owner's reply

OLD FASHIONED!?!?

Yeah, I guess you're right. I didn't want to presume that I could create a perfect output which would work with every color scheme, so I made output that would stand out against most color schemes.

For me it was important to make it easy to style so site administrators didn't need to do anything other than configure the plugin.

2011-10-27
Reviews: 2
Integrates seamlessly with Joomla 1.7.2 and is easy to configure and style. Easy for a beginning Joomla user.

A perfect solution to adding Back to Top code article by article, which addressed a long listing of blog articles.
2011-10-23
Reviews: 3
This is one of my favorite extension, it is very useful, it looks great, you can customize it how ever you want (CSS), nice vanishing effect, and there is a language support. Everything you need for returning to top extension. And there is more, great support from developer. Thank you very much!
2011-10-03
Reviews: 4
Excellent. Great Job. Very little to say apart from that. Oh yes very configurable and light too . The CSS part is a breeze add cursors or what ever you want .

Thank you developer
Owner's reply

Thank you for your kind words.

I wanted to provide that seamless experience, with all of the flexibility I required when implementing it in my own projects. Everything needed to be customizable! I'm glad it works for you and everyone who's given positive reviews (and even those who haven't)

2011-07-11
Reviews: 1
Great extension. easy to set up.
Is there a way to put graphics instead of text?
Owner's reply

That can be done using CSS settings in the plugin configuration.

2011-06-16
Reviews: 3
Just a Great work. all what you need, adding some documentation about changing language and some tutorials about how to add images and custom words.
2011-06-06
Reviews: 46
This is for sure the easiest method for adding a back to top button.
Worked straight away.
Great that the CSS can be customised in the plugin.
Nice smooth fade and scroll effects.
Excellent job :)
Many thanks for making it easy
2011-05-30
Reviews: 3
Works out of the box and easy to install. Integrates the possibility to customize it directly in the plug-in settings or via you template stylesheet. Excellent support. Thanks
2011-05-13
Reviews: 1
This very nice plugin. I've just one question. How can I change "return to top" to different language?
Owner's reply

You'll need to create a language file for the plugin to represent each language you want to translate.

Basically, in your administrator folder, you'll find administrator/language/en-GB/en-GB.plg_system_topofthepage.ini

Copy that file into your needed language folders, so copy it to administrator/language/xx-XX/xx-XX.plg_system_topofthepage.ini

Then edit the file, changing the value within quotes to the appropriate word or phrase in your target language. The specific line you'll need to translate is:
PLG_SYS_TOPOFTHEPAGE_GOTOTOP="Return to Top"

The rest of the file is for the plugin translations in the backend.

2011-05-07
Reviews: 2
Very nice to use for both admins and visitors I think, espcially since the colors can be modified so it gets discreet.
One thing I miss though is a way to translate it. If I could easily translate it to other languages it would get 5 stars from me.
Thanks.
Owner's reply

You should note that this extension is a plugin AND language file. This means the plugin uses standard joomla translation files. If you want another language, copy the English translation file to the appropriate language folder and translate it.

No chance for that 5th star now, even though the plugin already does this.

2011-05-05
Reviews: 5
The code is working very well. and it is hidden untill you scroll down the age and then you will see a button with a adjustable color is apearing which is the thing I am exactly looking for.
However the problem is it will shift the menu bar (in position-0 my_beez20 nature template) down and it is annoying.
I hope the developer continue his great work and correct the bug.
Owner's reply

Thanks for reporting your issue, but I wish you had contacted me regarding the issue rather than post it here in the review. I try to be very responsive to errors or other issues with my extensions.

Version 1.1 is now available and resolves this issue - tested against the beez template.

2011-05-05
Reviews: 1
thank you for this very nice plugin :-))

is there any way to get it run under 1.5? I have 1.6 only for testing and i found it not so good.
Owner's reply

Love or hate 1.6, it's here to stay. The same cannot be said for 1.5. Eventually (January 2012) support will end and extensions will follow.

Writing two versions of an extension adds a lot of extra work for no monetary reason...Remember, all of my extensions are free. On that note, I CAN be bribed.

2011-05-02
Reviews: 9
After some problems with access to download site i get excelent extension. I was using J2Top in Joomla 1.5, but this is more simplest to set button style. It works as expected, or better :-)

Support is not needed, it works after installation and publishing.

Very good job! Thanks.
Owner's reply

Thanks for your kind words. I wanted to make it easy to use and style. I'm glad you appreciate my work.

Page 3 of 3