The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Phoca Favicon Component

Phoca Favicon is a Joomla! component. It is a simple component that generates favicon on your Joomla! site. You can change the favicon of your site whenever you like.

Requirements:
- Joomla!1.5, 2.5, 3 (stable or any later version).
- PHP 4.4.1 (or any later version) with GD library (graphics library for thumbnails creation).

Documentation:
http://www.phoca.cz/documentation/category/4-phoca-favicon-component

Frontend Demo:
http://www.phoca.cz/demo/phoca-favicon

Since version 2 (Joomla! 1.7) Favicon can have transparent background
Phoca Favicon and Joomla! 1.7 Demo:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomlademo/phoca-favicon

Report Extension

 

 

2010-11-26
Reviews: 1
I found this extension really easy to use as well. It does what I expected.
It should only be considered while preparing the original image file, that the favicon.ico will only be 16x16 pixel size. In case the original image would have the same ratio, than the result should be fine.
2010-11-08
Reviews: 3
If you need to put an favicon on your site then look no further as this is by far the easiest way to accomplish it. A simple component that does what it's supposed to very well.
2010-09-28
Reviews: 1
This is a "must have" extension. Easily creates a favicon and puts it where you want it, eliminating several step process to do it from scratch. It's a real time saver - simple, easy and it just works. Thanks Phoca!!
2010-09-13
Reviews: 4
As a total newbie Ive downloaded a few extensions, not being a developer it can be a real struggle at times. This extension was the absolute easiest one to date, brilliant, wish they were all this easy.
Thank you so much, it adds that extra bit of professionalism to the website.
2010-09-02
Reviews: 8
very good extension you must download. easy to install, easy to use. but yet, little advance for template that already have template.
many thanks for the extension and good works for the developer.
2010-09-01
Reviews: 1
simple to download and install...no real need for any instructions....yes it's that simple...you do need to use it for all templates installed...thanks for making this possible...another donation on the way....
2010-07-25
Reviews: 2
Very easy and fast, nice application i only upload original picture to a folder indicated in the installation

Muy fácil uso y buena aplicación. Solo es necesario subir la imagen original en la carpera indicada durante la instalación

Very Gooood
2010-07-16
Reviews: 3
Great little extension. Had this up and running within 5 minutes.
2010-07-15
Reviews: 1
The phoca favicon is one of my Joomla extension essential. For your website image you simply can't without. It's so easy to install and use. I've made an tutorial for it: (in dutch) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=58rspG3LpEo
2010-06-24
Reviews: 3
Thank you for this neat little extension. I had my favicon up and running in less than 5 minutes. After I finish this review I will immediately make a donation :)
2010-06-10
Reviews: 3
Great lil extension! Had my favicon up and working in less then a minute! Simple, easy and effective!

Thanks again Phoca!
2010-06-01
Reviews: 1
Awesome extension. Easy to use. A must have.

Enjoy
2010-05-09
Reviews: 2
I have enough technology understand to stay out of trouble . . . as for knowing what the code is doing, NOPE. But, I do have enough to have virtuemart setup and setting with XML feeds - yes, I can hire developers, lol.

Based on others reviews I decided to give this a try. While not "important" the favicon is a branding tool and one of the first things people see. I also have friends that won't bookmark a page unless it has a unique and interesting favicon! Let's say they are NONtechies, but they are buyers.

This extension was EASY EASY EASY and effective. Sometimes it is OK to have extension that does one thing and does it well. You don't even have to load the .ico file . . . it creates it for you.

SUPER! Thank you.
2010-04-24
Reviews: 1
nice and easy
2010-03-28
Reviews: 2
As a complete newbie to Joomla! and anything more complicated than your old drag and drop homepage, a favicon was the LAST thing I was worried about adding to my new professional website.

While browsing extensions to get an idea of what capabilities were available, I came across Phoca Favicon. The write up said it was simple, and the reviews were good, so I decided to give it a try.

It was simple, quick, easy to use, and immediately put me notches above the rest of the sites out there with their canned tab icons!

This is a simple but very effective business web strategy that could easily be overlooked if someone does not have the knowledge to implement a simple icon. Thank you for making it so easy!
2010-02-17
Reviews: 1
What a friendly and easy way to get your own logo on the site. A modest, but great extension.
2010-02-02
Reviews: 4
I've been trying to months to find change the favicon for IE. Managed to do it manually for the other browsers but like everything else browser-related, IE was difficult.

Then I came across this wonderful extension. Downloaded, installed, uploaded the image to the new folder, created the favicon, and voila~~~. Complete.

Thanks for this easy but effective tool!!
2010-01-15
Reviews: 2
Simple and works like a charm. After you have created the favicon, you just close, clean out your browser, then restart it. Thanks for the easy install!
2009-12-08
Reviews: 7
Great small component. love it! Simple, easy and efficent!
2009-11-16
Reviews: 2
Wow, smart, simple, elegant and all my pages have the right icon. Very nice work, saved me some time, which is ALWAYS the important part!
Thanks to you Phoca!
Page 2 of 4