The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Phoca Favicon Component

Phoca Favicon is a Joomla! component. It is a simple component that generates favicon on your Joomla! site. You can change the favicon of your site whenever you like.

Requirements:
- Joomla!1.5, 2.5, 3 (stable or any later version).
- PHP 4.4.1 (or any later version) with GD library (graphics library for thumbnails creation).

Documentation:
http://www.phoca.cz/documentation/category/4-phoca-favicon-component

Frontend Demo:
http://www.phoca.cz/demo/phoca-favicon

Since version 2 (Joomla! 1.7) Favicon can have transparent background
Phoca Favicon and Joomla! 1.7 Demo:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomlademo/phoca-favicon

Report Extension

 

 

2009-11-16
Reviews: 2
Wow, smart, simple, elegant and all my pages have the right icon. Very nice work, saved me some time, which is ALWAYS the important part!
Thanks to you Phoca!
2009-11-15
Reviews: 1
Easy to install and use. Highly recommended.
2009-10-25
Reviews: 1
I'll give it 6 stars if it can make my ico transparency
Owner's reply

Hi, thank you for your review,

this feature was added to version 2.0.0

Jan

2009-10-06
Reviews: 2
Good work in creating this tool. Very easy to install, configure and use. In no time I had my favicon created and posted on my site. Keep up the good work. Thanks!
Germain
2009-09-23
Reviews: 6
Excellent... It's a "must" and it works very well, very easy.
2009-09-10
Reviews: 3
Jan did it again....

It solves a problem that makes quite a headache...
Although it is true that you can do it by editing the templates, putting pics into somewhere, for those who use Joomla, a component fits to the system much rather that editing files directly.

I believe, it is a "core" extension for those who make websites for the public.
2009-09-08
Reviews: 2
I found this really, really simple and easy to use. I'm still learning how to set things up in my site, mostly basic stuff and this was by far the easiest module I have installed.
The only trouble I came across was with the 'thumbs' directory as posted in an earlier review. That review helped me fix the problem and continue on my way - thanks roandr!
2009-09-04
Reviews: 2
Incredible extention. Will use this everytime !! I'm new to joomla and wasn't going to try this extension but was desperate, SO glad i did, could've done with it 3hrs ago.
2009-08-13
Reviews: 3
im not entirely sure what the point of this extension is. Creating a favicon take minutes anyway without this extension. Secondly it does not support images with transparent backgrounds,which is important when creating favicons. Also, from what i gather you have to manually upload the favicon image. Perhaps i missing something but im not sure how this extension helps me?
Owner's reply

Hi,
"Creating a favicon take minutes anyway without this extension"
With this component it takes some seconds.

Using this component saves users some steps while creating favicon:

- you need not to resize your image (Phoca Favicon will create icon from image which have any size)
- you need not to convert image to ico file
- you need not to copy this ico to server, to template folder.

So it is the same like you will say, you need not Joomla! because you can write all your articles direct into the php files. Users who have no image editor, who don't know resizing images, who don't have any idea how to convert image to ico type, who don't know the place where to copy this icon, maybe they will appreciate this help.

If you don't need this help, it is very easy, just uninstall this component and make all these steps manually.

Jan

2009-05-30
Reviews: 9
I remember when I entered Joomla! world, my experienced with Joomla! friend said: Almost everything its possible, but no idea how to change favicon. Phoca overrides that easy. 5 stars and thank You Jan, for that simple but efficiency tool. I use that with many of my sites, never got any problems, always works perfect.
2009-05-20
Reviews: 1
Thanks so much for this. I have a long story of breaking my site trying to create a favicon. I don't know why i didn't think of the extensions directory. Nice work man.
2009-05-17
Reviews: 1
Very good. Literally plug and play - took me a few minutes to get that you have to click create favicon after you have selected your template and uploaded your file but that is just because I am a newbie and still getting my head around Joomla.

Really does do what it says on the tin.
2009-04-20
Reviews: 31
Phoca seems to create the most reliable Joomla extensions and this one is no different.

It took me no more than 5 secs to set up my favicon, and it was so easy I could have done it blindfolded.

Thank you so much!
2008-10-21
Reviews: 2
Took me about 5 seconds to Install and create a Favicon for my website.

Great tool!

On thing I would suggest is to make it possible to upload the favicon image from the administration without having to go to ftp client.
2008-09-26
Reviews: 1
Easy to load, easy to use. Not much else to say other than well done.
2008-09-06
Reviews: 2
It does what it says on the TIN.

Uplodaded a picture, pressed create, and DONE. What else do you need? :D.

Thank you.
2008-08-12
Reviews: 2
1. I tested it on Joomla! 1.5.5 and had some issue with the generated thumbs. When I re-uploaded edited versions of the image I used as base for my favicon (using the same file name) this component did not update the thumbs/favicon. Clearing the browser cache did not help. I had to manually delete the thumbs sub-directory (/images/phocafavicon/thumbs) to fix this.

2. It does not seem to support transparency - something that limits its uses.

Other than that I liked the easiness of the component.
2008-08-09
Reviews: 3
This is an excellent component! The download, installation and creation of a new favicon took about 1 minute all in all - timesaver!
2008-08-08
Reviews: 1
This is the 4th Phoca Extension I have installed....Like all the others, it is a dream to use/install. Another plus is the ease of use and rapid page loading of their site.
2008-07-30
Reviews: 1
No problems, no hassles. Upload any image into the phocafavicon directory in your images folder, and point the component to it. Then hit "create" and you have a nice new favicon! What could be easier? Great job!
Page 3 of 4