The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


MetaMod Module

Control your modules! (WORKS ON JOOMLA 3.2!)

…by date, time, recurring time, GeoIP (country of viewer), browser type and language, user name, group, page within other component (e.g. Virtuemart, K2), on-page text, article keywords, by article, section/category, domain, referrer…

…and much, much more!

MetaMod is a "Meta Module" - a module that includes other modules, according to a set of rules.

By installing the free GeoLite Country or City database from MaxMind, you can switch modules based on country names/cities/states etc.

Suggested uses:
★ VirtueMart: hide or show different modules at checkout, cart, product pages, categories etc.
★ Timed modules: recurring daily/weekly times and dates (great for radio/TV/broadcasting sites)
★ Languages: show different menus/modules based on the front-end language the user has selected (e.g. with JoomFish), or according to their browser language
★ Users: show a module for users registered for more (or less) than a certain time period, or target modules to certain users or groups
★ Switch between 2 modules for logged-in users and guests
★ Section/Category-specific modules: target modules according to the section/category of the displayed article
★ Domain & referrer: display different modules depending on which domain is being used for the page, or which site the user linked from
★ Browser detection: switch modules depending on the user's browser & browser version (e.g. show a different module for people viewing the site with Internet Explorer IE)
★ Control modules based on text found in the main component of the page
★ Control modules such as RSForm (show a different form based on where in the world someone is connecting from, etc)
★ Target modules onto specific pages in JReviews, CommunityBuilder, SOBI and almost any other component
★ Dynamically control the parameters of other modules on the page as well as whether the modules appear or not
★ and so much more!

Many more uses can be found in the documentation on the site, and in the forums. See you there!

VERSION NOTE:
★ v3.x is compatible with Joomla 1.7/2.5/3.0/3.1
★ v2.x is only compatible with Joomla 1.5.
★ Please download and install the right module for your Joomla version.

RECENT IMPROVEMENTS

v3.16 (24 Mar 2014)
* HikaShop support
* J3.2
* various VM fixes

v3.13b (10 Jul 2013)
* added K2 support
* confirmed J3.1 support
* fixed minor issue in VM handling

v3.13 (27 Nov 2012)
* fixed crasher in GeoLiteCIty support
* added support for VM 2.0.14; JomGenius now detects new pagetypes notify/recommend/manufacturer product listing.

v3.12 (19 Nov 2012)
* Now J 3.0 compatible!

v3.11 (03 Sep 2012)
* Added compatibility with JoomFish for J2.5

v3.10 (23 Jul 2012)
* Added Categorizr support to JomGenius, for detecting mobile, desktop, tablet and tv devices.

v3.9
* Multiple improvements to JomGenius support for VM 2.x

v3.8 (14 Feb 2012)
* Added J2.5 support

Report Extension

 

 

2012-07-04
Reviews: 1
Not often I write a review but I have to for this one.

The module has excellent capabilities and is very flexible. We achieved exactly what we wanted.

The real winner for us and star is Stephen Brandon. His support was pretty much instant and spot on.

Highly recommended.
2012-05-11
Reviews: 3
This module allowed me to do something that I personally think should be built right into Joomla - the ability to display a module on an article page based on the article's category. Awesome that this work-around exists though. Very powerful self-serve conditionality for modules!
2012-04-08
Reviews: 6
A little hard to unterstand, but mighty tool! It is really great!
2012-04-03
Reviews: 5
I've used Metamod on three sites now for very different needs and each time I use it, I learn more and gain more power and control of the sites.

The latest site is a subscription site combining Docman, Akeeba Subscriptions and Metamod. With this combination I can present a different subscription module with Metamod to charge different subscriptions for different countries without subscribers knowing their is a difference and automatically restrict access to some documents (via subscription groups) for subscribers in countries where we don't have publishing rights.

Can't thank the publishers enough.
2012-03-14
Reviews: 4
This is the best module for playing with modules ^^ many thx to dev team
2012-02-01
Reviews: 1
The documentation is not too good. But when it is up and running, it does the job just great!!!
Owner's reply

Hi CPHWebDesign: if there's something that you were struggling with, that didn't appear in the documentation, forum help or "recipe" pages, please get in contact via the site, and I'll do my best to add it. Because of the sheer scale of things that you can do with MetaMod, it's hard to prioritise which should be documented, so we rely on feedback to know what else to add and how it can be improved.

Thanks for your feedback, Stephen.

2012-01-12
Reviews: 5
Very useful extension. Support is top notch.
2012-01-12
Reviews: 3
A really useful mod for the little things, and the big things if you're good :) Also I had problems with mine, but received quick responses on their forum. Kudos and thanks!
2012-01-05
Reviews: 6
Am using the free version of this component had a few issues setting up coding for module to show on specific items for SobiPro, the free help I got was second to none.
Will buy Pro version can't praise the help I got enough
Mike
2011-12-19
Reviews: 4
This is fundamentally the most useful module I've come across. Combined with MightySites it lets me run geographicaly tailored content through one website. Simply a must have!
2011-12-19
Reviews: 1
Great extension. Used it in couple of projects. Worked as expected.
2011-12-13
Reviews: 4
I've been wanting a module like this for some time and cant belive it's taken me so long to find this. I works out of the box with no issues.
Set up was easy and simple.
This is a must have for any website and even the free version is amazing!
2011-12-07
Reviews: 1
I would be lost without it! Perfect for everything.

Fast support too.
2011-11-30
Reviews: 6
Since i've found this module, it is impossible now to build a new Joomla project without him. There's NOTHING i can't do with. Great, great support.
2011-11-04
Reviews: 2
If there was a joomla hall of fame - Stephen Brandon should be in - need i say more - the swiss knife of modules...

would do well to expand on more regex and related "recipies". Recommend as a whole hearted buy.
2011-09-28
Reviews: 6
I am running Joomla 1.5.23 w/ SOBI2 and a couple YT Modules on my homepage.

I spent 5 hours trying to stop these modules from showing up on search, alpha index, login and various other pages. In my search I found MetMod on the SigSiu website and this looked like my answer however I am not a programmer and this looked rather daunting.

I contacted Stephen via email, he was very responsive and helpful. We installed the mod and low and behold it fixed the problem without any extra coding.

All I can say is wow, thanks for the awesome help and for fixing this bug for us.

Micah
2011-09-22
Reviews: 3
I am using the non-pro version. I love this mod! With all the 'recipes' that are available from the website - there are literally limitless applications!

http://www.metamodpro.com/metamod/recipes

Easy to setup - easy to use!
2011-09-17
Reviews: 1
We used this extension on a new site to control how modules are displayed within virtuemart categories.
It makes a difficult task soo easy.

I needed to apply a fairly complex rule and googled for an answer, the Metamod forum had an outstanding answer and I simply copied and pasted it, making some minor changes. It worked just as expected.

I love this module.

I'm fairly adept with Joomla and have some basic PHP knowledge, but MetaMod makes applying rules extremely easy.

And allows for more complex usage depending upon your needs and skills.
2011-09-04
Reviews: 4
exactly what i am looking for, your the best guys
2011-09-03
Reviews: 4
Its a very powerful extension! It is not always easy to find the right recipe but at least you will always get help from the developer! Great support and great module, 5 stars!
Page 2 of 9