The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


MetaMod Module

Control your modules! (WORKS ON JOOMLA 3.2!)

…by date, time, recurring time, GeoIP (country of viewer), browser type and language, user name, group, page within other component (e.g. Virtuemart, K2), on-page text, article keywords, by article, section/category, domain, referrer…

…and much, much more!

MetaMod is a "Meta Module" - a module that includes other modules, according to a set of rules.

By installing the free GeoLite Country or City database from MaxMind, you can switch modules based on country names/cities/states etc.

Suggested uses:
★ VirtueMart: hide or show different modules at checkout, cart, product pages, categories etc.
★ Timed modules: recurring daily/weekly times and dates (great for radio/TV/broadcasting sites)
★ Languages: show different menus/modules based on the front-end language the user has selected (e.g. with JoomFish), or according to their browser language
★ Users: show a module for users registered for more (or less) than a certain time period, or target modules to certain users or groups
★ Switch between 2 modules for logged-in users and guests
★ Section/Category-specific modules: target modules according to the section/category of the displayed article
★ Domain & referrer: display different modules depending on which domain is being used for the page, or which site the user linked from
★ Browser detection: switch modules depending on the user's browser & browser version (e.g. show a different module for people viewing the site with Internet Explorer IE)
★ Control modules based on text found in the main component of the page
★ Control modules such as RSForm (show a different form based on where in the world someone is connecting from, etc)
★ Target modules onto specific pages in JReviews, CommunityBuilder, SOBI and almost any other component
★ Dynamically control the parameters of other modules on the page as well as whether the modules appear or not
★ and so much more!

Many more uses can be found in the documentation on the site, and in the forums. See you there!

VERSION NOTE:
★ v3.x is compatible with Joomla 1.7/2.5/3.0/3.1
★ v2.x is only compatible with Joomla 1.5.
★ Please download and install the right module for your Joomla version.

RECENT IMPROVEMENTS

v3.16 (24 Mar 2014)
* HikaShop support
* J3.2
* various VM fixes

v3.13b (10 Jul 2013)
* added K2 support
* confirmed J3.1 support
* fixed minor issue in VM handling

v3.13 (27 Nov 2012)
* fixed crasher in GeoLiteCIty support
* added support for VM 2.0.14; JomGenius now detects new pagetypes notify/recommend/manufacturer product listing.

v3.12 (19 Nov 2012)
* Now J 3.0 compatible!

v3.11 (03 Sep 2012)
* Added compatibility with JoomFish for J2.5

v3.10 (23 Jul 2012)
* Added Categorizr support to JomGenius, for detecting mobile, desktop, tablet and tv devices.

v3.9
* Multiple improvements to JomGenius support for VM 2.x

v3.8 (14 Feb 2012)
* Added J2.5 support

Report Extension

 

 

2010-01-02
Reviews: 2
There should be 10 stars for this module/plugin. I have been using the free version a while and decided to purchase the 'Pro' versions to help support the developer out. The $20 for the pro version is nowhere near enough compensation for what this module can do and the time that has gone into it. I love this thing!!! Simply amazing...
2009-11-20
Reviews: 4
can not live without it. and... it is free! with a small money for the Pro, you got even better results!
2009-11-20
Reviews: 2
I was trying for the last few months for some creative way to stop spam registration arising from certain countries, tried registration forms with captcha etc. But they still kept coming. Then I realized I can use Metamod and GeoIP function to stop users from specific countries being able to register. I wrote about my need in the forum and Stephen was immediately helpful within a few hrs I had my requirement fulfilled.

One should thank Stephen for this amazing Module. This module should rather be included in the core of Joomla considering the length and breadth of its applications. Truly the work of a genius. Hats Off Mate.
2009-11-18
Reviews: 5
MetaMod (and Pro) makes it simple to show and hide modules based on so many criteria, that it's difficult to imagine ever creating a Joomla! site without it.

In 10 minutes, I had accomplished what it had formerly taken me hours of template modifications to do (without having to modify the templates). The extension is well-documented and the recipes section of the web site includes code samples to cover any situation that should arise (especially the most common one I have – hide the left column navigation on the home page).
2009-11-09
Reviews: 16
Much needed and great usage. Had little trouble figuring it out, but once it was running, worked perfectly. Thank you for this.
2009-11-06
Reviews: 6
What a great module! I may have spent a whole 5 minutes reading the documentation on recipes so I could attempt to control modules appearing in sub-categories in SOBI2. I cut and pasted the sample. I replaced two fields with my information. Clicked on Enable and it worked. That took all of 2 minutes. Now I can easily sell advertising to appear for different cities and even individual SOBI2 entries. This is fabulous.
2009-10-10
Reviews: 3
MetaMod has some issues like module styling still visible for "hidden" modules but with MetaMod Pro, everything works right out the box!

This is a must-have module for any serious Joomla 1.5 developer! 10 out of 10! Get it now!
2009-09-28
Reviews: 1
This extension was easy to use, install and decipher. I used it easily for basic functionality and some intermediate functionality. The software is well documented with great support.

My requirements ended up needing dynamic menus based off of many different criterion of user event registration.

I'm not familiar with php and after speaking with Stephen, I was confident in hiring him for this challenging task. I got more than I expected.

He communicated effectively and patiently and did a tremendous job. I've worked with many consultants and very few are as top notch. I would highly recommend him and this extension.
2009-09-25
Reviews: 1
Fot years I've been trying to come up with creative hacks to get different menus appearing to different user groups under every conditions.

Usually there is a component that decides not to show my menu and there's nothing in the module settings you can do about it.

This module gives me the control back of everything!!!

Thanks!
2009-09-15
Reviews: 2
one thing I learned: the module you want to include must be enabled. in my case I had to set the Menu Assignment to None and put MetaMod on the page the initial module was, then check the $id. thanks for the mod.
2009-09-11
Reviews: 1
I was using metamod pro for a while now. Happy that it could solve my problems without much fuss, just some small lines of code. However with a big site, it was taking some empty spaces in my template when it was not displaying anything. Empty spaces or weird styling if I had any assign to it. However I discovered that the pro version solves all that. I had some problems with it at the beginning (forgot to enable it, joomlaseo was breaking it) but Stephen was very helpful and hold me hand the whole time. Thank you Stephen!
2009-09-07
Reviews: 1
I had been trying to find a way to show a module on a specific page on my site for weeks. Then I found this excellent module and the developer Stephen helped me to make it do exactly what I wanted. I can't thank you enough for this incredible extension. It works like Magic!
Owner's reply

Hi Santapec - thanks for the review, it was a pleasure helping you. Just a comment for the review below this one, I've now added some more browser detection including Chrome and iPhone, to this page: http://www.metamodpro.com/support/recipes/40-general/66-change-joomla-module-based-on-browser-detection or http://bit.ly/80FbO

2009-09-04
Reviews: 1
We are building a social shopping site and this was a great tool to get some things done. Only little thing I noticed was that in the support page there isn't any mention of Google Chrome in the browser detect code, would be good idea to just throw an extra bit in there for noobs like me :)
Owner's reply

Hi Mortega1 - you're right, there's no mention of Chrome. I'll add that to the (brand new) support pages soon. At last MetaMod has proper support pages and a forum! I've also released a companion to MetaMod called MetaMod Pro - check it out!

2009-08-28
Reviews: 5
Great extension for customizing a website. Lots of options, but easy to configure. I like it!
2009-08-28
Reviews: 3
This needs to be added to the Joomla core. Under menu assignment there should be an extra option "Custom" with MetaMod capabilities.

Thanks Stephen Brandon for your great contribution to the Joomla community!
2009-08-24
Reviews: 1
We are developing a site that has to be quite sensitive to the status of the current user ( Unregistered, Registered, Author...)- and MetaMod has been inestimable helping us to do that.

Although tremendously powerful, the setup of this module is simple, it works out of box and the recipes the developer included in the module ( and in the documentation ) are so didatic that enables even people without previous Joomla! experience to use it easily.

Thanks a lot, Stephen. Your module is a very useful and professional extension.
2009-08-21
Reviews: 1
Thank Stephen. Can’t give this extension less than the top score, it deserves 10 of 10. The large scope, ease of use and the flexibility of this extension convert it in a must in any installation of Joomla. What a hack free, elegant, potential and practical solution this is. I had one problem using the redirect feature of the extension and Stephen resolved it right away. We haven’t many free extensions that can do what Metamod does, so I ask everyone to please support this extension of so great value for the Joomla community, at least I will.
2009-08-01
Reviews: 2
I want to give you 10 stars to you for this module! Simple and easy to configure.

I do not much php but your examples helped a lot and I had it up and running within 1 minute.

Hats off to You!
2009-07-01
Reviews: 6
My only regret I can't give more than 5 stars
this module IS FANTASTIC

the simplest thing in the simplest easy and clear way !
You just helped me making my site so much better.
Thank yo very much
Supporting you is a pleasure
2009-06-22
Reviews: 2
EXACTLY what i was searching for!

This is a great way to cater to different visitors and clients. Show one thing before they log in, show another after. This needs to be standard.

Thanks MetaMod-
Page 5 of 9