The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


MetaMod Module

Control your modules! (WORKS ON JOOMLA 3.2!)

…by date, time, recurring time, GeoIP (country of viewer), browser type and language, user name, group, page within other component (e.g. Virtuemart, K2), on-page text, article keywords, by article, section/category, domain, referrer…

…and much, much more!

MetaMod is a "Meta Module" - a module that includes other modules, according to a set of rules.

By installing the free GeoLite Country or City database from MaxMind, you can switch modules based on country names/cities/states etc.

Suggested uses:
★ VirtueMart: hide or show different modules at checkout, cart, product pages, categories etc.
★ Timed modules: recurring daily/weekly times and dates (great for radio/TV/broadcasting sites)
★ Languages: show different menus/modules based on the front-end language the user has selected (e.g. with JoomFish), or according to their browser language
★ Users: show a module for users registered for more (or less) than a certain time period, or target modules to certain users or groups
★ Switch between 2 modules for logged-in users and guests
★ Section/Category-specific modules: target modules according to the section/category of the displayed article
★ Domain & referrer: display different modules depending on which domain is being used for the page, or which site the user linked from
★ Browser detection: switch modules depending on the user's browser & browser version (e.g. show a different module for people viewing the site with Internet Explorer IE)
★ Control modules based on text found in the main component of the page
★ Control modules such as RSForm (show a different form based on where in the world someone is connecting from, etc)
★ Target modules onto specific pages in JReviews, CommunityBuilder, SOBI and almost any other component
★ Dynamically control the parameters of other modules on the page as well as whether the modules appear or not
★ and so much more!

Many more uses can be found in the documentation on the site, and in the forums. See you there!

VERSION NOTE:
★ v3.x is compatible with Joomla 1.7/2.5/3.0/3.1
★ v2.x is only compatible with Joomla 1.5.
★ Please download and install the right module for your Joomla version.

RECENT IMPROVEMENTS

v3.16 (24 Mar 2014)
* HikaShop support
* J3.2
* various VM fixes

v3.13b (10 Jul 2013)
* added K2 support
* confirmed J3.1 support
* fixed minor issue in VM handling

v3.13 (27 Nov 2012)
* fixed crasher in GeoLiteCIty support
* added support for VM 2.0.14; JomGenius now detects new pagetypes notify/recommend/manufacturer product listing.

v3.12 (19 Nov 2012)
* Now J 3.0 compatible!

v3.11 (03 Sep 2012)
* Added compatibility with JoomFish for J2.5

v3.10 (23 Jul 2012)
* Added Categorizr support to JomGenius, for detecting mobile, desktop, tablet and tv devices.

v3.9
* Multiple improvements to JomGenius support for VM 2.x

v3.8 (14 Feb 2012)
* Added J2.5 support

Report Extension

 

 

2009-06-13
Reviews: 4
I sent a donation to support the development of this module. Just install and it works! I'm using this module to geotarget advertising campaigns on my website, and I can set start/end easily the module as I want.
Works great with Pro Sticky Message. Now I can display a diferent popunder for US, UK and so on.
I hope that people using MetaMod will recognize the fantastic work of the developer and will make a donation too. This project is amazing.

Thanks
2009-06-03
Reviews: 2
This module works great! Thanks to the great support of Stephan!

Thanks!!
2009-05-26
Reviews: 10
Not only is this a great module, but Stephen has helped me every step of the way to customize it to fit the needs of my site. I agree that we all need to donate to keep this module going! Thank you Stephen for all your help!
2009-05-26
Reviews: 1
I've been using this mod for a while now and it works great for the most part. There are a few errors that come up when the meta mod specific variables are called.

The documentation is good and easy to understand. Although there are no support forms at the makers website my emails to the maker haven't been acknowledged.

All in all a great find. Thank you very much.
Owner's reply

Hi Tidehawk - unfortunately my e-mail was down for a couple of weeks during May and at the time I was away on business for most of the month. Can you please send your e-mail again?
A new site for MetaMod is in preparation, and will have forums on it as well. Sorry it's taking so long!

2009-05-25
Reviews: 5
I don't know why this feature isn't part of Joomla from the start. I'm just glad that someone put it together. Best of all it's free. Just install the module and read the directions on the developer's website. It works, it's simple, it's a must have for content management.
2009-05-17
Reviews: 1
An amazing module that does what it says and is FREE! No crap, no messing about, just straightforward module goodness. This really helped the overall appearance of my site. Thanks so much!
2009-05-16
Reviews: 4
I needed something which enabled me to show a module to a particular user. This handy little module allowed me to do exactly that. The code is easy to understand in order to configure the settings.

I previously installed JUGA and the likes. I found them too heavy on the backend with too much configuration which went way over my head.

I'm still shaking my head wondering why this little beauty hadn't been developed earlier.

Well done Stephen, MetaMod is definately worth the donation.
2009-05-04
Reviews: 1
I'm using MetaMod to show or hide menus for users from three companies. It has been so easy to filter them according to the IP addresses of their respective proxy gateways.

The only issue I had was to put the MetaMod module class suffix to "blank". Without this parameter my module was appearing inside the MetaMod one.

The documentation is clear an usefull including for the PHP part.

I cannot say anything on support as I did not use it!

It was my first review on this site and I'm so happy to have done it for MetaMod.

Thank you Stephen for this "must to have" module.

Rajoz (France)
2009-04-28
Reviews: 5
I think this module is one of the most powerful tools you can have in your Joomla toolbox, it allows a huge range of possibilities to customize your site that can't be done out of the box.

Stephen has helped me with several issues and gone out of his way to make sure they have worked properly on my site.

Hopefully enough of us can donate to make this worth his time.

Thanks for the module!
2009-04-27
Reviews: 1
Not tested yet the support but the documentation is ok ! Even for non-php specialists :)
This module helped me A LOT in virtuemart in order to asign module(s) to specific categories or products !
Use this extension and get ALL the flexibility you need !
TOP ! Thanks a lot Stephen !
2009-04-21
Reviews: 5
Had to show certain access links to different user-groups and in the same time all to the admin, what worked really good. The documentation is complete and understandable. Took me about ten minutes to configure how needed.
And a side-effect: Did me make think over my complicated access structure, what was fun!
2009-04-20
Reviews: 1
Really nice.. I wanted to display a module only to certain user groups, and this did it without any hitch.
2009-04-14
Reviews: 3
MetaMod helped me overcome one of Joomlas big "little" bugs...

I wanted to display a menu module on every page, based on the parent menu item - without having to change the visibility in the module paramenters, every time a new submenu item is created...

and thanks to MetaMod and Stephans help in creating the code for this particular use, this problem was solved!

Sean.
2009-04-14
Reviews: 1
Stephen - Has been excellent - providing excellent support and very quick support.

PLEASE DONATE and support this component - I will certainly do so...

I am using the component to run a demo site for a radio station (University).

Loading modules for each individual user logging in - and controlling the times the module will be active for ie; 9.00am - 11.00am & 4.00pm - 6.00pm.

While admin users can have all the stations (modules/articles) active.

1 thing that I came across is that the module HAS TO BE PUBLISHED before you can used METAMOD. What I did was published the module in a position NOT USED by the template to get it working correctly.

Best module ever !
2009-04-13
Reviews: 1
Stephen helped me to build a rule to display menus dynamically. The code was easy to install, runs well and has helped out the expansion of my website immensely! Highly recommended!
2009-04-01
Reviews: 4
This module is perfect ! Indeed, Joomla doesn't offer the possibility to hide module to registered user and show this same module to non registered user !

With that module it's possible ! The backoffice in intuitive.

Really nice module, thanks a lot !
2009-03-27
Reviews: 2
I use the module to display/hidden some specific menu on base of the connected user. I tried to use more complex system with ACL, but metamod is the more useful and simple to implement in my case.
Thanks a lot for your job.
2009-03-23
Reviews: 1
Metamod is one of the greatest modules i've ever worked with.

The developer was very helpful in assisting me with custom php code to achieve what we wanted.

We wanted a module to be displayed ONLY if a certain member was online and also a module just to display to guests.

I have also heard that the developer will be placing this custom php code on his website for other members to benefit from.

Stephen...... A* mate!
2009-02-25
Reviews: 4
I must jump on the 5-star bandwagon for this gem. I've used three techniques to display different content to different member levels. First I played with 3rd party ACL components but that made upgrading much more complicated. Second, I used Jumi, another Joomla gem. This required creating more PHP to be maintained. Now I've switched to metamod with a mod_custom for each member level. This is simple to maintain and works perfectly. Great solution and highly recommended.
2009-02-23
Reviews: 1
I needed a way to show one module once a week for an hour (linking user to online radio broadcast of my client).
After trying many option with out any results..I found this module.

This MetaMod hit the spot!.. It was just what I needed!!

After getting a chance to explore MetaMod even further I came to the conclusion that this needs to be part of the Joomla core.
On first look you may not see a use for MetaMod but i have had it a week and can see that i have spent many hours trying to come up with ways to do all kinds of module placement stuff that this module will do in just a few moments.
Can I give it 6 or 7 stars?
Page 6 of 9