The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


MetaMod Module

Control your modules! (WORKS ON JOOMLA 3.2!)

…by date, time, recurring time, GeoIP (country of viewer), browser type and language, user name, group, page within other component (e.g. Virtuemart, K2), on-page text, article keywords, by article, section/category, domain, referrer…

…and much, much more!

MetaMod is a "Meta Module" - a module that includes other modules, according to a set of rules.

By installing the free GeoLite Country or City database from MaxMind, you can switch modules based on country names/cities/states etc.

Suggested uses:
★ VirtueMart: hide or show different modules at checkout, cart, product pages, categories etc.
★ Timed modules: recurring daily/weekly times and dates (great for radio/TV/broadcasting sites)
★ Languages: show different menus/modules based on the front-end language the user has selected (e.g. with JoomFish), or according to their browser language
★ Users: show a module for users registered for more (or less) than a certain time period, or target modules to certain users or groups
★ Switch between 2 modules for logged-in users and guests
★ Section/Category-specific modules: target modules according to the section/category of the displayed article
★ Domain & referrer: display different modules depending on which domain is being used for the page, or which site the user linked from
★ Browser detection: switch modules depending on the user's browser & browser version (e.g. show a different module for people viewing the site with Internet Explorer IE)
★ Control modules based on text found in the main component of the page
★ Control modules such as RSForm (show a different form based on where in the world someone is connecting from, etc)
★ Target modules onto specific pages in JReviews, CommunityBuilder, SOBI and almost any other component
★ Dynamically control the parameters of other modules on the page as well as whether the modules appear or not
★ and so much more!

Many more uses can be found in the documentation on the site, and in the forums. See you there!

VERSION NOTE:
★ v3.x is compatible with Joomla 1.7/2.5/3.0/3.1
★ v2.x is only compatible with Joomla 1.5.
★ Please download and install the right module for your Joomla version.

RECENT IMPROVEMENTS

v3.16 (24 Mar 2014)
* HikaShop support
* J3.2
* various VM fixes

v3.13b (10 Jul 2013)
* added K2 support
* confirmed J3.1 support
* fixed minor issue in VM handling

v3.13 (27 Nov 2012)
* fixed crasher in GeoLiteCIty support
* added support for VM 2.0.14; JomGenius now detects new pagetypes notify/recommend/manufacturer product listing.

v3.12 (19 Nov 2012)
* Now J 3.0 compatible!

v3.11 (03 Sep 2012)
* Added compatibility with JoomFish for J2.5

v3.10 (23 Jul 2012)
* Added Categorizr support to JomGenius, for detecting mobile, desktop, tablet and tv devices.

v3.9
* Multiple improvements to JomGenius support for VM 2.x

v3.8 (14 Feb 2012)
* Added J2.5 support

Report Extension

 

 

2009-02-12
Reviews: 1
This is a great extension. We use it for special functionality and special offers based on country. The dev. is exceptional and fast. He has even now enabled MetaMod to work with X-Forwarded from squid reverse proxy server. This is how to enable GeoIP functionality using squid! Now we have scalability, speed and security of using a caching server along with full on geoip functionality. Thanks very much to metamod. We have put our money where our mouth is and made a donation too!
2009-02-08
Reviews: 7
I design and build Joomla websites everyday for a living. It is a rare pleasure to come across extensions as useful as this one. I'll no doubt be using this module on many websites from now on.

Even more amazing is the support from it's creator who emailed me the some custom php within half an hour. Plus I'm in the opposite time zone!

I look forward to using this and all it's future variations for many years to come.

Highly recommended :)
Owner's reply

Thanks morktron. For the benefit of other readers, I sent him a rule that allowed him to put up a module on any page that showed an article from a particular category, where the article's "created" date was older than a certain date. Dunno exactly why he wanted this, but it's a great example of the versatility of MetaMod!
- Stephen

2009-02-02
Reviews: 2
Have been using this extension for about a week now and have not yet been able to use it to it's maximum capacity, but what I have been able to use it for as been great. The potential here is awesome.

The second comment to make is that the support for this extension so far has been amazing. I had a small display problem when using the extension, e-mailed Stephen and had a response within 15 minutes. WOW!! All fixed up and ready to go again. If a pro version does eventually come out (as mentioned in a previous response to a review) I will be one of the first to sign up. Keep up the great work and support!
2009-01-18
Reviews: 6
How can you NOT love a module like Meta Mod?

At our site, we're quite "agressive" towards showing people banners about registering at our site...... now, with this module, we can stop showing the banners, once they log in!

Super cool!
2009-01-11
Reviews: 4
I used MetaMod to hide specific modules that were public and replace them with modules for members only. Of course this module is super functional and you can do much more with it.

I contact the publisher ones for support and it was fast and professional.

Many thanks for this great value adder to Joomla! – excellent.
2009-01-08
Reviews: 1
For a while I have wanted to find a way to show some modules only when a user is not logged in and this was a quick and easy solution.

And Stephen responded really quickly to an email I sent him which was fantastic!

Great Module
2009-01-01
Reviews: 1
This is just what I was looking for.

I needed something to display my login module on all pages of my website but one. I have signal login installed and for some reason, despite being assigned to mosets tree in the backend it would not appear on all my mosets tree pages.

Using this module solved all my problems. The documentation on the website is comprehensive and the support I received from Stephen at Brandon Consulting was excellent: prompt, concise and more to the point helped me to get this module working in the way I needed.

I cannot comment on the huge capabilities of this module as I have very limited Joomla/PHP knowledge, but I'm sure Stephen would be able to help if assistance is required.

Thank you!
2008-12-16
Reviews: 11
Superb extension that every Joomla owner should install. It lets you do one very basic permission-based rule that Joomla core doesn't - display content targeted only at non-registered users! This is great if you'd like to have calls to action and such, material you wouldn't want to display to your existing customers.

Oh just wanted to mention one more thing. The mod's homepage states the extension works with Joomla 1.5.3 - 1.5.7 ... well I got it working on my 1.5.8 without any fuss.

-Marc
Owner's reply

Thanks for your message Marc. I've changed the wording on the MetaMod home page to state that it works on 1.5.3 and up.
I'm delighted that MetaMod helped your site. Targeting non-registered users is just one of hundreds of functions that MetaMod can use to customise which modules appear on which pages of your site.

2008-12-15
Reviews: 1
Have to say this a great module, very flexible and great to control other modules on your site. Straigth forward to use if you know just a bit of PHP you're better of.

Thumb up from here, thanks!
2008-11-27
Reviews: 1
Awesome module!! This gives Joomla what it my opinion was the only thing it was lacking - flexibility of views based on user specific information.

A must have for people using Joomla for more than just a website. There are many good useful Joomla extensions out there folks and this is right up there with vthe best!!!

Nice work.
2008-11-25
Reviews: 1
Thanks’ a lot! This component is giving me unlimited capabilities of showing content in Joomla.
I would even rate it 100O if I could.
Thank you also for giving it for free!
Simply perfect!
2008-11-24
Reviews: 2
Hi,

This is a really great module. Works really smoothly and easy to use. I have used on 3 sites.

The only problem is that it leaves module position behind.(i.e. MetaMod module remains there invisibaly.)

This doesn't help you when you want to include module in blog layout but not in article layout. Because empty space (right column in my case) still remains there.

It would be great if author can add this feature.
Owner's reply

Hi - very glad that this has been useful for you, and thanks for the review. If you're into advanced PHP and/or template work then it's possible to get around the way that the MetaMod is still published but with nothing in it.
If it's just a matter of an empty MetaMod showing up with some CSS styling around it, then that's generally not too hard to get around, especially from MetaMod version 1.5g. Just give the MetaMod an arbitrary css class suffix to prevent Joomla from styling the MetaMod itself, then work with the "style for included modules" and/or the "Style override for included modules" to make sure the inner included modules get styled correctly.
I'm working on MetaModPro which will completely avoid these issues and give even more control over module layout across the whole of Joomla, but because of the amount of ongoing work involved it's likely to be commercial. Watch this space!

WOW
2008-11-22
Reviews: 7
This module is exactly what I was looking for. It allows you to place anything anywhere. It is especially useful to pinpoint categories in other components like Mosets Tree and Ads Manager. Lifesaver!
2008-11-17
Reviews: 4
hello
I just tested this module in order to solve how to sort the content in a menu depending on the language.
This module works perfectly and is very easy to install & set up!
thanks for the great work! Luc
2008-11-11
Reviews: 3
I had a specific problem : display 1 or many modules, this is done excelently by MetaMod, but also sometime no module...

This was not so simple as Joomla starts a module box as MetaMod is published.... So you often comes to layout problems with an outer box for metamod modules, and then inner boxes for each indivdual modules.

The solution found is to give to metamod a false class suffix that don't exist in your CSS (nohilite or whatever you want as soon as it doesn't exist in your CSS).

Then the outer box of MetaMod is not styled, and you see either nothing, or the inner modules with their respective styles.

This module is simply a "must have" module in any Joomla site.
2008-11-04
Reviews: 1
MetaMod combines all of the necessary module control features you wish you had in Joomla menu assignment. Ever want to turn modules on and off at particular times or dates? MetaMod to the rescue! Need to personalize info by region? MetaMod GeoIP integration brings it home. Need to use custom PHP code to choose when and where modules are ALLOWED to be on your site? Want that module to be on every page but home? You go nuts using menu assignments. MetaMod alleviates all of these problems and lets you concentrate on your websites mission. Standing ovation for the author and many thanks for the awesome support!
2008-11-04
Reviews: 1
By using Metamod I didn't have to compromise the website with the lowest common denominator browser in mind (eg for me, ie6). metamod detects which browser is being used and displays your specified choice of modules for that browser. Eg. The user has ff3 or ie 7, (s)he sees that sexy new module, if they have ie6 the site still works but you automatically substitute sexy module for sturdy tried and tested module.

Everybodys happy and you're not tearing your hair out because you've found out at the last minute that your site doesn't work with ie6 and 23% of your visitors are still using it!
2008-10-30
Reviews: 1
This module is one of the most useful extensions available.
Stephen has done a great job with this.

Excelent, check it out
2008-10-20
Reviews: 1
This is a gem and a necessary tool for every website. I've used Metamod in several ways...having registered viewers seeing different modules than guests, pulling up a particular module when certain words appear in the title. It appears there might even be a way to pull up certain modules based upon an article's meta info. The support from Stephen was great and quick. It seems that there is nothing this module can't do with little to none php knowledge. Awesome!
2008-10-20
Reviews: 6
Thanks.

The module seems to be working perfectly.

I just didn't find where to put a file (Geoip)... Then I asked for support. Few hours after the answer was clear and precise.

This is just for Newbie like me... :)
If you try to install this module: There is a file(geoip...) you must put in a folder call (GEOIP).
You must create the folder (GEOIP) on the root of your web server... Don't try to find it ... Just create it.

"I hope it will help Newbie non native english speaking"
Page 7 of 9