The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Simple Pop-Up Popular Plugin

Use Simple PopUp to show a message, as a image gallery, add any content to it from the Joomla Article editor.
Pop-it up on page load (or not), pop-up only once for each user using cookies, add links through the Article as well. No need for menu items to pop-up the box! (version 1.1 only, see below).

Simple PopUp will let you add a FancyBox Pop-up on any page. The message is written in the Article as "hidden" text.

It will use the styling you give it when creating it in the Article complete with text styling, images, lines and/or tables.


How to use:

1) Install the plugin package.
2) Enable it in the PlugIn Manager!
3) In any article add the popup brackets {simplepopup}

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
VERSION 2.0:

Tons of new stuff packed into this one!

The most exciting is that I have added support for Youtube videos and put in a lot more flexibility into the settings through a bunch of new parameters.

Here is a list of all the added parameters: name, textalign, width, height, autodimensions, scrolling, cookie, popup, link, url, gallery, cssclass, articleid, title, titleposition, hideonoverlayclick, hideoncontentclick, closebutton, transitionin/transitionout, speedin/speedout, overlayshow, overlayopacity, overlaycolor, video, autoplay

See the users guide for version 2.0 for a more detailed explanation.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
VERSION 1.1:

I am quite excited about my new version...

Features:

- Simple PopUp, regular PopUp like the one demo:ed on the previous page.
- Multiple PopUp's on the same page using links to open them.
- Prevent the PopUp at page load (like on this page), but not on the previous page where the PopUp opens at page load.
- Use external content through URL, e.g. adding http://myserver.com/mypage.html
- Use image in PopUp, also using title (description) for images.
- Use it as a Image Gallery, open the first image and then have "next" and "previous" navigation buttons to change image.
- Cookie support added (2011-07-30)! You can chose to only show the pop-up once to each visitor. See the manual for more information.


Added support for using Joomla Login Form in the PopUp, sample here: http://joomla17.wasen.net/index.php/using-joomla/extensions/modules/user-modules/login
See the manual for details!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you use Simple PopUp, please post a rating and a review at the Joomla! Extensions Directory.


Take care!

Regards,
Anders

Report Extension

 

 

2012-10-23
Reviews: 1
Hi! great job :)
however i have a problem in IE (checked on the other computers). I've turned on cookies in the backend but still the popup shows after refresh in IE. Works perfect in chrome, FF, opera. Could you help please ?:)
2012-09-25
Reviews: 1
Works perfectly in FIREFOX, IE and OPERA, but not in CHROME or SAFARI. Only opens vertical bar with the X, opposing arrows and about 10px of the .jpg.a I'm using version 1.6.0 and running Joomla! 2.5.7.
2012-09-09
Reviews: 1
This plug-in does exactly what I wanted. Works like a charm!
2012-08-31
Reviews: 1
Did exactly as expected and promised. May benefit from a button with dialog for the link and popup syntax to be inserted.
2012-08-06
Reviews: 1
Simple and Efective, clear instructions and long waited extension, includes the no-conflict mode, wich its very helpful... Thanks
2012-07-31
Reviews: 3
I was really hoping this extension would work. However, is only able to be embedded within an article not a module and when doing so, disables Yootheme's lightbox - all my images disappeared!
Also, the instructions were unclear, so I was unable to distinguish how to get the popup on page load. A waste of my time.
Owner's reply

I am sorry to have wasted your time...

However I could have helped you in a blink if you'd asked...
As your lightbox uses jQuery there would be a jQuery conflict since Simple PopUp uses FancyBox. There is a setting to turn off jQuery loading for Simple PopUp which would have removed the conflict.
This is also described in my FAQ and in the documentation.

Simple PopUp is a PlugIn and thus built to reside in Articles. You can use the extension "Articles Anywhere" to include it into a module.

Regards,
Anders

2012-07-28
Reviews: 2
All i can say is it does as the developer promises.

Thank you for making sure it works, keep up the great work
2012-06-06
Reviews: 1
I was looking for a popup plugin for my site and just simply tried simplepopup..

Installation and settings was no brainer but I struggled to make it work on my site.. I almost wanted to uninstalled it but decided to contact Anders (the Developer) .. After sending my question on possible requirements or compatibility. I was surprised to got a reply in just few minutes! - He helped me debug the issue and it was another module i used that caused the conflict or problem. So i upgraded the old JQuery the other module was using and it DONE.

The Best Experience I had so far.. Surely will recommend this plugin!

Keep up the good work!
2012-06-02
Reviews: 6
In our latest site design we wanted the option to have popup windows that occur only once to allow the user to become familiar with the UI. This can also be loaded in a custom HTML module, pop up a quick instruction message, complete with graphics & links and then disappear once the user "gets it" - Great work & Free!
2012-05-02
Reviews: 2
It works. Nothing special but it is ok.. the easiest you can imagine.. and it is free.. so please donate!
2012-04-26
Reviews: 2
I bought Simple PopUp (Disclaimer version) and can say - IT works great!!!
I've had some problems whith my template, but owner supported plugin as he could. I want to say - great EXTENSION and best support!!! Thanks!!!
2012-04-25
Reviews: 3
Easy to install and use. Has a popup running on my site in just a few minutes. I used a photo in the popup that was a link to a coupon on the site. Worked like a charm. No conflicts. Had it working first try. Thanks you very much for the extension and for making it free.
2012-04-24
Reviews: 6
A very nice and good popup! And not only that. Anders Wasen, the developper helps you to solve, very quickly and smartly any error you can have with it. A good choice and a good work!
2012-04-21
Reviews: 2
While this is a simple extension and the documentation is very straight forward, I still had some trouble. After submitting a help request, within minutes I had a reply and a repeated dialogue to solve the problem - server side as it turned out. Thank you for the support! And thank you for continuing the good work!
2012-04-13
Reviews: 13
I'm writing this not as a user of Simple PopUp but as a fellow extension developer. We had a superb collaboration between andre and me to solve a jQuery problem. Keep up the good work!!!
2012-03-14
Reviews: 1
This extension is fantastic, I had some initial trouble because of my own user error (I had a java script error on my page not allowing me to use it). I contacted the developer and he was completely understanding helped me work through my issue until I got it working, and now, I have them set up all over the place. The documentation is awesome too, better than 90% of extension documentation out there.
2012-03-08
Reviews: 1
its working good for me i have one problem how to stop page posting when click the article ,i mean create one article with {simplaepopup}Test{/simplaepopup} thats in left menu when i click this menu then the article open in popup thats nice but in backround the page post to core article detail page with heading and date and so with out content but i dont want this if i click the article from home page mean only content show in popup but my background page still in home page,dont want post the page hope u understand is this possible?
2012-03-07
Reviews: 1
Thanks for this excellent plugin and perfect support!

Works with Joomla 2.5.2.

As posted on the SPU (Simple PopUp) Homepage and discussed via E-Mail, a problem in connection with GCalendar occurred and was resolved.
2012-02-18
Reviews: 1
Thanks
Owner's reply

I am sorry but I don't really get your meaning of this review... You ask if it works on Joomla 1.5, and yes it does.
You need to make sure you download the package for Joomla 1.5!

If you haven't found the 1.5 version and gotten it working then why the review...?

Regards,
Anders

2012-02-14
Reviews: 3
i just wanted to add a popup disclaimer in my site, after google i got this as a first result and was as simple as it is named. "hats off to the developer saved lot of time".
Page 2 of 4