The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


KC Cufón Font Replacement Plugin

Cufón is a JavaScript based font replacement technique so you can use non-web based fonts on your website. This plugin integrates Cufón fonts in your Joomla 1.5 or 1.6-1.7-2.5-3.x website.

The plugin allows you to add up to 6 different fonts/CSS selector sets to your site and any number of different CSS selectors for each font.

Use normal CSS to change the attributes of your Cufón font selectors.

Cufón is faster than sIFR and FLIR, two other font replacement techniques.

Detailed information about Cufón can be found on the Cufón website: http://www.keashly.net/typography/kc-cufon-font-replacement

NOTE: the download link above links to the Joomla 1.6-1.7-2.5-3.x version, to download the Joomla! 1.5 version go here: http://www.keashly.net/downloads/cat_view/12-joomla-15-plugins/15-kc-cufon-font-replacement


Joomla! 1.6-1.7-2.5-3.0 Version:
• Version 2.3.2 - fixed strict standard errors
• Version 2.3.1 - changed error handling for Joomla! 3.0 compatible
• Version 2.3.0 - Joomla! 3.0 compatible
• Version 2.2.0 Beta - Feature additions:hoverable tags, text shadow and linear gradient, fixed problems with local host, window servers & non-root Joomla installations
• Version 2.1.0Beta - Joomla! 1.6 Update functionality added, updated Cufón Javascript file to 1.09i, added 2 more font selector files
• Version 2.0.0Beta - Initial 1.6 version

Joomla! 1.5 Version Change Log:
• Version 1.5.0 - Feature additions:hoverable tags, text shadow and linear gradient, fixed problems with local host, window servers & non-root Joomla installations
• Version 1.4.0 upgraded to version 1.09i of Cufon Javscript file, add option to force Mootools to be loaded before the plugin, added 2 more font files for a total of 8 fonts
• Version 1.3.0 adds a Spanish language file, removed large font file so the plugin will install on smaller memory hosting accounts.
• Version 1.2.0 adds 2 more font/selector sets.

Report Extension

 

 

2014-07-01
Reviews: 5
Absolutely awesome extension, simple to use with many options for font replacement. But best of all it has a plugin setting to allow you set "Display font while loading" to No, this prevents unstyled content loading causing the notorious "white flash on page load" which occurs with most cufon font replacers! Well done and thanks for an awesome extension!
2013-11-20
Reviews: 21
This simple and simple to use plugin does the trick. Very nice work.
2013-06-05
Reviews: 21
I use this on several websites and its excellent with all fonts. Works with mobile devices etc.
2012-11-14
Reviews: 4
I've been testing many font replacement systems and this one gives the best looking fonts in any size... only one minus is that it's hard to make it work with CK Menu
2012-04-04
Reviews: 7
this is perfect for multiple template websites and quick template updates. did take me a little to workout how to use it but that was my own fault for not putting in the correct name of the cufon font i was using. stupid me :P

to the developer, i recommend having some better documentation on where to put the font file and not to include the file extension when typing in its name into the plugin. however, the system warnings do help make up for that and im very impressed with how you have done that. but it would be nice to know before i click save.

for future developments, maybe try adding a file upload for the use of adding new fonts. this would make things even quicker :)
2012-02-15
Reviews: 1
Seems like a nice extension. It would be helpful to get more of an explanation on how to solve the Internet Explorer issue. Can't use it because of that.
Owner's reply

Hello,

Did you report this problem on our support forum? If not please do so at: http://www.keashly.net/forum/6-kc-cufon-font-replacement. Many, many users are using this plugin without issues in IE.

Thank you.

2011-07-21
Reviews: 2
Easy to install, and use. Just requires to go to the cufon page (linked in the plugin panel) and convert the font, and there you go, custom font embedded in your site. Thanks!
2011-04-21
Reviews: 1
I'm developer and usualy I don't like using extensions if I don't have to. I'm using Cufon with Joomla for a "long" time, hardcoding it in templates. I gave a try on this plugin and it works great! I'm using this from now on.
2011-04-20
Reviews: 1
This plugin is so simple to use -- thank you!! I wanted to use Calibri font on my website -- sounds simple enough, but evidently not being a developer and having Flash Editor and/or knowing html or css seemed to be an issue. I can follow instructions, though, and that was enough for this plugin. No special programs or knowledge are required, and the instructions for use are comprehensive and straightforward. Tweaking the plugin is as easy as filling out a form, and then refresh and voila! my site is in Calibri. Well done and many thanks!
2011-03-30
Reviews: 18
Thanks SO MUCH to the developer, this plugin is a gem! My Joomla sites will no longer have boring text boxes :P
2011-02-17
Reviews: 3
I to have tried a bunch of plugins and extension to get font replacement to work. This was the only one that I could get going, along with some excellent support from the author. Takes a little tweaking to get going but worth the effort.

I was impressed with the support I made a donation!
2010-08-19
Reviews: 2
I have tried most of the font replacement extensions here and this one works- the first time- and has great instructions. Thank you, Thank you! I will be adding this to my "gotta have" extension list. :-)
dlh
2010-07-22
Reviews: 1
I was having some trouble with jsifr3 plugin with Firefox 3.6 compatibility and decided to give Cufon a try.
The plugin is easy to configure and appears to be stable. Performance is really fast. It is also great that styling through CSS works (with jsifr3 there are some more limitations).
2010-07-03
Reviews: 4
Finally a working alternative to Flash-based web fonts... very pleased, works great.
2010-06-22
Reviews: 5
I could never imagine that special fonts can be used on websites that easy. It can be a little tricky to set all parameters correctly but the result is well worth the effort. I consider it a really great feature that you can rely on a proper display of the website content even if Javascript is disabled. Just make sure that your website looks fine without the extra fonts. My only suggestion would be to make the manual a little more comprehensive.
2010-06-01
Reviews: 18
I installed this and set it up with no problems. Worked great in FF, but not at all in IE8 like they say it will. I should have tested their site in IE8 1st and saved myself the hassle. It doesn't work on IE8 either! Too bad, would have been awesome. I did post this on their forum with no response after 3 days.
Owner's reply

Hello,

The plugin and Cufon works fine in IE8, if you go to keashly.net or keashly.ca in IE8, it is working.

Please check the forum again, I responded to your post 2 hours after you made it: http://www.keashly.net/forum/11-help-requests/169-not-working-in-ie8

2010-04-25
Reviews: 1
This extension was very easy to implement, especially if you have already got some Cufon converted fonts. However the way Cufon works with adding in the canvas divs, completely breaks Joomla templates when implemented across a whole site. :(
2010-04-23
Reviews: 3
Much better then the stiff and diffcult sIFR. Nice work!
2010-04-09
Reviews: 19
Cufón is faster than sIFR. I needed a fast solution for a page with many headings and than sIFR is not an option. This plugin makes using Cufón fonts very easy.
2010-04-08
Reviews: 3
This plug-in output really handsome.It works fast and smoothly without any bug.I like it $$$$$$$$
Page 1 of 2