The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


PBBooking Component

If you've been looking for an appointment booking solutution for your Joomla web site you have found it!

We looked everywhere for an appointment booking module for our clinic. There were a number of options on the internet, but none had the critical piece that we needed, synchronisation with our caledars for free / busy times.

This component may not be for everyone as it was designed with a specific goal in mind; to better manage online bookings in our massage and wellness clinic. If you're unsure whether this is for you download the source, install and test or email me.


#################
UPDATES
#################

2.4.0.10 is a security update that fixes a back end XSS vulnerability. This enabled uses with a login to the back end of the site to inject arbitrary javascript on an event update.


##What's New?

New features in this versions include:

* custom fields now support different field types including checkbox, radio, and select
* custom fields can be included in emails using place holders
* all appointments are now stored in the database
* publishing methods have been integrated into the product.

##Requirements?

PBBooking Plus 2.0.6 requires:

* Joomla 2.5;
* PHP 5.3 or higher;

##Where to Get It?

Download from my website http://www.purplebeanie.com/pbbooking.html

Report Extension

 

 

2012-11-21
Reviews: 1
The component does everything it says it will straight out of the box. I needed some extra tweaking to make it work and opened a support ticket and had the fix in less than 24 hours. Super component with exceptional support. It's the way all joomla components should work and be supported. Thanks Eric.
2012-11-08
Reviews: 1
Great tool! I installed it and it exploded into action! :) It took on the CSS of the site matched the colors and look. The only thing that would have been helpful to me is the ability to not use military time. thank you for all your hard work!
2012-10-13
Reviews: 1
Awesome component.Thanks. Kindly let me know how to edit/remove the service/booking type "Therapist" which is there by default
Regards
Owner's reply

Thanks for the review Matarbus,

You will find the string for Therapist located in the language file. By default this is installed to language/en-GB/en-GB.com_pbbooking.ini.

The key you are looking for is:

COM_PBBOOKING_SUCCESS_CALENDAR=Therapist

Just change this to the preferred string. If you are still having problems raise a support ticket at http://support.purplebeanie.com and I will be able to assist.

Eric.

2012-08-28
Reviews: 2
I think this is one of best extensions ever, but it has one problem ... i am not able to create any callendar or even edit the exsisting one. All the time i recive a "You have entered an invalid calendar path" message. But i still think it's worth of installing and using.
2012-08-26
Reviews: 20
After checking out the free version I bought the commercial one. No matter which one you choose you are in for a pleasant experience. Easy to set up and use, good documentation and perfect for any type of booking system.
2012-08-06
Reviews: 2
I wanted a booking system where clients could choose free slots and book online. This was perfect! There was a small bug (block same day needs to be UNchecked to avoid day duplication) and its a shame that you can't block certain dates (xmas/new yrs!) but the rest is so good it still deserved 5 stars. Support was quick too.
2012-07-12
Reviews: 3
Excellent! The best booking-component I've ever tried! Really good support!
2012-06-28
Reviews: 2
Excellent extension which is easy to use. Had a few questions which were answered promptly and sorted out any issues I thought I had.
If you're looking for a way which allows clients to book appointments via your website, this is definitely a very good one to consider. Thanks for a great product Eric!!
★★★★★
Wow
2012-05-24
Reviews: 1
Great extension, we are using first version with some PHP coding for more then year in our company as an order system and it is very intuitiv and easy to use, wery helpfull to have access to order system from anywhere.
2012-02-21
Reviews: 9
This is the first one I marked with Excellent support.

Its very simple interface got me excited on this extension and so easy to configure. Simple, Easy and uncomplicated for both users and admin.

For $10, for a full version and support, what more can you ask for. This is a great almost free bee I think compared to most rip offs in you where they are. Its a good program and has excellent potential. Eric is so great and very responsive. Hopefully, we can expand on this extension to be a major force in booking system. I'd say, move over guys ... !

A few modules are probably required to make it friendlier for the front end users.
2012-02-09
Reviews: 10
It does take a minute to get the scheduling heirarchy figured out. After that it is great. The coding is clear enough to make it easy to customize to your needs.

Support for this component is good as well. However -

Caveats:

The language file does not allow exclamation marks (!).

The removal of jobs leaves entries in your database that can show up in the frontend (duplicates).
2012-01-25
Reviews: 2
This is amazing piece of software. I personally had some issues providing adding more calendars, but this was due to my own lack of knowledge. After sending an email to the developer Eric, I got feedback within two hours, and everything could be sorted out.

I can just highly recommend it, it does what it says on the tin!
2011-11-08
Reviews: 1
I recommend this extension (component) 110%. I needed to set up a tool that allowed visitors to a Spa website to be able to choose from a list of services, day of the month and time slot.

Its easy to Understand with an array of options.
With the Plus version CUSTOMER SUPPORT is worth a million bucks for the small price that is paid.
2011-11-04
Reviews: 2
This is an really great component for apointment booking.
Easy to install, setup and costumize for your needs.
I had some small issues with setting up language outside the language files.But Eric has an excellent support and help me with this very fast en imformative!
Thanks alot for this awsome component.
Good luck Eric whish you the best!
2011-08-25
Reviews: 5
This is a awesome component for bookings. Working well, but i am confused at one point though.

When a user has booked and confirmed a slot on a calendar date, and the admin clicks the Manage Diaries and selects that timeslot for the calendar date, the resulting page must have shown the user details. But currently it is showing a form to add the user details.

In other words, how can the admin see the user details who have booked the timeslots?
Owner's reply

Hi Dskanth,

Thanks for the review.

The user appointment details that match a given timeslot and date are generally displayed in the admin calendar. The main reason they aren't is usually to do with timezone problems.

There are two places you need to make sure the timezone is set and they need to match for correct operation in the back end:

1) In the PBBooking Configuration to a supported PHP timezone - see the list here.... http://php.net/manual/en/timezones.php
2) In the Joomla Configuration to a supported UTC offset.

Eg. for me in Australia my PBBooking config has timezone Australia/Brisbane and my Joomla config is UTC+10.

If you are still having a problem with this raise a support ticket at:

http://support.purplebeanie.com

and I will see if I can get it sorted out for you.

Cheers,
Eric.

2011-08-14
Reviews: 5
I was looking for a booking component that would allow customers to book massages online and that is exactly what this component does! Provides enough customization that I needed to make it work for me!

Look forward to seeing it improve.

I think if I had to say anything bad about the component, it would be that it doesn't seem to center in the area where it displays the calendar and days and that there isn't a clickable link to go "back" after clicking on a date to see if something is available on the schedule. User has to use the back button on the web browser.

Those little things though are just cosmetic and the component functions great.
2011-08-07
Reviews: 1
Wow! What a great extension!

I was looking for something that was easy to install, being somewhat of a newbie to Joomla, not too expensive, but would look great on my website.

PB Booking is a super jam packed booking system that allows me to modify my own services and how long they take, it automatically takes into account service times so it doesnt double book anything. My prayers have been answered!.

I plonked for the full version which is commerical but for the price...a total steal!

Super easy to install, really easy to configure even for a total dunce like me, great documentation on site to download.

Had to raise one support ticket due to my own error, and got answered super fast!

I wish the writer every sucess with this module, and if anyone needs an appointment booking system i would def recomend it!
2011-07-11
Reviews: 1
I found the installation and configuration process extremely easy and smooth, and I can I say the same about its performance, for this extension is almost flawless.

However, I had some huge problems concerning the local settings and language, for the calendar would not display anything in my language, and since those items were generated by php it was quite useless translating the back-end language file.

As I was in a hurry, I solved the problem by adding some "setlocale" functions here and there, but I wonder if it would not be easier just to get these settings from J! so they could be used as a variable within this function?

The biggest problem, however, seems to be a conceptual one, because in the present state I think it only works for one calendar based on one person's schedule, since each calendar cannot have different sets of slots, and so unfortunatley it prevents work shifts and different individual scheduling. This is a shame, because other than than, and even considering the language problems, this could the best J! extension ever.

I also mention this because I think it is important for the development of this excellent extension!
Owner's reply

Hey thanks for the review Psyche,

I am addressing some of the areas that you mentioned as part of 2.1 development. Particularly around time and date for internationalization.

Thank you for your comments regarding the slots and times per calendar / schedule. I am in the process of moving this to reflect a more "multi-user" setup. This extension really grew out of our needs for a single calendar so obviously this is going to be a major change, but one that I am hoping will really help this extension to grow.

Thanks again for the constructive feed back.

Eric.

2011-06-13
Reviews: 1
I would love to give this a better review - lord knows it is a nightmare to find something that does what this does, and for free to boot!

However, that's why I am rating it average and not just fair. I tried to locate the author's contact information prior to reviewing; however I can find no means to contact him. Mentioned on his website is paid support - but I can find no way to sign up for such. So there's no method to contact outside of posting to a sourceforge page (something I choose to not do) - no forums or email access...and no way to pay for support.

The component does basically what I need done; but there are several minor complaints I have (primarily about the formatting, but also some little about the functionality). It is not a simple plug and play, install and use plugin. It requires a fair amount of data entry to get going; which is perfectly acceptable, but a tiny bit annoying. There are some things I would like to customize that have no options on the backend configuration. And I really wish this was a module instead of a component; or at least had one or more modules to accompany it. And finally, I really want what the 2.1 preview showed - to have everything completed in one page; that is a huge update which is needed.

In short, this plugin has a ton of potential, and most of my complaints could very likely easily be resolved with a support forum where users could chat with one another. so my only real complaint is lack of any way to contact the author or other users for such support! Well, that and the lack of a module thing.
Owner's reply

Thanks for the review Karossii.

2.1 is still a work in progress. I have some of it running in beta, as you saw from the website, but there is still a lot of work that needs to be done.

There has also been some major scope creep with what I want to put into 2.1. Things like payment gateways went from a nice to have that was planned for 2.3 and beyond into something that needed to be done.

I know a number of people have commented on the ability to run as a module. There are no plans for that as part of 2.1. But, beyond that it is something that will be done.

Thanks again and if you need more info on formatting just drop me a line. beanie@purplebeanie.com.

Cheers,
Eric.

2011-04-23
Reviews: 8
I was looking for a booking system for a client of mine that would allow her clients to request appointments. So basically this component would do just that - with a few HTML / CSS tweaking it'd be fine. The only problem I have with it is that it seems all the text is directly included inside the component, instead of using Joomla's language files.

I'd be more than happy to provide a French translation or maybe even change the strings myself only I've never done that I don't know how to do. If someone can explain it to me I'll do it. I've got a rather good level of PHP so if you tell me how to load a string from a language file I guess there should be no problem.

Seb.
Owner's reply

Hi OldLodgeSkins,

Thank you for the review.

I am currently working on a versions that will support internationalization using the standard JText libraries.

If you are happy to contribute a French translation drop me a line and I will send you the translation file.

Cheers,
Eric.

Page 2 of 3