Introduction

Backup, Site Security

Akeeba Backup Core is the most widely used open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server, making it ideal not only for backups but also for site transfers or even deploying sites to your clients' servers. Akeeba Backup creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. Akeeba Backup is the reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site.

  • Favourite
  • Report

Akeeba Backup has won six J.O.S.C.A.R. awards at J and Beyond. Download it for free to find out why!

Joomla! 3.4 and later, PHP 5.4 and later (including PHP 7). We have older versions for Joomla! 1.5 to 3.3 and older PHP versions on our site.

Features:

  • The Configuration Wizard configures itself for optimal operation with your site, automatically.
  • The fastest and most reliable native PHP backup engine.
  • One click backup.
  • Integrated restoration for same server restoration.
  • Site transfer wizard. Transfer your site between servers fast and easily.
  • Restore with Akeeba Kickstart (free of charge script): restore extracting the backup directly on the server; no need to upload thousands of files by FTP!
  • Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format.
  • Exclude specific files, folders.
  • Exclude specific database tables or their contents.
  • Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
  • Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (e.g. XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, etc).

and much, much more!

Note: The Akeeba Backup Core component is free of charge, its support is not. We can't tell you what you need to get support because of JED censorship, but you can find out about it on our site. In any case, Akeeba Backup's documentation, video tutorials, troubleshooting wizard and reading the public tickets is free of charge.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION AND WATCH OUR VIDEO TUTORIALS! ***

Fantastica



Posted on 05 December 2017
Functionality
funziona bene e semplice e veloce la migliore estensione che abbia mai provato
Ease of use
è bastato leggere le informazioni sul sito web che spiega come funziona
Support
non ho mai avuto bisogno di supporto tecnico
Documentation
la documentazione è esaustiva
I used this to: mantenimento dei miei siti web usata per tantissime volte da molto tempo

Nice tool!



Posted on 07 October 2017
Functionality
As expected
Ease of use
Friendly
Support
Not needed
Documentation

Akeeba Backup



Posted on 28 August 2017
Functionality
I used it few years and it worked well. Recently I tried to backup several times with File Zilla. ALWAYS MISSING some parts. BUY PRO-pushing
Ease of use
Easy for use
Support
They do not have for free users
Documentation
Explanation too long without point how to practically use it
I used this to: Joomla based website backup. Simple site with few pages
Owner's reply: I am sorry you had a bad experience. Unfortunately, I am obliged to point out some factual inaccuracies in your review.

Akeeba Backup takes a full site backup, files and database, and includes it in a backup archive. You said you used FileZilla, an FTP client, presumably to take a copy of your site's files only. Why are you filing a review for our software when you didn't even use it to take a backup of your site? Unless you mean you tried downloading the backup archive with FileZilla, in which case -as written on your screen, in the Manage Backups page- make sure you use the Binary transfer mode and that you download ALL of the backup archive parts (.jpa, .j01, .j02, ...) in case more than one parts were generated.

I also don't understand how we can possibly push you to buy a Professional version when the vast majority of Akeeba Backup's features are available in the free of charge Core release as you can see in https://www.akeebabackup.com/products/akeeba-backup.html Not to mention that more than half of the pre-sales questions made to us result in us telling people not to buy a subscription because they don't need the Professional-only features.

Regarding support, um, you were told upfront there is no support for free users. The description of Akeeba Backup in the Joomla! Extensions Directory literally reads "Note: The Akeeba Backup Core component is free of charge, its support is not". However, the description also tells you how to get help: "In any case, Akeeba Backup's documentation, video tutorials, troubleshooting wizard and reading the public tickets is free of charge." I'm sorry that you feel that my time should be free. Unfortunately I wasn't born rich therefore I need to get paid for my time (kindly note that this is commonly called "working") so I can in turn pay my bills and put food on my family's table.

Finally, speaking of the documentation, let me remind you that the purpose of the documentation is to be a complete reference (as in: discusses all aspects of the software in great depth) as stated in its first page. It is not a quick start guide. We have Video Tutorials as short, on the point, quick start tutorials. The video tutorials are mentioned in the description of the software here. They are linked to from the software itself. They are also linked from this page in the Joomla! Extensions Directory under Support (I'm afraid that's the only option JED gives us for them) - they take half of the linked page.
Functionality
Works very well, I go to bed and sleep like a baby knowing I am not going to lose everything
Ease of use
easy simple
Support
Never needed it, too simple to use
Documentation
They even have videos for guys like me that don't ask for directions
I used this to: A car accessories website

A valuable tool



Posted on 03 August 2017
Functionality
Works without issues.
Ease of use
Easy.
Support
Documentation
Functionality
Smooth & stable
Ease of use
Very user-friendly
Support
Great
Documentation
Excellent
I used this to: 100% of the Joomla sites that I have

A must to have.



Posted on 24 July 2017
Functionality
Excellent
Ease of use
Easy to use. Very nice user interface.
Documentation
Very detailed. It seems to cover almost everything that I might run into in the future.
Functionality
Easy backup for Joomla
Ease of use
Easy
Documentation
Good
I used this to: Backup, Restore and Transfer my Joomla sites

Great!



Posted on 29 May 2017
Functionality
very good
Ease of use
Very very easy!
Documentation
good
Functionality
Really food product. I use it on all my Joomla websites. I love the "one-click backup" button, just a click and that's it!
Ease of use
You have the automatic configuration wizard, so very easy.
Support
Great
Documentation
In docs all is well explained. I don't think a lot of docs is needed especially for default options.
I used this to: I use this extension to backup my website, and I use it on all my Joomlas. Is perfect and it's also free. Thanks to the developer.
Admin Tools Admin Tools
Free

Admin Tools

By Akeeba Ltd
Site Security
Admin Tools is a true Swiss Army knife for your site. Our freely available Admin Tools Core will detect, notify you about new Joomla! releases, fix your files' and directories' permissions, protect your administrator directory with a password, change your database prefix, migrate links pointing to your old domain on-the-fly and perform database maintenance, all with a single click. Written and ma...
Admin Tools Professional Admin Tools Professional
Paid download

Admin Tools Professional

By Akeeba Ltd
Site Security
From the makers of Akeeba Backup Core/Professional and Admin Tools Core, this is the enhanced release of Admin Tools, available on a subscription basis. On top of what Admin Tools Core already offers, Admin Tools Professional has these exclusive features: - Security tightening .htaccess (Apache), nginx.conf (NginX) and web.config (IIS) file generator with a simple yet powerful user interface - Res...
Akeeba LoginGuard Akeeba LoginGuard
Free

Akeeba LoginGuard

By Akeeba Ltd
Access & Security
A real Two Step Verification system for Joomla! Security experts agree that the first step to securing your site against unauthorized access is using a second step during the login process. Joomla 3.2 and later offer Two Factor Authentication which requires you to enter a security code along with your password to log into your site. However, Two Factor Authentication is susceptible to spoofing at...
Akeeba SocialLogin Akeeba SocialLogin
Free

Akeeba SocialLogin

By Akeeba Ltd
Site Access
DEVELOPMENT HAS BEEN SUSPENDED ON THIS PRODUCT. The European Union's GDPR makes it unclear whether you can allow users to create accounts on your site using their social media profile since explicit consent to collect their information has not been provided. Moreover, it is not clear whether logging in with social media profiles is legal because if you do not already have an account / have not acc...

Akeeba Backup

Version:
6.3.3
Developer:
Akeeba Ltd
Last updated:
Feb 18 2019
Date added:
Jun 05 2007
License:
GPLv2 or later
Type:
Free download
Includes:
c m p
Compatibility:
3
Download

Uses Joomla! Update System

Score:


Write a review