Introduction

Backup, Site Security

Akeeba Backup Core is the most widely used open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server, making it ideal not only for backups but also for site transfers or even deploying sites to your clients' servers. Akeeba Backup creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. Akeeba Backup is the reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site.

  • Favourite
  • Report

Akeeba Backup has won six J.O.S.C.A.R. awards at J and Beyond. Download it for free to find out why!

Joomla! 3.4 and later, PHP 5.4 and later (including PHP 7). We have older versions for Joomla! 1.5 to 3.3 and older PHP versions on our site.

Features:

  • The Configuration Wizard configures itself for optimal operation with your site, automatically.
  • The fastest and most reliable native PHP backup engine.
  • One click backup.
  • Integrated restoration for same server restoration.
  • Site transfer wizard. Transfer your site between servers fast and easily.
  • Restore with Akeeba Kickstart (free of charge script): restore extracting the backup directly on the server; no need to upload thousands of files by FTP!
  • Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format.
  • Exclude specific files, folders.
  • Exclude specific database tables or their contents.
  • Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org
  • Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (e.g. XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, etc).

and much, much more!

Note: The Akeeba Backup Core component is free of charge, its support is not. We can't tell you what you need to get support because of JED censorship, but you can find out about it on our site. In any case, Akeeba Backup's documentation, video tutorials, troubleshooting wizard and reading the public tickets is free of charge.

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION AND WATCH OUR VIDEO TUTORIALS! ***

Functionality
Easy to use. Just install. Then Backup your site. Its a NO Brainier. Your 10 yr old can use it.
Ease of use
Easy to use as it comes. Setting up the Default Backup directory took me a little time to figure it out, but No need to change Default Dir.
Support
Support's Great! The developer, Nicholas, gets back to you as fast as he can. Sometimes he uses his smart phone.
Documentation
Easy to understand just take the time to read it if you have any problems, or need to understand what you might of done wrong.
I used this to: Backing up ALL my 20 sites with Joomla. I bought the Akeeba Solo Professional to use with my other 15 sites. Right now, I learning to use Akeeba UNiTE to restore I few of my sites each week. UNiTE might be Great for Demo Sites.

Amazing Experience



Posted on 03 June 2016
Functionality
this was fast, effective and efficient in every way
Ease of use
User Friendly
Support
was compatible with my System
Documentation
Great documentation, easy to understand
I used this to: to Backup my data Joomla related files
Functionality
oh really this help me to get more flexible for use
Ease of use
as a developer i will use this extension for better
Support
Documentation

Backup Failed



Posted on 16 May 2016
Functionality
Functionality - ...failed. ERROR: "HTTP ERROR 500" - after the "auto" upgrade to version "Akeeba Backup Core 4.7.2 (2016-05-16)".
Ease of use

It was not bad
Support
Documentation
I used this to: Akeeba Backup Core 4.7.0 (2016-05-14) - Backup errors, can not open file "JPA"
Owner's reply: We were aware of the issues with Akeeba Backup 4.7.0/4.7.1, hence our release of 4.7.2 earlier today. However, this version is just an intermediate version to allow Joomla! to see the update to the real, current, up to date version 5.0 as we explain in https://www.akeebabackup.com/home/news/1665-akeeba-backup-5-0-for-joomla.html

Furthermore, we do not provide "auto" updates. All updates to our software are delivered through Joomla!'s extensions updates. Apparently you're using Watchful or myJoomla which do install updates to Akeeba Backup automatically. These are companies that are NOT related to us. If you attempted to contact them and didn't receive satisfactory support it cannot possibly reflect on our company! In any case you never attempted to contact us for support making your rating very unfair. I have been personally replying to all bug reports regarding Akeeba Backup these last 3 days, even to users of the free version – all the while working on the fixes – working 14 hour days. Case in point, it's 1 am, I've been working since 8 am and here I am still working and replying to your review.

Moreover, the HTTP 500 error sounds a bit strange. Backup errors are far more descriptive. It seems that you have an issue with the remote backup with Watchful and myJoomla. These were due to errors in their implementation of our API. Both third party companies were notified of the issue and they pushed updates to their systems today.
Functionality
Very good functionality. Easy to Install
Ease of use
Everything is very easy to use
Support
Amazing guys, Top-notch Support
Documentation
Everything you need is Available.
I used this to: for taking backup of joomla website
Functionality
It has helped me store all of my data, and is quite secure.
Ease of use
usage level is easy. you just need to know how it works once and the rest part is easy.
Support
It is quite compatible.
Documentation
my experience with AKEEBA was nice enough.
I used this to: i use this for storing my files, my data or whatever back up i need to have.
Functionality
Wonderful! Does what it's meant too, and more!
Ease of use
Extremely easy - if perhaps a little complicated Jargon wise for the inexperienced... i.e me.
Support
Without being able to verify me as a paying customer, Nicholas Dionysopoulos helped me with my problems and even offered some life-wisdom!
Documentation
I used this to: In essence, copying the company i represent's website to a localhost server for testing purposes.
Functionality
Backup, restore and migrate sites
Ease of use
Yes, very simple
Support
Documentation
Well documented
I used this to: Migrate sites from developement to production, backup.
Functionality
Excellent! Fast and effective. It has many choises to make, but the default settings are ok.
Ease of use
Very easy and straight forward to use.
Support
Frequent updates, never had any problem to answer my questions
Documentation
Very good. I've found every bit of instruction i needed
I used this to: Bucking up my personal and a other small sites

3 clicks - done deal



Posted on 05 April 2016
Functionality
Give you everything you need in terms of backing up, all settings that you need! (almost all in free version)
Ease of use
As I've said - 3 clicks: install - auto-configure - backup.
Support
No need for it.
Documentation
What I ever needed to find there - I found it.
I used this to: Backing up live projects and test sites, supplying ready to kickstart sites to friends.
Admin Tools Admin Tools
Free

Admin Tools

By Akeeba Ltd
Site Security
Admin Tools is a true Swiss Army knife for your site. Our freely available Admin Tools Core will detect, notify you about new Joomla! releases, fix your files' and directories' permissions, protect your administrator directory with a password, change your database prefix, migrate links pointing to your old domain on-the-fly and perform database maintenance, all with a single click. Written and ma...
Admin Tools Professional Admin Tools Professional
Paid download

Admin Tools Professional

By Akeeba Ltd
Site Security
From the makers of Akeeba Backup Core/Professional and Admin Tools Core, this is the enhanced release of Admin Tools, available on a subscription basis. On top of what Admin Tools Core already offers, Admin Tools Professional has these exclusive features: - Security tightening .htaccess (Apache), nginx.conf (NginX) and web.config (IIS) file generator with a simple yet powerful user interface - Res...
Akeeba LoginGuard Akeeba LoginGuard
Free

Akeeba LoginGuard

By Akeeba Ltd
Access & Security
A real Two Step Verification system for Joomla! Security experts agree that the first step to securing your site against unauthorized access is using a second step during the login process. Joomla 3.2 and later offer Two Factor Authentication which requires you to enter a security code along with your password to log into your site. However, Two Factor Authentication is susceptible to spoofing at...
Akeeba SocialLogin Akeeba SocialLogin
Free

Akeeba SocialLogin

By Akeeba Ltd
Site Access
DEVELOPMENT HAS BEEN SUSPENDED ON THIS PRODUCT. The European Union's GDPR makes it unclear whether you can allow users to create accounts on your site using their social media profile since explicit consent to collect their information has not been provided. Moreover, it is not clear whether logging in with social media profiles is legal because if you do not already have an account / have not acc...

Akeeba Backup

Version:
6.3.3
Developer:
Akeeba Ltd
Last updated:
Feb 18 2019
Date added:
Jun 05 2007
License:
GPLv2 or later
Type:
Free download
Includes:
c m p
Compatibility:
3
Download

Uses Joomla! Update System

Score:


Write a review