Introduction

Core Enhancements, Performance

JotCache is advanced solution for page caching in Joomla 1.5, 2.5 and 3.x framework. JotCache consists from JotCache Plugin, JotCache Component and JotCache recache plugins.

  • Favourite
  • Report

New combination of system plugin and management component covers tailored processing in JotCache for all types of extensions : static and dynamic modules as well as components with static content and dynamic forms. Extended marking of cached content allows fast checking of cache operation in frontend and backend (new feature for easy selecting of cached pages which needs cache reset).

JotCache Plugin is extended replacement of standart System-Cache plugin with following enhancements :

Features of ver.6

  • Cache management with faster opening on larger web sites – the cached files are presented with cached page titles and links, added more informations about cached page (browser type, language, non-routed query string), implemented items ordering, changed information about date/time of caching (incl. indication of expired or no more existing cache files)
  • Exclusion of selected pages and module template positions from page caching
  • Bots/crawlers and cookies exclusion
  • Selective use of browser cache for choosen page URI's
  • Multisite operation
  • Use of memcached (server) as cache storage
  • Extended URL caching rules (include/exclude general mode, using logical AND in rule expressions)
  • Cache Operation Modes (previous Browser Split) with possibility for each browser category (incl. phones, tablets) to select own operation mode :
    • exclude from caching
    • use common cache (for different browser categories)
    • use individual cache
  • Powerfull autoclean (garbage collection) activity
  • Possibility to set different page caches based on visitor browser type and device(phone,tablet).
  • Possibility to clear the cache only for selected pages.
  • Batch recaching of frontend pages based on :
    • information stored in database from previous page caching activity
    • site crawling started with site homepage to other linked pages up to given depth level Batch recaching can be also processed as cron job with selected setting possibilities
  • Manual recache of marked files by users with JotCache recache rights. In this working mode authorized user can start the recache of viewed page on frontend pages and see immediatelly the results.

I'm amazed at how remarkably well this gem works, and even more amazed that it is free.



I stumbled across JotCache entirely by accident, long after trying every imaginable performance enhancement extension you can think of, including those prepackaged with my favorite commercial templates. Some of them are so complicated, in fact, configuring them for deployment is like picking a lock. And not only was I never able to get any of them to show any noticeable improvement in browsing performance, they'd often scramble my page rendering or crash the site altogether.



JotCache is remarkably simple to deploy, and the results are outstanding. Every site I've installed it on feels like a completely different site. Granted I've only been using it for just under 48 hours, I haven't found a single thing not to like about it.



My thanks to Jot Components for generously making this gem available to the community.

100

Wow!


Posted on 27 February 2013

I have some very complex pages on a data intensive website, with many large database calls and large javascript applications. I have spent time optimizing with the usual CDNs, spritesheets, compressing JS and CSS etc.. but as soon as I installed this plugin the performance dramatically improved.



I haven't fully tested it yet but first run through everything works still and it was very easy to install.



Incredible!

Owner's reply: Thanks to all reviewers taking the time to express evaluation of JotCache component. It has high value for community as well as for me as developer and supporter. Proper feedback has eminent contribute to further development.
100

Saved Me...


Posted on 22 February 2013

JotCache is a MUST HAVE extension for joomla as it will solve many common cache problems, but will also upgrade your site cache abilities and speed to a much higher level...



Thanks for a great extension!

100

This is a very good plugin


Posted on 04 February 2013

I wanted to use joomla's default systemcache plugin because it can really speedup page loading. (not the global systemcache, but the plugin, big difference).



However there was always a page or a component that had problems, so I could never enable the cache.



With jotcache, I now have full control! It's easy to exclude compontents / pages and even module positions.

Split browser support is awesome. And the extra page compression also works nice. I want to thank V.Kanich for this excellent piece of work! This should be part of the default joomla software if you ask me.

I thought I had tried everything to try and speed up and cache areas of a big busy site.

Other cache extensions and the joomla cache tool, just seemed to brake my site & I was really at the end of the tunnel, I even hired a "Speed expert" of a freelancer website and even they couldn't speed my site up.

I seemed to stumble upon JotCache and literally within minutes of installing it my site was 50% faster.

Its a large site with lots of areas that could really benefit from being cached.

I found it fairly easy to set up and quickly found that the parameters to exclude certain URL's and areas of the site is what makes JotCache so special for me.



It has been installed on a very big, busy site for around 6 months now & I have no issues with it.

New versions, upgrades and bug fixes seem to come out pretty frequently & I recently needed some support.

The support via the forum was quick and informative.

Vlado even took ownership of my problem and tested some stuff in my own website and offered a solution to my problem.



I make many Joomla sites and there are certain Components I see as core to me and I install them in all my sites (JCE, Akeeba are obvious ones), but JotCache is on my list now too!



Thanks for your time in building this great component & offering the support that you do.

Well Done & keep up the good work

100

Just Great


Posted on 27 January 2013

First off I tried this a couple of years ago and was disappointed. Probably not the extensions fault but my own. Now that my knowledge of Joomla and how it works has grown I simply love this extension. I was having problems with the core cache as everything is put into a single file. When someone would visit the site using a mobile device the whole site would display in mobile format for visitors following using a desktop PC. With jot cache I was able to split the cache files for: phone, tablet, chrome, firefox, IE 6, 7, 8, 9, and safari. Just perfect. The ability to exclude complete template positions and/or components (perfect for RSS Readers) is a big plus. As for the speed improvement over the core cache, WoW!! I have not done any benchmarks yet but my site is loading CONSIDERABLY faster. As for support, I haven't used the forums yet but did take a look before writing this review and it seems that most topics a replied to by the developer within 24 hours and are also resolved very fast. Not bad for a free component. :) Moreover, an extension that has been downloaded around 17,000 times (estimate including older versions) and has less than 30 topics in the support forum kind of speaks for itself. This one is staying on my site and will certainly find a place on my future sites. Hats off to the developer and keep up the good work.

Owner's reply: Thank you very much for stimulating review. This and other positive feedbacks from satisfied users of JotCache extension are great motivation for further development of this project.

I'm very excited!


Posted on 10 October 2012

This excelent extension has solved some trouble with joomla 1.5 default cache plugin! Thank you so much! :)

Perfect


Posted on 03 October 2012

Perfect extension. It's easy to use and makes your site loads faster without the standart annoying limitations that the default joomla cache system comes with.

I recommend it to any joomla administrator.

Excellent user support


Posted on 30 August 2012

I was a bit confused on the configuration of this module to begin with. After i contacted the developer Vlado he was extremely helpful and responsive to my questions and resolving my issues in configuration. Great component and works extremely well. GREAT++

I have nothing but good things to say about Jotcache. It is an awesome extension and I include it on every Joomla website that I build.



Website performance is critical to online success, and Joomla is sometimes hard to tame. When I found that Joomla's default cache option interfered with Chronoforms and caused other problems, I was worried to see that there were only a few third party extensions available.



Thankfully, one of those third party extensions was Jotcache, and it works like a charm. When I originally installed it, I noticed that my Roktabs extension wasn't rendering properly in Internet Explorer. The solution? Individual caches for each browser! Brilliant.



It drastically improves site performance and has the options you need in order to exact more control over the caching of your Joomla site.



Yesterday I ran into another problem on a fresh install: Jotcache didn't seem to be working despite having the same settings used on a previous setup. I emailed Vlado and he responded within a few hours. I gave him access to my site and within a day he had responded with the solution: another third party extension was interfering.



What more can you ask for? I almost feel bad accepting the extension for free.



Thanks for everything, Vlado! Joomla thrives because of contributions like yours. Keep up the great work!

JotCache

Version:
6.2.1
Developer:
V.Kanich
Last updated:
Sep 20 2018
Date added:
Nov 18 2014
License:
GPLv2 or later
Type:
Free download
Includes:
c p
Compatibility:
3
Download

Uses Joomla! Update System

Score:


Write a review