Introduction

Editors

The ARK Editor (formally known as the JCK Editor) is an WYSIWYG editor designed to simplify your content creation. It incorporates a new technology called Inline Editing that allows its users to edit page elements directly without the need to use a special editing screen. For this reason it can transform Joomla sites and make them incredibly easy-to-use!

  • Get this
  • Favourite
  • Report

Its user familiar due to its modern Windows Metro like interface yet configurable enough to be used for enterprise developments. Allowing for customisation and shaping in virtually any direction. This could be from creating bespoke toolbars to adding functionality with new plugins, content templating and typography and with the setting up of user permissions and user folders.

It's licenced under the General Public License and aims to be a community resource that embodies the Joomla project and its values.


I am using it now for my new site www.jackalsden.com and I think it is a little faster than JCE. The look is modern and easily blends with any kind of template. I have found the loading time is a bit slow but I think that's just fine for a heavy application with so many functions. Thanks to the developer team.

Owner's reply: In testing we found that the editor loads much faster in real-time comparison, however, running the editor with our JCK plugins installed will increase the load of the editor. Also running the editor with two or more spell checking tool enable is a performance drain!

Nice editor


Posted on 12 May 2012

Excellent Editor, I'm using JCK for my client and it's really helpful.

GReat job.


Excellent Plugin


Posted on 13 April 2012

I will use this plugin for any of my Joomla site. Excellent work. Appreciate for time and efforts spend for this plugin. Good Job Thank you.


Excellent!


Posted on 12 April 2012

Excellent! For me and the kind of use i give to editors, this one has two points where it beats JCE — that i've used and loved so far but am now replacing by this one on my websites — : it allows me to edit images inside joomla the way i needed and it gives further control over css usage


Very Good Editor


Posted on 08 April 2012

Ok I was looking for an editor with spell check and found this one, I got more than I bargained for, for free. Loaded with available free plugins, nice framework and excellent choices. Just installed it, simple clean and easy to do. Didn't change anything except the template choice and works great right out of the box. I needed something for my personal blog. This is it. I intend to use it on a group site I'm building for a gamer communinity. Thank you for all the work you've done and are doing to create an excellent extension. If the Free one is this good, I'm impressed! Would have given you 5 but I'm still just trying it out. My guess is it's well worth 5.


Good but....


Posted on 02 March 2012

Nice product and good plugins, however I'm on Joomla! 2.5 and, as yet, JCK aren't offering a solution / plugin so as you can insert PHP code into articles and modules (they only are for Joomla! 1.5).



For me this is the only bad aspect of the component / product.

Owner's reply: Hi Mediastreet, the PHP code plugin is now J! 2.5 compatible! I hope this will ensure you of our continuing efforts. (o:b

Thank God i found this component!

I was having problems with JCE editor, i had blank screen after installation and couldnt solve the problem. However, i found this JCK component which does almost exactly the same as JCE and bug free!

Thanks for the developer - you saved my life!!! Very happy :-D


Very Good


Posted on 13 February 2012

Very good (and it is free!)


Commercial


Posted on 02 January 2012

It's a GNU Public Commercial version.

However it is published as Non-Commercial.



According to my experience testing in the website it seems to be the best one.

Owner's reply: Thank you for your review. The JCK Editor is free and will always remain free! We also provide a free component (JCK Manager) which allows users to install the wide range of the free plug-ins we have developed for the editor.

Under these terms it qualifies as a fully working Non-Commercial commodity as it is completely free for all!

However, we have developed a few commercial extensions for the 'JCK Editor' which allows our paying subscriber to enjoy a fuller and professional editing experienced. The monies generated by these extensions helps fund the project which is non-profit.

good


Posted on 13 November 2011

stand alone a simple editor...but with all those plugins a very powerful editor. file permission was important to me as well as image manipulation on the fly. i recommend it very much even though support in forum is a bit limited or slow once and a while. they probably can't deal with a lot of request, but by now there is not much to ask for...this editor is very close to be perfect and I hope they keep up the good work

Word Count Inspector for the ARK Editor

Word Count Inspector for the ARK Editor

Free | Ark Editor Extensions | Webx
3
Score:
0
0 reviews
This Ark Editor addon counts the number of words and paragraphs in your articles and displays this information in the footer of the editor.
e
Glyphicons for Ark Editor

Glyphicons for Ark Editor

Paid download | Ark Editor Extensions | Webx
3
Score:
0
0 reviews
This is a simple plugin, that allows you to add Bootstrap 3 Glyphicons to your content. Glyphicons are scalable graphics that can be easily customized for any colour and size. Please note that this plugin is dependent upon Bootstrap 3. Please check with your template provider for supporting compatibility.
e
Font Awesome for Ark Editor

Font Awesome for Ark Editor

Paid download | Ark Editor Extensions | Webx
3
Score:
0
0 reviews
Need to add a fancy icon to your text, do you need a spinning icon even, then why not use the Font Awesome plugin for the Ark Editor. Font Awesome are scalable graphics that can be easily customized for any colour and size.
e
Code Tag for Ark Editor

Code Tag for Ark Editor

Paid download | Ark Editor Extensions | Webx
3
Score:
0
0 reviews
This is a simple Ark Editor plugin that wraps selected text in a code tags.
e
Auto Link for Ark Editor

Auto Link for Ark Editor

Paid download | Ark Editor Extensions | Webx
3
Score:
0
0 reviews
This plugin automatically turns pasted URL text into a hyperlink. For example arkextensions.com will be converted to a href link.
e
 Ark Media Manager Pro

Ark Media Manager Pro

Paid download | File Management | Webx
3
Score:
0
0 reviews
The Ark Media Manager is a comprehensive file management system designed to allow users to easily manage their website's images, media and files. With: * Image editing, * Drag-n-drop uploading, * HTML5 audio & media playback, * Support for inline editing, * Support for the Ark Editor, TinyMCE and other 3rd party solutions using the Editor-XTD button. It’s the first in its class of all-encompassing media management solutions for Joomla! Featuring 3 beautiful views to increase productivity whilst being fully mobile responsive, you really can manage your website on the go! Ark Media can be accessed from 4 places: 1.) Directly accessing the component through Joomla's administrator interface, 2.) Opened by the content editor whilst editing an article, module or anywhere the editor is loaded, 3.) From the select image button in all Joomla extensions like the Article’s ‘Image and links’ tab, plus your favourite compliant 3rd party extensions as well, 4.) From the front-end of your site using the Ark Editor's inline editing functionality to directly manage articles & modules as they appear in the template.
c p

ARK Editor

Version:
2.1.0
Developer:
Webx
Last updated:
Jan 17 2017
Date added:
Apr 12 2009
License:
GPLv2 or later
Type:
Free download
Includes:
Compatibility:
Download

Uses Joomla! Update System

Demo Support Documentation
  • Overall
  • Functionality

  • Ease of use

  • Documentation

  • Support