Introduction

Editors

The ARK Editor (formally known as the JCK Editor) is an WYSIWYG editor designed to simplify your content creation. It incorporates a new technology called Inline Editing that allows its users to edit page elements directly without the need to use a special editing screen. For this reason it can transform Joomla sites and make them incredibly easy-to-use!

  • Get this
  • Favourite
  • Report

Its user familiar due to its modern Windows Metro like interface yet configurable enough to be used for enterprise developments. Allowing for customisation and shaping in virtually any direction. This could be from creating bespoke toolbars to adding functionality with new plugins, content templating and typography and with the setting up of user permissions and user folders.

It's licenced under the General Public License and aims to be a community resource that embodies the Joomla project and its values.


When I first learned Joomla and needed an easy-to-understand editor, I went with a paid one. After several days with their support, was able to get it working properly. How I wished I would have tried this one back then! Now, after upgrading to Joomla 1.7, the one I had been using is no longer available and a friend suggested I look at the JCKeditor and I'm so glad he did. This appears to be easy to use and easy to instruct others on. The only difficulty I had was no css. Having very, very little understanding of even what css is, was able to follow the directions to fix it. Thanks so much!


feel better than JCE & TinyMCE, but Loading is real slow.



The file browser was often disabled (is disabled for security reasons), and Upload was return "Object not found!".

Owner's reply: (1)Thank you for your review but I am struggling to understand how anyone can claim that our editor is slower than JCE! Having performed a number of objective tests I would argue that our editor is much faster, fact it is in a totally different class when it comes to performance! If you can provide us with a test case I would be happy to look into your claim.

(2)There was an issue in with Version 3.4.7, two working days after we released 3.4.7.1 with a fix for the file browsers. Also this message could be due to your files and folders permission.

Love this extension


Posted on 02 November 2011

I have used this extension for sometime now and love it to bits. It does all that I want it to and more. I thoroughly recommend it.



Tigs


Nice plugins


Posted on 26 October 2011

Easy to install. Easy to use. No need too much configurations. Many great feautres... Hope it will never go commercial :-)


Im very pleased by this editor. It looks nice and loads fast. It has some minor tweaking left, but i have to say that it is moving in the right path and allready my favourite!



The devs seem to be devoted, which is the best thing. Keep that stuff up you guys!


JCK is now my default editor. I used to be a JCE afficiando, but I've been converted. JCK gives cleaner HTML IMHO. The file and image management is easier (if not so intuitive first time around). The interface is good and with the Manager component. I also like to support developers of useful extensions so this Freemium format is good for me. Keep up the good work.


Perfect stuff


Posted on 16 October 2011

This comes out as mini-Word, packed with options. It's neatly designed and code is efficient and clean.


Not very powerful


Posted on 30 September 2011

I downloaded and installed the free version of JCKEditor 3.4.7 as well as the Editor Manager Lite. Alone these components are average. And there is not to much you can do to configure the editor. The standard editor TinyMCE is more powerful in this respect. I have front end submissions in my website and I do not want users to browse the server for images. There is no parameter to turn this off.



There is no support whatsoever. I tried going to the support forum to ask questions and I just get redirected to a page that asks for money. So I am posting my concerns (and disappointment) here. I do not mind paying for a component that is good, but I would like to be able to test it first.



Also, I have no confidence when I can not even get basic forum (pre-sales) support.



Perhaps everything is good with the paid version.

Owner's reply: Dear renejdm, the lite version is a basic version of the JCK Manager Pro, obviously this has limited functionality otherwise it wouldn’t be a lite version! We even have a plug-in which you could have downloaded & installed into this very basic version to disable the upload, it’s called ‘Disable File Upload’ and has been published on our repository for well over a year!

We have 2 parts to our forums, a free area and a professional area, both are very clearly labelled. In fact it says “This is the FREE area…” and it appears 1st at the very top of our forums and doesn’t require a subscription.
It’s a real shame that you navigated past this area down to the bottom and attempted to post your query in the area label “For Subscription Users ” and didn’t take the time to read this. We also have a pre-sales enquiries contact form which you could have contacted us via.

We place a very high value on our customers and would have been very happy to help you.

Best editor


Posted on 15 September 2011

I tried several Editors on different joomla installs and versions. I always fall back to jck editor. Quick and perfect install. Couldn't find bugs in normal use and it gives a huge range of formatting possibilitys.



Keep on like this and i thank you very much for this extension


JoomlaKC Editor


Posted on 05 September 2011

I too have tried several editors. I don't know how I missed this one for so long.



The great advantage with this one is that is does not inject useless html coding in like others do - you keep your nice, clean html coding - just like that of "Editor None".



Good job folks!!

Word Count Inspector for the ARK Editor

Word Count Inspector for the ARK Editor

Free | Ark Editor Extensions | Webx
3
Score:
0
0 reviews
This Ark Editor addon counts the number of words and paragraphs in your articles and displays this information in the footer of the editor.
e
Glyphicons for Ark Editor

Glyphicons for Ark Editor

Paid download | Ark Editor Extensions | Webx
3
Score:
0
0 reviews
This is a simple plugin, that allows you to add Bootstrap 3 Glyphicons to your content. Glyphicons are scalable graphics that can be easily customized for any colour and size. Please note that this plugin is dependent upon Bootstrap 3. Please check with your template provider for supporting compatibility.
e
Font Awesome for Ark Editor

Font Awesome for Ark Editor

Paid download | Ark Editor Extensions | Webx
3
Score:
0
0 reviews
Need to add a fancy icon to your text, do you need a spinning icon even, then why not use the Font Awesome plugin for the Ark Editor. Font Awesome are scalable graphics that can be easily customized for any colour and size.
e
Code Tag for Ark Editor

Code Tag for Ark Editor

Paid download | Ark Editor Extensions | Webx
3
Score:
0
0 reviews
This is a simple Ark Editor plugin that wraps selected text in a code tags.
e
Auto Link for Ark Editor

Auto Link for Ark Editor

Paid download | Ark Editor Extensions | Webx
3
Score:
0
0 reviews
This plugin automatically turns pasted URL text into a hyperlink. For example arkextensions.com will be converted to a href link.
e
 Ark Media Manager Pro

Ark Media Manager Pro

Paid download | File Management | Webx
3
Score:
0
0 reviews
The Ark Media Manager is a comprehensive file management system designed to allow users to easily manage their website's images, media and files. With: * Image editing, * Drag-n-drop uploading, * HTML5 audio & media playback, * Support for inline editing, * Support for the Ark Editor, TinyMCE and other 3rd party solutions using the Editor-XTD button. It’s the first in its class of all-encompassing media management solutions for Joomla! Featuring 3 beautiful views to increase productivity whilst being fully mobile responsive, you really can manage your website on the go! Ark Media can be accessed from 4 places: 1.) Directly accessing the component through Joomla's administrator interface, 2.) Opened by the content editor whilst editing an article, module or anywhere the editor is loaded, 3.) From the select image button in all Joomla extensions like the Article’s ‘Image and links’ tab, plus your favourite compliant 3rd party extensions as well, 4.) From the front-end of your site using the Ark Editor's inline editing functionality to directly manage articles & modules as they appear in the template.
c p

ARK Editor

Version:
2.1.0
Developer:
Webx
Last updated:
Jan 17 2017
Date added:
Apr 12 2009
License:
GPLv2 or later
Type:
Free download
Includes:
Compatibility:
Download

Uses Joomla! Update System

Demo Support Documentation
  • Overall
  • Functionality

  • Ease of use

  • Documentation

  • Support