Profile: Michael Eichhorn

36

disappointing


Posted on 13 June 2019
10
Functionality
demo link leads to error 500, download link works though. front-end upload of images is a promised function but does not work
100
Ease of use
very simple, plain and self-explaining user interface and design
-1
Value for money
I used this to: wanted to use it for a customer that wanted a gallery that she could manage via front-end but unfortunately this extension does not fulfill that task
60

never ending cookie messages


Posted on 05 February 2018
50
Functionality
This extension will never stop displaying a cookie message, regardless if users accept or decline cookies. If you want that, it is fine
100
Ease of use
installing is easy and done within seconds
50
Support
Support is very fast and friendly. But he did not understand that people just want to see that cookie message once instead of eternally.
100
Documentation
no documentation needed but there is one
-1
Value for money
I used this to: Planned to use it on all my websites, but customers got annoyed because of constant and never ending message display. You cannot get rid of these messages. Who wants to see alway cookies acceptance status and the possibility to redo it? On all pages? Never ending?
Owner's reply: I'm sorry that you were not satisfied with the many, many replies to your request to support using this extension in a contra-indicated manner. I will not be in any way responsible for penalties incurred for e-Privacy/GDPR non-compliance (fines of up to 4% of annual returns.) There are other extensions available to fill that niche.

The law requires users be presented with a method to opt-out, which my extension is designed to facilitate.
80

great helper!


Posted on 22 December 2015
100
Functionality
very versatile and useful. This little helper should be part of joomla core!
100
Ease of use
self explanatory
100
Support
did not need any
100
Documentation
did not need any
-1
Value for money
I used this to: inserting php code in module position to integrate some external services
62

miss some basic functions, too


Posted on 25 July 2015
50
Functionality
Resizing images is a very basic and needed function, that is missing here. JCE does better in other cases (link functionality), too
100
Ease of use
very easy and beautiful to use if you do not care about missing functions
100
Documentation
Some docs are available, but didn't need any. Everything is self explanatory.
-1
Value for money
I used this to: nearly all my websites. but had to remove it and go back to jce again because of missing functions. :(
43

user-unfriendly


Posted on 16 June 2015
50
Functionality
could be more functions.
20
Ease of use
not very easy to use. I needed hours of writing mails to developer to understand how to solve basic tasks
90
Support
support is great and friendly
10
Value for money
they force you to write a review to gain the upgrade, though you paid (!) for life time upgrades. after update everything looks awful.
I used this to: booking page for 1 apartment
Owner's reply: Michael, we are very sorry to see such a bad review. You are free to have your own opinion about the functionality and the ease of use but please do not say that the Documentation is a list of Parameters because by clicking on the link you immediately see that it's a very detailed documentation.
Also, we don't force anyone to write the review, there is a 5 minutes countdown before downloading the free update while we ask you to consider writing a review. There is no way we could actually force you to write a review.
Lastly, the new version 1.6 has a totally new CSS framework so if you emptied the browser cache and refreshed the page a couple of times, things would not be awful but they would rather be just like the demo website. I don't think this had anything to do with the Value for Money but that was your opinion. Hopefully you will change your mind on a few things with the new version 1.6.
You have been using VikBooking for a long time now, almost one year, and I personally did not know you were so disappointed and critical by looking at the conversations you had with me and my colleagues. At least you were happy with the support.
-1

cannot open page


Posted on 09 March 2015
-1
Value for money
20

not for Joomla 3.x?


Posted on 05 March 2014
Download link just leads to version for Joomla 1.7 and 2.5. Tried to install this plugin in Joomla 3.2 however. Did not work.
20

does not work


Posted on 05 March 2014
blows off my site. Deinstalled this module and my site worked fine again.
Owner's reply: Sorry about that. it si fexed now (jquery conflict)
60

good potential but not perfect


Posted on 22 March 2013
There are not too many joomla extensions out there, that are able to generate booklets out of articles or images. So I was happy to find that one. It looks nice and does what it says - almost.



Let's look a the pros: it is easy to use and works like a charm.



The cons: though it is named 'booklet' and is made for creating booklets, the result is not a booklet as it is supposed to be. This extension puts "page 1" on that position where usually "page 2" is supposed to be: backside of cover page.



In other words: you end up with a booklet without the most important page, the cover page! The cover of that booklet generated by this extension is always same sort of ugly grey patterned style. All you can do (per default settings) is to write your title and copyright information on it).



So, if you need a booklet with your cover page really on cover, you have to do some css hacks. Doing this you might end up in troubles with SEO settings.



The next disappointing part is the poor support. It seems as they are not interested in fixing their extensions, they always start with default replys and working on customer site (as if it where an issue of customer only) instead of working on their products to make them perfectly usable.



I never had experienced such bad support on commercial products ever like on vtem products. It's a pity.
60

stylish but bug-ridden


Posted on 14 March 2013
This extension looks great and is full of nice features, which is typical for vtem products.

And it is bug-ridden, which is typical for vtem products, too.



I reported a bug by giving some screenshots. The only response that I got until today is typical default reply of vtem support. They seemed neither to read my reports properly nor to investigate the issue on their component nor to solve it.



VTEM gallery could be a 5-star-extension, but currently it earns only 3-stars in my eyes: first star minus because of bug, second star minus because of support that always starts troubleshooting on customer instead of investigating the extension precisely and because of putting customers off instead of replying to bug reports professionally.



This is not remarkable for a commercial product. I have already experienced a lot more commitment and user friendliness on support of many non-commercial products out there!
No extensions found
No extensions found